We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but in need of a major room update” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Ranked #56 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but in need of a major room update”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Stayed here because we went to the MEN arena to see Peter Kay and decided on extending for a whole weekend in Manchester.

Fantastic location in the heart of the city.
Reception and bar area were very smart anwd welcoming but the disappointment came when entering the room.

Walls were cracked, bathroom was shabby and looked grubby but was more due to age than anything else, room was very tight, little room for luggage, wardrobe door felt like it was going to fall off every time you opened it and from the sound of the adjoining rooms (thin walls and every sound can be heard), the wardrobe in the next room was even worse. Everything just felt like it had been well used and was in desperate need of refurbishment.

On the plus side the bed was comfy and the flat screen TV was a good size.

Was offered breakfast but based on our opinion of the room, we decided to give it a miss.

Got the room cheap on Lastminute.com as one of the secret hotels so can't argue too much.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soni_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRManagerthistle, Manager at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
I am pleased that some aspects of your stay with us were pleasant, however i would like to personally apologise for the poor standards you endured regarding your comments about the bedroom you wer allocated. Please rest assured we are constantly working on improving every aspect of our hotels with over £100 million being spent on refurbishments across all Thistle hotels. Your valuable feedback with allow us to improve on all levels.
Many thanks and we hope this will not discourage you from using Thistle Hotels in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    632
    443
    159
    144
See reviews for
163
567
124
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield Woodhouse, Nottinghamshire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We booked this hotel under the trusted name of Thistle for one night only (thank god) for an event we attended at the MEN arena.

Arriving at the hotel we found the reception area to be very nice and clean and modern, we were allocated our rooms next to each other which was appreciated. One lift was out of order, the other was a little scruffy. We arrived at the rooms, I opened to door and was met with a room full of the smell of cigarette smoke we didn't even walk in the smell was so strong. Reception allocated me another room immediately and apologised. The next room was very fusty and had a strong stale smell, but by the state of the rooms generally we felt there was no point in changing for a third room. We opened the window to let fresh air in which didn't make much difference but enough to keep it open.

There was a red bull branded fridge in the room?! The walls were cracked, the bathroom was very grotty to the point where we didn't actually want to use the shower. We had a terrible nights sleep due to the stale air, the ventilation units were clogged up so we re-opened the window and kept it open all night - not ideal when it's a city center location due to the noise.

When we returned home every item we took, worn or not was washed as it smelt fusty. Overall the reception, breakfast was lovely but the rooms need ripping out and starting again they are terrible. I would not recommend anyone to stay here until they have refurbished.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoeborella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

I arrived on my own, because it was a surprise for my partner. Reception area was big and bright and friendly staff seemed very approachable. The king size room i had booked was very lovely, clean and big. I rang down to reception a few times and staff were at my aid within minutes. we had a room at the front and could hear a little traffic and noise, but it didn't bother us or cause us to have undisturbed sleep. breakfast was lovely lots to choose from and staff were catering for are needs. we used the jacuzzii but found the pool on the cold side. staff said that this was because it is used when you come out the sauna. which was ok. my partner really liked his stay at the hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydoo370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Only after making our booking did we check TripAdvisor, and having read so many negative comments, we were pretty apprehensive about how our weekend would turn out. We called the hotel ahead of time to share our concerns and they were great - reassuring us that everything would be OK. And it was absolutely fine!

- Fantastic location for exploring the city
- Lovely building from the outside
- Common areas are all clean and modern
- The rest should be fine after the re-fit which is currently happening (without noticeable disruption to the rest of the hotel)
- Staff were friendly, professional and attentive at all times
- We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but it was a fine buffet breakfast with assortment of fruits, continental, traditional hot breakfasts
- Gym and pool were a disappointment - really tiny so we didn't bother using them
- One lift out of operation due to the re-fit, but no real hardship - you either waited a little longer than normal for the lift, or took the stairs

I would actually rate the hotel "good" rather than "average" - but there wasn't a "good" option. It will be "very good" once the refit is complete. And possibly an "excellent" if the gym/pool area was better.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stregapuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Rooms were extremley small, would be ok if only staying for one night but too small if staying for any more. Swimming Pool was also really small, not like the picture on the internet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockykennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaglesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

I stayed here with 6 colleagues and we booked the use of a meeting room the following day. All of the rooms were musty with peeling paint and cracks in the walls. The meeting room smelt must and was short of power sockets. The restarant was good and the staff tried hard, but they couldn't make up for the poor quality of the building.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRManagerthistle, CRManagerthistle at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 28 April 2010
I am pleased that certain aspects of your stay with us were pleasant and also disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the meeting room allocated. Please be assured we are in the process of refurbishment across our hotels therefore your valuable feedback with allow us to improve on all levels. Many thanks and we hope this will not discourage you from choosing Thistle Hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff - Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed in room 432. The room was quite dark as no ceiling light fitting. Bathroom in desperate need of refurbishment. Bed too hard with thin pillows for me to get a good night sleep. Very early on Sunday morning I was woken by workmen with a crane doing some work outside on the street. One lift was out of order all weekend.
I have stayed in 5 star city hotels that have been much cheaper in price than this hotel. The only thing the Thistle Manchester has going for it is the staff who are really friendly and I give top marks for them, they deserve a fat pay rise.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SplottGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRManagerthistle, CRManagerthistle at Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street, responded to this review, 21 April 2010
Many thanks for sharing your feedback. I was disappointed to hear that your room was not to your satisfaction and can assure you that we are currently working on updating our rooms. I was however, delighted to read that you were satisfied with the high level of customer service provided from our staff, I will be sure to pass your comments onto them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.0 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.1 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street

Property: Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Address: 3-5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England (Formerly Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester Portland Hotel, is a grand Victorian hotel in central Manchester, close to the city's main railway station, shopping centres, theatres, galleries and other attractions. A magnificent listed building overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Portland Hotel is in the very heart of Manchester, making it the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, and just a short drive from the legendary Old Trafford stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portland By Thistle, Manchester Hotel Manchester
Manchester Thistle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing