We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally crap......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“totally crap......”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Never again.. stayed in some hotels but this one never again..... wardrobe door fell off in hand. Tap in bathroom broke. Told reception didn't do anything. Tv in room never worked complained nothing done. Don't recommend this hotel at all. Room noisy on third floor. Booked executive suite but not worth money

Room Tip: Don't do it.. not worth money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    791
    965
    754
    1,229
See reviews for
389
1,427
338
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Let's be honest, it's a very cheap hotel and it's in a very central location. If you want the hilton go to the hilton!

The exterior and communal parts of the hotel are beautiful, especially the staircases which I did make a point of walking even though I was in heels. The decor is old but with the grandeur of the staircase it works.

The room was an ok size but a bit shabby. It was clean which is all I'd ask for such a cheap stay. There were a couple of dints in the walls but the bed was comfy and the kettle worked. I was in room 315 which had full windows in two of the walls and it wasn't too noisy for the location.

I didn't eat while there but I did go into the bar which was pleasant and reasonably priced.

I'm a big fan if there being a concierge on the door and checking room keys after a night out, makes you feel a bit safer after a night out.

I've stayed in better places but I've stayed in much worse and for the price I'd go back again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

If I had wanted to stay in a prison cell I would have opted to stay at Strangeways prison also conveniently situated close to Manchester City centre, except that would have been free of charge. We were informed when we booked that the room did not have a window, believing that this would only be a minor hindrance we completed the booking.
Upon entering the room we were met with a tired ,dilapidated, musty and dimly lit room.The only natural light came from a tiny skylight.The room itself was tiny and in dire need of makeover.
It was fortunate there was only two of us because we barely had room for our suitcase.
I couldn't recommend this hotel because it would be criminal!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Whilst some of the hotel staff were very pleasant, this hotel is very tired and out dated.
The room we had was clean and quite nice to look at but the bed was rock hard and so did not offer a good nights sleep. Also the curtains did not meet so we had to pin them together as best we could to stop morning light coming through!
Our only experience of the food served was when I ordered room service and the food that came was cold and totally inedible. The beef burger was cremated and I asked for med rare and the chicken burger was cooked to extremes and looked like a piece of shoe leather. The whole food experience was quite shocking and the 'chef' obviously was by no means worthy of that title as he was shouting in the background when I called to complain and have the food taken back, that there was nothing wrong with the food!
I have stayed in many hotels throughout the world and had room service a lot and never in my life have I experienced that poor standard..... even in poorer countries.
The positive side of the hotel was its location; great for walking to shopping areas.

Room Tip: Sadly I would not recommend a stay here, so no room tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 920Marina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Booked a double room here on the cheapest tariff as a quick stop over with my boyfriend- £39.00 for the two of us. The Room was n.o 145 and on the first floor, a bit of a maze through the floor to find it and you can tell the place is very dated. The first floor smelled strongly of smoke and there is odd furniture everywhere, but it does have a weird charm. The room was tiny and with a 3/4 size bed but did have a window to my surprise. The TV was tiny and an old style big backed thing but the bathroom was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Basically it suited our needs as we didn't want to spend long in the hotel, and for the price cannot really complain. They need to update the TV's though and fit new carpets throughout as it all felt very tired and old walking through the building. Could look amazing with some TLC. I'd stop here again if I needed a budget room, BUT If you want mod cons go elsewhere!

Room Tip: First floor smelt strongly of smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carinalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hi recently stayed here for work for a few nights

In short, It's clean and tidy, nice staff, very good location but my room was awfully dated, the decor was very old fashioned.

Other guests were making quite a lot of noise and the walls and not very thick! Perhaps staying a Friday night its no surprise.


Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aidanwmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

just got back from this hotel would recomend to family and friends needs bit updating but still lovely hotel staff really helpfull room very spaciouse beds nipping clean and comfy we were astonished at the beautifull staircase and amazed at the gorgeouse chandollier hanging just above stair case it is huge plenty places to see lovely shopping centre bars and restraunts breakfast was lovely are looking to book at this hotel again soon

Room Tip: we had room at the front on first floor which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 613shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#60 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#47 of 118 in Manchester
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Manchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Manchester Hotel

Property: Britannia Manchester Hotel
Address: 35 Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Manchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Manchester offers great value accommodation in a fantastic Manchester city centre location. The hotel is located in one of Manchester's premier architectural buildings and is grade II listed with outstanding details, such as balconied stairway throughout the building. This Manchester Hotel has two lively bars, where you can dance the night away or have a quiet drink. Jenny's restaurant serves a varied selection of Britain's favourite dishes, whilst the Overstuffed Pizzeria offers freshly cooked pizzas and pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Manchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Manchester
Manchester Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing