We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was our first stay at this particular hotel. Fantastic location, more or less on the Deansgate. First of allthe parking charges, £16/day, highest I've ever paid at a hotel and leaves a sour taste. I was tempted to use the Park & Ride. Check-in at reception was courteous and smooth and were allocated a standard deluxe room on the 11th floor. The room was very spacious,but as previous reviewer stated, tea and coffee kept in the wardrobe area doesn't lend itself to a luxury hotel. Bathroom very good size but again a bit on the tired size. The bed is very comfortable but cleanliness could have been better and no flat screen tv. So bedroom overall, ok. Breakfast at the Marriotts I've found have always been very good and this was no exception. One reviewerwas critical of the bacon, but I've found the Marriotts to be the best I've had and better than the Hilton offers. Service was quick and friendly. To sum it up, great location,over-priced rooms based on their decor and a rip-offfor parking. Would I return,probably but Iwould be looking for a better deal in the future

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,631)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,236 - 1,242 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

You can't ask for a better spot in the city of Manchester. Great location with restaurants, food, and shopping as soon you step out of the hotel. Taxi cabs wait just up the road too so it's very easy to go around if you are using taxi. Around 5-10 minutes away (depending on traffic) from the Piccadilly train station, which is around a 10GBP taxi away and also close to the Old Trafford stadium.

The hotel is good, a bit old and needs refurbishment, but apart from that it was alright. Staff was alright and bed was comfortable and the room was big and spacious. But bathroom and furniture needs an upgrade.

Could be cheaper for what they offer but I guess the location is what ups the price.

I always use this hotel for trips in Manchester for events.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Upon arrival the receptionist (small plump lady in a black suit) was rude and unhelpful, the rooms were old fashioned. The following morning we had breakfast, it was terrible, the bacon looked like it had been through a furnace, the eggs were hard. AVOID AVOID

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel is definatley not 4 star qualiy, and doesn't meet the description that is stated.Starting from the t.v which is not a flat screen,it's a small big backed 80's t.v inside a t.v unit.The tea and coffee making facilites where in the wardrobe?? The room was very out dated and in need of some tlc,one of the curtains not even able to stretch the full width of window,and windows not keeping the noise out.The bathroom had a stained sink and didn't contain a shower cap or conditioner.This is also a deluxe king room so i dread to think what sandard is like!The breakfast was shocking at £16.95 pp was no more special than what you would pay £5.00 for.If i was Marriott i would be ashamed to put my name to this hotel..Very unhappy and going to make a complaint direct to hotel as ruined our weekend!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel,try the Velvet or the lowry.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisahollymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The outside appearance of this hotel is not great, the lobby and restaraunt is refurbished.

The room was clean and spacious. The Bed was very comfortable.
The downside was the room was old and needs refurbishment
Good breakfast.
Good location. Very good shopping and nice dining within a short walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanch1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The exterior sets the tone, dull, concrete, 1980's
Whislt the foyer has been refurbished it is still a dark windowless space
The rooms are dated and shabby and poorly designed
I was on the Club Floor and the only differentiating factor appeared to be the sign saying Club Floor by the lift.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalCitizen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed for two nights for the second year running and again very impressed with this hotel. We had twin room with lovely large beds. The room also had desk, big TV and a sofa which was great as I was meeting friends and they popped by the hotel first. Rooms clean and have everything you need. Staff always very welcoming and friendly. Great location, few minutes walk from Deansgate and all the shops....10 mins walk from the Northern Quarter and great Bars if you know your way, if not plenty of cabs nearby. Will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 119 in Manchester
2,543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £80 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing