We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Central Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Ranked #56 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Central Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

NIce hotel in a great central location. Reception and public areas are really modern and staff were welcoming and friendly.

Room was small but perfectly clean and suited our needs. Breakfast was great - Loads of choice and the food was good quality.

I'd definately recommend using this hotel. I'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAZEDManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    634
    443
    159
    144
See reviews for
165
569
124
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is a really great bargain. Low prices, but high quality. Felt like staying at a really posh hotel, but for a fraction of the price. Nice and clean rooms. Modern decor. Really polite and helpfull staff. Nice and comfy beds. The rooms are a bit small, and there is not that much storage space. But it was perfect for a short brake with a good friend. Close to shopping. Easy access to the airport. And a short walk to the tram to Old Trafford. Would definitly stay at this hotel on my next trip to Manchester.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luremuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your review it is greatly appreciated. I was thrilled to read you found us to be a high quality hotel with helpful staff and in a prime location to enjoy everything Manchester has to offer. I am also pleased that you would definitely stay with us on your next visit to Manchester as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back personally to the Portland

Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed a night on business - room a bit small (and would have got to me after 2 nights) but staff could not have been more helpful as I battled with the aircon on arriving and coming up with a wifi card too for me. Good buffet for breakfast and check out was smooth and uneventful. Perfect for business and located extremely centrally.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review .I was happy to read that you had had an enjoyable stay and found us perfect for business. I was also pleased that you found our team to be pro-active and helpful. I have placed a copy of your review onto our staff notice board. I do hope that should you be revisiting Manchester for business or leisure you would consider returning to us here at the Portland.

Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I love Manchester. And I fell in love with this city while stayin at Thistle. My kid and I stayed there for four nights and found a clean hotel, renovated rooms, great breakfast restaurant, and the best location. I would definitely return for the price-value offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I was happy to read that you and your family had had such an enjoyable stay and have fallen in love with Manchester during your time with us. I do hope that you and your family will come and stay with us again on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

i stayed in this hotel got a great price .the room was so stylish flat screen tv the decor was brand new as hotel was being referbished great hotel friendly staff and location was perfect as i go to manchester a lot location is the key this hotel is on the corner of portland street 2 mins to china town just round the corner is canal street with plenty bars /clubs/restaraunts also prob a 10 min or less walk to piccadily train station and short walk to manchester arena also very close to all the shops /bars and the print works is close by wich has loads restaraunts and bars under one roof includes hard rock cafe no need for taxis as this hotel is close to everything this great city has to offer also reduced parking fees with this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to read that your had had such a fantastic stay with us and I do hope you will come and revisit us the next time you are in Manchester.

Kind Regards
Ian Corner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed at the hotel this weekend and for the money we paid we could not complain. Excellent location 5 mins and your in the main shopping area. Breakfast if booked before midnight on check in is only £10 as we found out afterwards when questioning the rate on the late rooms sites etc. Otherwise it's £15, was still very enjoyable and plenty of choice. The leisure centre is as it states plunge pool small but worth a dip and the jaccuzzi was scorching hot fab when you plunge in afterwards. Staff very friendley and good value for money on drinks etc in the bar would definetley stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanDavidHalstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed using our leisure facilities. I have placed a copy of your review on our staff notice board for our team to read and I do hope you will stay again in order for me to have the chance to welcome you back personally.

Kind Regards

Ian Corner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, room was compact but modern and clean. Bed comfortable and shower good. Walls very thin-got a quite hilarious sound show on the sunday evening!! Visited the bar for night cap and it was pleasant. No real complaints, but wasn't amazing either. To be honest I'll go back to Ibis next time as better value for money I think.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review. I was pleased that you found the room to be modern and clean and that overall you had no real complaints. However I was saddened to read that you did not find your stay to be amazing and that you would prefer to use the Ibis on your next visit to Manchester. I do hope that maybe in the future you will reconsider and stay at the Portland again as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back personally and to find out why we had not amazed you.

Kind Regards

Ian Corner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.0 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street

Property: Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Address: 3-5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England (Formerly Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester Portland Hotel, is a grand Victorian hotel in central Manchester, close to the city's main railway station, shopping centres, theatres, galleries and other attractions. A magnificent listed building overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Portland Hotel is in the very heart of Manchester, making it the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, and just a short drive from the legendary Old Trafford stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portland By Thistle, Manchester Hotel Manchester
Manchester Thistle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing