We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Reception staff .Don't go by car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Friendly Reception staff .Don't go by car”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

On Deansgate with no place to stop and park. I hovered in a side road whilst my wife went in to get parking card-very stressful as on double yellow line. I asked about parking on booking but was given no relevant info. Entrance not wheelchair friendly. Reception staff very helpful. Nice large room and comfy beds
Restaurant /bar and breakfast areas very poor for this sort of hotel. Breakfast with friends very poor. Staff inattentive, tables too small and were dirty, cracked cups etc- a stressful and poor experience

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    631
    243
    85
    29
See reviews for
230
492
61
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

not sure what a good hotel is yet but i really had a good time here.
makes my job seem best in world now. im a for a news paper photographer no my name is not peter parker.
il be travling alot for next few months and will put a review 5 i carnt wait to go back 1 il never stay there again. hope you never get a one as il forward to my editor lol.
let me say staff are great rooms were top notch. though beer was cheap till i went to weathspoons unreal prices.

Room Tip: ask to see a room before you pay simple what i did
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is located in a good city centre location with parking close by. The staff are lovely and efficient but the bedrooms are very outdated and rather shabby. The bathroom was rather awful but the lovely staff & good service did go some way to counter balance this.

Overall, I would say if you can get a good rate at this hotel it is worth staying as the location is good and the staff are very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is a decent hotel with a great location and very helpfull staff. The hotel itself, however, is in a need for renovation.

What I liked was that the room was big, the bed was comfortable and everything was clean. The staff was also very friendly. Everything was a short walking distance from the hotel.

What I did not like was the following:
- The room was worn out which felt like the room was not properly cleaned, even if it was.
- No safety box in the room.
- Internet connection was not included, but cost 15£ / day.
- The AC was noisy which made it impossible to keep it running during the night.
- No flat TV, but an old tube TV in the closet. Did not even bother watching it.

I could consider staying here again, but would look for other options as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here last weekend, the room 513 was large, clean and well appointed although bottled water would not have gone amiss.
Right across the road is the shopping area Harvey Nis's etc.
Breakfast was good and because it was buffett style plentiful, the young lady serving us drinks and juice was chirpy and polite.
Top tip - park outside on arrival and nip inside for a car-park pass key which is down the side to the left, through the barrier and under the automatic roller shutter door, do not go to the car park first.
Good bar and staff a very friendly place.

Room Tip: CAR PARK - read above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyChuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I would definitely stay at both this hotel and this location again.

Rooms were large, very comfy beds, food and drinks werent too expensive

Breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: Use the concierge car parking service - much cheaper than the NCP car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed here at Easter for a ManUtd game. Felt like stepping back in time. The rooms/lobby/restaurant are all in dire need of a renovation. The hotel was clean and the staff and service were fantastic. Everyone we encountered was very nice, and the breakfast buffet was ample and well prepared. Great central location for Manchester. About a 10 minute cab ride to Old Trafford. I'd stay again, but this place could really use a makeover.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFE2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing