We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Ranked #67 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

stayed here recently as we were going to an event at the Men , it is in a good location if you are wanting to go into Manchester and a taxi cost us £5.50. we were on the second floor and the only criticism i would give is that it was quite noisy from the traffic as its on the main road and our room was on the front. The room was nice and definitely good value for what we paid, the hotel receptionist was really informative regards to where to go for something to eat etc. we also added breakfast on for an extra £4.95 this was great as you could help yourself to as much or as little as you wanted.

Room Tip: would ask for a room at the back of the hotel which would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Booked this as handy to tram station into Manchester. Unfortunately as our room was right next to reception it did get noisy from 6.30am. We heard the receptionist and I assume another worker chatting (although it was mainly the other hotel worker) and its a good job I wasn't a friend or family member of hers wanting to keep things private as it was not a confidential conversation. Her talking never stopped in between her hoovering and was very annoying. At approx 640am she started hoovering parts of the hotel. Don't really think this was necessary at this hour. There was a hole in the quilt cover but otherwise the room was OK. Don't think we would stay here again though. Only positive is it was conveniently located.

Room Tip: Don't get room 10 or 11 unless you are interested in strangers business
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here when we visited for a night out. Our room was basic but had everything we needed and was very clean. It only cost £6 in a taxi to the centre and £8 from Piccadily. The hotel was really quiet and we weren't disturbed at all. The staff were all friendly and lovely and phoned us taxis etc. Breakfast was fantastic and topped off a fab weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is not plush, but then it doesn't try to be. It is what it is designed to be - a good basic hotel that serves breakfast.. It is clean and pretty quiet. They have free Wi-fi and good TV. Tradesmen who are working in the area seem to have sussed out this place and use it regularly. This is a place where you can get a good nights sleep and then get on with your work the next day.
There is no restaurant in the hotel, but the area is full of take away options and the hotel will loan you plates and cutlery. There is also an excellent Italian restaurant, San Rocco, only a few minutes walk away.
They have apartments available for short term lets as well as the regular hotel rooms. if you want a good basic hotel, this is a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My wife and I needed to stay in the general area of this hotel in order to attend a course. Based on the hotel's website and other reviews this hotel seemed to provide a fairly pleasant degree of comfort but that was not the case upon arrival. The person on reception appeared drunk and just pointed out that our room was on the top floor with no offer to take the luggage and no explanation of the hotel or the surrounding area. This lack of interest also seemed to apply to the owner who was also unwelcoming. However some members of staff such as the breakfast lady and a young girl on reception were pleasant and polite throughout. The room was certainly not value for money and on reflection we would have stayed further up the road in the Premier Inn if we had had advance warning. The bedroom faced onto the main road which was busy at all hours and for which the windows offered little sound-proofing. The bed was thoroughly uncomfortable and felt like you were sleeping directly onto the springs. The over-blanket had cigarette burns and the sheets were stained. But the worst aspect of the stay were the paper thin walls. You could hear every door being opened and unlocked and we were disturbed on both nights by drunken people returning to their rooms. On one night someone was banging on a door for half an hour at 3am. There is nothing you can do about this as the reception didn't seem to have an overnight function. The positives about the hotel are the ability to park away from the road, to get a drink in the fairly modern bar area and the good value breakfast spread which was very tasty. However, overall the hotel offers very poor value for money and a terrible quality of sleep. I would advise all couples and families to avoid this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whittler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed at the West Lynne in March 2011, stayed in a family room, our room was lovely, very clean, maids in to change towels everyday, breakfast was amazing, dining-room was nice, Staff at Reception & Bar were really nice & friendly, we needed to be close to the hospital to visit our sick Aunt, the Staff were so helpful to us. We would highly reccomend the Hotel to Family & Friends. Maria Kelly & Family

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiamaria50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

I was surprised this had such a high rating. (Number 26 of 113 Manchester hotels?!!) That tells me that a lot of people are really stretching the truth or there are a lot of bad hotels in Manchester. My husband and I stayed there for one night as we were leaving Manchester airport the next day. It is in a really seedy neighborhood with no amenities whatsoever. There is free wireless (which we could not get to work) but no in room phone or lobby phone. The beds were terribly lumpy and the walls were paper thin. I have to say the room was mostly clean, but we will not return and would not have stayed more than one night. I really did not feel I got my 55 pounds ($110) worth at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tamaranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.1 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#65 of 120 in Manchester
761 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Heaton Park) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
2.3 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 120 in Manchester
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlynne Hotel/Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlynne Hotel/Apartments

Address: 16 Middleton Road, Manchester M8 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £49 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlynne Hotel/Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlynne Hotel is situated 2.5miles from the city center with easy access for the motorway network. The hotel has FREE on site car parking and is conveniently a five minute walk from the metrolink station. This provides easy access to the Manchester Evening News Arena, Old Trafford Football Ground, the Lowry Center, City Of Manchester Stadium and Manchester Cycling Veledrome as well as Museums of Science, Art and Transport. The hotel also offers 1 & 2 bedroom short-stay apartments that are fully furnished and serviced daily. Two bedroom apartments have two bathrooms, and two double beds with a further two bed settee in the lounge area. Maximum people per two bed apartment is four people (unless prior arrangement with management).* Hotel offers fully licensed bar, and free WI-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Westlynne Hotel/Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing