We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Was a little confused about the parking arrangements; public car park right next door and a private one on the other side. Fortunately when we stopped outside the hotel (be careful double yellows!) a doorman offered to valet park our car in the private car park. I would ask the hotel to make tge parking arrangements clear on their advertising. Fortunately for us we didn't experience a problem. Check in was swift, friendly and efficient. We were given a king sized room. Great size, plenty of storage if you were to stay for a while. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows lovely and soft.
A great find which is a personal bug bear was that there were plugs (for hairdryer, etc) next to the mirror and a decent long nosed dryer!
Bar staff were great and made amazing cocktails!
Breakfast was buffet style but food was regularly topped up and was found to be delicious.
Only downside was the wifi. Had to pay for it in your room but was free in the lobby and bar. Have found this in many times with this chain of hotels. Marriott need to take a leaf out of Radisson hotels and make it free in all rooms with easy access. 21st century now!
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Dot T,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate that the parking arrangements can appear confusing and we do ask on our hotel website that guests collect a swipe card from reception for the car park.

We also have an arrangement with the council regarding the taxi area/double yellow lines out the front of the hotel so that guests can park there without concern whilst colelcting a swipe card.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Manchester.

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel truly is in the center of the city. It was quite a mad rush to drop of the car for valet parking because it's such a busy street. If you walk the neighborhood, it's close to a large shopping center, Manchester Cathedral, authentic Italian restaurants, small grocery story. The hotel service was just okay. Our rental car was actually damaged in the parking garage, but without too much argument the hotel agreed to cover the repair. Room was clean. Love the tea and biscuits. We would probably choose a less busy area to stay again with family.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank LJBCOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear LJBCOOL,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your review of your recent stay.

We hope you enjoyed exploring our great city

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Comfortable and spacious bedroom, good food (though limited dinner choices) and good conference facilities. Only flaws were a strangely inadequate provision of power sockets in the bedroom; none available where needed by desk or bed, had to charge phone and laptop on the floor by the door. Staff were very helpful and our day conference event went smoothly, lunch was very good and ice cream tubs at the afternoon break were an unexpected treat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCLSacharissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear NCLSacharissa,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We are always looking for improvements and will certainly take onboard the lack of plug sockets in the bedrooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel was great from check in to departure. Situated in a busy Manchester street we were able to leave the car and have someone park it instead if getting stressed driving round looking for the car park. The reception staff were lovely and friendly.
The room was huge, clean and everything worked. It was comfortable and quiet.
Our car was delivered to us very quickly on departure.
We would definitely stay again and make more use of the facilities next time, we were attending a function nearby so didn't spend as much time as we would have liked in the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the ninth floor which gave a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velvet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Velvet V,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel following your recent stay with us.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have nothing but a well done for this hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean and updated. The rooms have a large sitting area and a large bathrom. This hotel is in a great location for entertainment, dining and close to the tube. The breakfast was good and the staff was extremely friendly and efficient. This hotel is a definite repeat.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Dawn400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Dawn400,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel following your recent stay.

We will share your review with the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in our wonderful city

Your Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I attended a conference there and found the staff helpful, professional, well trained and proud of their work. The food was very good and replenished frequently. The price paid represents very good value for money and this is certainly one of the best in the city centre, judging by this experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Dunc S,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel.

We are so pleased that you loved your stay and we can not wait to welcome you back

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The bedroom was spacious and had a modern décor but the bathroom belonged in the 1970s and let the room down.
The breakfast was excellent although it seems that the breakfast area is not big enough for the number of guests and you may have to wait to be seated.
Disappointing room for the rate charged but 9/10 for breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room with modernised bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Management Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Jacobs08,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your feedback following your recent stay.

We are sorry that you felt the bathroom let down your overall stay but pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast experience.

We hope we can welcome you back

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £77 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing