We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here for one night at a price of £110 for a double room with breakfast. Staff where nice enough and it was clean enough but as a non smoker the smell of smoke whenever we opened the bathroom door hit me like a brick wall and spread into the room a bit. Didn't use the bar but it did look nice and comfortable. The breakfast was £5 per person which was a fair price and it was very nice so no complaints there.

The hotel isn't in central manchester but a 5 minute walk down the road brings you to the metrolink with regular trams into the centre which is around a 5-10 minute journey,.

One thing that did annoy me was being woken up at 7:30am on a sunday morning by the noise of the people above us, Every single move they made sounded like a heard of elephants, the walls are very thin so we could hear everything from next door and a lot of banging whenever anyone went up the stairs. we where at the back of the hotel and could still hear traffic noise from the main road although it wasn't enough to keep us from sleeping, I'd imagine it would be much worse at the front.

the reason I've given a 3 and not 4 is simply because the hotel wasn't central enough imo to pay £100 per night for (I'm guessing it isnt always so expensive but I can only go off what Ive paid for my stay) the smell of smoke and because of the noise/banging with the stair case/room above.

It certainly isn't a bad hotel and I would probably return but not for £100 a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
30
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel room was clean, well-equipped and (relatively) contemporary, albeit with some signs of wear in the bathroom. Contact with the staff was only brief, but they seemed reasonably friendly and professional. The location is not central, but the hotel is close enough to the city centre to make it a good option for those looking to travel in. For the price we paid to stay, I cannot really complain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schrodingersdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in an apartment for 5. The staff were very helpful. We arranged for the hotel to call us a taxi, I don't know if they chose an expensive firm or we were ripped off because it cost about 17 pounds but on the way back with a taxi company we chose ourselves it was 13 pounds. The apartment itself was great, clean and had lots of appliances for us to use. We missed breakfast. Would highly recommend staying here and will do so again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A very pleasant, friendly, clean Hotel. Good parking facilities. £62 per night for a double en-suite was excellent and only £5 for full English breakfast. Would certainly go back there... We used the bar on first night but not much of a selection and no Beer on tap.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the Hotel. Middleton Road is a very busy road and Ambulances and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinglingGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma'ale Adummim, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a room for two in July and the price was very reasonable. All the staff were extremely friendly and obliging.

The room was spacious, clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable.
There is an all-night bar where we sometimes had a pint to wind down the day, chatting with the night attendant (they were all friendly).

Our room was provided with a coffee corner (kettle, cups, tea/coffee and milk sachets).

The bathroom was very clean and well-maintained.

WiFi was a bit erratic but otherwise okay. A fridge and a safe in the room would have been nice.

Overall it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaruchBarryPinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The prices might have been extreme b/c of the bank holiday we were in Manchester but 110 pounds per night for a twin room is ridiculous when you consider that the rooms were pretty tiny and the bathroom looked like it was refurbished 10 years ago. Also keep i mind that it takes a 10 minute cab ride (about 10-12 pounds) to get to/from the city itself.

I have to commend the cleanliness of the place and the mattresses were very comfy as well.

Would stay there again as a last resort,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked through a hen/stag organising company and we got the details for the hotel about a week before.

when we looked at the website we were worried as it didn't look like the luxury apartments we had booked.

we arrived late friday night and were met by a wonderfully friendly night porter who also tended the bar when our group went in it.

our room was nice. the owners had made an effort to make it look nice it wasn't great but it wasn't horrible.

our friends rooms had a couple of issues with hot water and the wifi but ours were fine (although water wasn't as hot sun morning.

Breakfast wasn't included but we opted for it both mornings and it was great for only £5 there was loads and myself and the lads with us are BIG

The morning staff were friendly and looked after us.

There are a few complaints on here about it being on a main road and that wasn't an issue for us (we live on one at home) but with our windows shut we never heard a thing.

on the whole my only real complaint is that it calls it self a hotel it's a B&B really and as such its a good one.

my mark was pushed up to V Good by the fantastic staff who looked after us very very well

we'd go again not with the kids but as a couple

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.1 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#72 of 118 in Manchester
79 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#44 of 118 in Manchester
370 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#60 of 118 in Manchester
747 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
Fairways Lodge & Leisure Club
#89 of 118 in Manchester
322 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlynne Hotel/Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlynne Hotel/Apartments

Property: Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Address: 16 Middleton Road, Manchester M8 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlynne Hotel/Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlynne Hotel is situated 2.5miles from the city center with easy access for the motorway network. The hotel has FREE on site car parking and is conveniently a five minute walk from the metrolink station. This provides easy access to the Manchester Evening News Arena, Old Trafford Football Ground, the Lowry Center, City Of Manchester Stadium and Manchester Cycling Veledrome as well as Museums of Science, Art and Transport. The hotel also offers 1 & 2 bedroom luxury short-stay apartments that are fully furnished and serviced daily. Two bedroom apartments have two bathrooms, and two double beds with a further two bed settee in the lounge area. Maximum people per two bed apartment is four people (unless prior arrangement with management).* Hotel offers fully licensed bar, and free WI-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Westlynne Hotel/Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing