We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Ranked #56 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
london
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice enough...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

This is exactly what you would expect from a thistle hotel. It does just enough but nothing more! The place has been tidied up but still looks a little tired and this is reflected in the price which is fair for what you get.

Not bad by any description but not somewhere you would go out of your way to recommend unless they had a great room rate or amazing offer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We appreciate all comments and they are always taken on board and help us to constantly learn and develope. I do hope that on your next visit to Manchester you may consider coming to stay with us again as it is always good to be able to discuss feedback and to have the opportunity to allay any concerns in person.
Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    634
    443
    159
    143
See reviews for
165
568
124
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lovely and clean, an ncp car park behind hotel for parking,train station round corner 2 mins away, 5 min walk to main centre and shops like primark maccies, right by weather spoons pub and nightclubs and a short taxi to canal street or revolution which is down road at deansgate with a few other clubsthe food in the hotel was lovely and there is a lovely steakhouse called the blue parrot just down road on same side as hotel, great location for shops or clubs
I would definitely stay again as it was spotless although the rooms are not massive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I was pleased to read your review and that you found us to be spotless and a good location for shopping and nightlife. I do hope that you will definitely stay with us again as it always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests to the Portland.
Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is good value and well located. My room was a little small (734), but it was fine really. fine for a business trip, or for those just wanting decent good value accommodation. Probably wouldn't recommend if your trying to impress your partner.

Room Tip: 734 wasn't great, but don't know if that's the norm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Designer156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We here at the Portland appreciate all feedback and I was happy to see you found us to be decent, good value accommodation and I do hope that you will choose to revisit with us on you next visit to Manchester.
Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Great location for city. Not overly impressed on getting stuck in lift after checking in and then being treated a bit matter of factly on the emergency phone! Even less impressed that no one bothered to find out who it was that was stuck and one forward with any apology during my stay - even though I was then late or my meeting! Room good. There are better Hotels in Manchester.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Skiathosrunningclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Firstly allow me to offer my sincere apologises regarding being stuck in the lift and I hope you have suffered no ill effects. Please also allow me to too apologise on behalf of our team that you felt no one was bothered and that no one checked on your welfare. Here at the Portland we pride ourselves on our customer service and no lapses are acceptable and be assured any necessary internal action will be taken. However I do hope that on your next trip to Manchester you would consider staying with us again as it would be good to have the opportunity to apologise to you in person.
Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I was heading to Manchester for a night out and my friend and I needed a room close to the vicinity of the town but good value, without compromising on style.

Found this place through a last minute website and paid about £90 for the twin room, with breakfast included. The room was large, clean and had enough plug sockets for all our electrics (phones chargers, laptops, hair straighteners, hair dryers...).

We ended up with half our suitcase across the floor and still had room to maneuver.Shower was lovely and hot, powerful enough. Bath was massive and the complimentary bubbles smelt nicer than other ones I've stolen.

We pushed the beds together to make a massive one, as it turned out to be easier to starfish when they were together. Very comfy beds!

Staff were polite and friendly.

The hotel was right in the town centre by picadilly station (if i remember correctly) and only about 5 mins from the all-night car parks and canal street!

Breakfast was a buffet and whilst my friend and I were severely hungover, we ate as much as we could muster to soak up the remaining alcohol.

All in all, no complaints at all. Would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanlewis1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and have to stay the hotel is excellently located, very close to everything. Staff very polite. Rooms and odd and small shape but very comfortable eds. plasma tv which ad lads of channels, powerful hir dryer and kettle in room, also ironing board and iron, safe free of charge too. Bath very small but shower above was excellent. Ate here for breakfast which was included and delicious. Lads of choice. Ate here or evening meals which were delicious too although 5.00 tray harge to eat in room seems a little over priced when already spending 25 on a meal for one. Would definitely stay here again as very comfortable and staff go out of their way to help, very courteous.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PinsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your review and have shared it with our team as I know they will truly appreciate your kind words. I do hope that you will definitely stay with us on your next trip to Manchester be it for business or leisure as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Portland.
Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Just back from one night business trip stay at the Thistle hotel Manchester. the hotel was well located in the center of Manchester with plenty of restaurants close by hotel staff were pleasant enough the room (330) was small for a double but large enough for a single occupancy, breakfast in the morning was serve yourself, the quality was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts it is most appreciated. We here at the Portland welcome all feedback and I do hope on your next visit to Manchester you will choose to revisit with us as it is always good to welcome returning guests
Kind Regards
Ian Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.0 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street

Property: Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Address: 3-5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England (Formerly Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester Portland Hotel, is a grand Victorian hotel in central Manchester, close to the city's main railway station, shopping centres, theatres, galleries and other attractions. A magnificent listed building overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Portland Hotel is in the very heart of Manchester, making it the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, and just a short drive from the legendary Old Trafford stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portland By Thistle, Manchester Hotel Manchester
Manchester Thistle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing