We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time on New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great time on New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Received a superb welcome when I arrived at 9.30am in the morning. I was found a room immediately and it was wonderful. 2 double beds and a lounge area with chair, mini settee and desk area. Really spacious. We were on the 10th floor so great views across the town. The whole hotel has been refurbished recently and the bar area was also great. Good vibe and DJ for entertainment. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast only had a small choice in comparison to other hotels I've stayed but it was completely adequate and the quality was good, so no complaints at all. The location is perfect for bars, restaurants and shops. Right in the centre of town and just off Deansgate, so Harvey Nichs and Selfridges are literally across the road. Would definitely stay there again and I thought the price was good value at £149 for the room including breakfast seeing as it was New Years Eve and we did get the use of the room from 9.30am until 12 the next day and there was no apparent rush for us to get out. Fantastic and thanks to all the staff for adding to the experience.

Room Tip: try for one higher up as the ones lower down do not have good views at all. you can only see the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Southalls,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your New years Eve celebration and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    603
    234
    82
    29
See reviews for
214
473
60
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a really nice hotel in its own right, but the very central location makes it even more appealing. It's a short walk to the main shopping area and the central area for pubs, clubs and restaurants. The hotel itself is very nice. Very modern with a nice bar and good food. The room I had was excellent - spacious, very clean and quite luxurious. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear eldera2,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we hope you enjoyed exploring the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here on a 3 week assignment with several other coworkers. The staff was exceptional and provided an umbrella as I forgot to pack one. They also provided an adapter for the electric outlet as I had brought the wrong one. Breakfast was excellent with the only problem being that the espresso machine was not on and I could not get the kick I needed to beat the jet lag. This was more than just a one time problem so I asked the manager to follow up on the problem and it was taking care of for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_dipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear the_dipper,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for your feedback about our associates - We will share your feedback with them all.

Have a great 2014 and we do hope to be able to welcome you back when you are next in Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my wife on new years eve, my nephew and his wife had also booked the hotel . We were greeted in the hotel by some very friendly and helpful staff at the reception who gave us two cups of warm cider and some chocolate shortcake (a very nice touch), and our room key for 204. I asked if the room had a view and was told all the rooms have a view. We eventually got into our room at the second attempt (the key was not programmed). The room was a large room and very inviting with two double beds and had recently been refurbished. The room was cool so we turned the a/c to warm which did not make any difference the air con system was very noisy and sounded like a washing machine with nuts and bolts in it.When we got back to our room later we could not sleep with this noise so we just turned it off. We all had a meal out off the hotel and then went to see the firework display at Piccadilly. We returned to the hotel around 1am for a night cap where we meet up some friends which we had not seen for a number of years . The hotel had employed a DJ in the bar area for the evening and we soon re aliased he was only playing house music I eventually went over to him and asked if he could play a bit more variety of music as the majority of people in the bar were over 40 years old. I was told that was the only music he had, I rejoined my friend whose wife then told me that she had already asked for a change of music only to be told by the DJ "this is Manchester get educated" I did think to go back to him to see if he had heard of the Smiths song hang the DJ but I thought it may go over his head. I eventually told the night manager about the DJ's insulting remark. The manager was very apologetic and talked to the DJ regarding this matter but she could not change the situation eventually he did unplugged and pack up his equipment .
The breakfast in the morning was good with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: If you require a view go for the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochdaleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Rochdaleste,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your New Years Eve stay and we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the entertainment in Blackfriars. We will certainly take your feedback into consideration when looking at future Rlife Live events.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise disturbance from the aircon unit, we ave shared your feedback with our Engineering team so that they can look into this.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will consider staying with us again when you next have an opportunity to visit our great city.

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights just before Christmas as we were going to see Boyzone at the arena. We booked a package with evening meal on 1st night included.

The room was lovely - you can see that the rooms have been refurbished. I agree with others that the bathrooms might not match the rooms but both room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. And, I have stayed in hotels where bathrooms were better than the room itself - I ask which would you prefer, in my case definitely prefer a nicer room.

Location is perfect - I doubt there is a better location in the city. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant was lovely both for dinner and breakfast.

Overall a great stay and worth the extra over "budget" hotels. Just makes the weekend all the more special.

Our new hotel of choice for Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear VegasVacation,

Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City centre Hotel and for beng your new hotel of choice in Manchester.

We hope you enjoyed Boyzone and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I decided to treat my wife and I to New Years Eve in Manchester for a nice change, found deal on web £159 inc breakfast , asked for high floor and city view via online concierge and got exactly that, room 1110 on 11th floor is a huge L shaped room with great views of Gtr Mcr and surrounding areas .what made this stay great is how well thought out everything is, I parked at front, got a car park pass, took lift straight from car park to room although I was offered valet parking foc. Enjoyed the hotel bar and DJ, received excellent service with a smile from Kyle at the bar. Had an excellent sleep in very comfy bed in this lovely well laid out room, couldn't have hoped for any better.
Breakfast arrived to the room at 10.15 prompt as requested with a lovely smile from the waitress, breakfast was exactly as we ordered and very nicely done.
Checkout was super quick with no extra charges for anything.
Will definitely be staying here again.
Very well done to the staff and management of Marriott Hotel
10/10 for customer service and friendly helpful staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sksean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear sksean,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we are so excited to read that you had a great stay.

We wanted to share with you that following your review we have nominted Kyle for a Spirit to Serve award.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Booked for a couple of days between Xmas and new year as a bit of a treat. Got there and was asked if wanted to upgrade to club for an extra £15 a nite. Why not we thought. Top floor overlooking the city. Got to the room and it was ok, but not much better than one we had in july. In fact the room in July had 2 double beds and similar facilities. What have paid extra for. Bath robes and a turndown service. No bathrobes. So they get delivered. Out we go for a meal. Back we come, no turndown. Breakfast is superb. Out we go. Come back. Room not cleaned, no clean towels. Out we go again, it's only 3pm maybe they'll do it now. No chance. Have a word and express our dismay. 6pm a woman comes to clean, not now we are getting ready to go out. Breakfast superb. Check out. Upgrade refund. Love the hotel cos it's so handy for everything in the centre of Manchester. Coming up again in June to see Robbie Williams, staying at premier inn, it's cheaper

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ianozrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Lanozrob,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced when upgrading to a Club Room on your stay.

The Club Room upgrades are very popular due to the spectacular views of Manchester City Centre and it is very rare that our guests are dissapointed with these, however we appreciate that the bathrobes wre not in the room and the turndown happened late as well.

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope that you enjoy the Robbie Williams concert in June

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing