We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far beyond expectations - fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise - not much to say about the outside but once inside, that all changes. Fantastic staff from check-in to check-out (we stayed 3 nights) - upon late arrival found out we were upgraded to a better room on the floor with free wi-fi, breakfast, and some other items in the room (snacks, water, slippers, robe). We had a city view room and it was still pretty quiet (despite being in Manchester over a weekend!) Restaurant, Bar and Front Desk staff were all awesome. The room was huge and the bed super comfy. Overall it was very clean and I would highly recommend if ever in Manchester - the central location is ideal to seeing many sites within a very short walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angtur31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Angtur31,

Thank you so much for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and for the recommendation.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everyone friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next have a chance to visit our great city

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were greeted by very friendly staff at arrival. Rooms were big and beds very good. Breakfast was above average. A cosy bar in the reception area is a good place for a drink or two. Concierge service was below par. Uninspired guy had little interest in us finding a good restaurant.

I would recommend this hotel, and I will consider to stay there next time I visit Manchester

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Mal C,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your recent visit to Manchester and please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had with our concierge. We have shared your feedback with our Front Office Manager.

We are really please that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next have a chance to visit Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Recently visited this hotel and absolutely loved it. From the hotel decor food staff cleanliness couldn't fault a thing. Location is ideal too. If I could say one thing don't let the outside put you off this hotel (needs upgrading) as once you step through these doors it's another world. I would hate to think the appearance from outside would put anyone off. Will most definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LeeFDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear LeeFDublin,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel and we are so pleased that you had a great stay and thank you also for the recommendation.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed in this hotel . The only thing good i have to say about it was the location . Service very poor and had to queue up for breakfast waited 30 min on omelet and it was runny in the middle . Service poor,slow and overly friendly with doorman wanting a hug . It was raining and we asked for an umbrella and was given a cheap fold up with the letter r on paper Sellotaped to handle . Lighting in rooms was very poor and not a nice feel. It has to be the worst Renaissance I have stayed in. Sorry but that's how I feel .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie_champagne2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear annie_champagne2004,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your stay in February. We have sent you a private message regarding your feedback and hope to hear back from you soon.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

A one night stay. Hotel is in a good location in city centre. From the outside the place looks terrible but inside it is perfect.

The rooms are either quirky or weird depending on your point if view. I am not sure where I stand. I did not like the fact that the toilet and toilet door was right beside the bed. It is a huge room, surely there is a better layout. It looks like the renovation did not extend to the bathroom which felt plasticky and the ceiling tiles rather cheap.

Marriott Rewards: breakfast is complementary in the restaurant for elites (I think). I ate breakfast (which was quite good) and was not changed. The host wanted to charge me as she said I did not have breakfast in my rate. I asked about marriott rewards, she went off to check but never came back with an answer. There was no charge on my bill so it must have been worked out.

Tea should be served hot. At breakfast the staff pre-make tea in large pots which sit near the host until guests arrive and are seated with the now luke warm tea. Surely this efficiency measure cannot save much time?

The hotel arranged for a taxi to the airport. The receptionist said it was a fixed fee arrangement for 20 pounds, but the driver turned on a meter and charged the fare on the meter which was more. Perhaps this is something to look into.

Overall a good base for a short stay. The quirky rooms make the place interesting, but you will likely not want to lounge around the hotel for the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR_Gold_IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear MR_Gold_IRL,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your recent trip to Manchester and for your feedback.

We have shared your comments regarding breakfast with our Food & Beverage team so they can use these for retraining purposes and we apologise for any inconvinience caused.

We have also spoken to the taxi company regarding your experience and we will monitor the situation closely.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here for one night in March 2014. The rooms are large and the beds are really comfortable. It did have two downfalls for me

1) If you want to use the internet in your room, it's £6 for the first hour.

2) The breakfast wasn't up to much. I was quite early for breakfast (7:30am) and there wasn't much options.

Overall, it was a really nice hotel, with a 10 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptmagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear ptmagnew,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your recent visit to Manchester.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of breakfast options at 7.30am and we have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage Team so they can look into this.

We hope that we can welcome you back when you are next in Manchester.

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night for work as we had an event there and I was quite impressed.

Check in staff were efficient and friendly, a good start. My room was quite a large L shape - had 2 comfortable double beds (I slept very well and normally I don't) and a separate seating area with coffee table and work desk. The feature wall with a huge photo of buildings was quite nice and meant the walls didn't need tacky miscellaneous art. The room was spacious and after talking to my colleagues it seems that quite a few of the rooms were like mine (2 double bed with lots of space). The bathroom was very clean. I was very impressed and especially so as the staff are very friendly and helpful - I called to ask for chamomile tea as there were no herbal teas in the room and they were brought to me in a few minutes.

The restaurant is small and the menu not extensive but it was mostly good - everyone enjoyed the food apart from those who had the gnocchi saying it was floury and bland. The fish and chips and pulled pork sliders were especially praised.

The event we had at the hotel got off to a bad start as the morning pastries didn't come out on time but after we spoke to the staff they worked hard to get something out and were very attentive after that. The salad buffet lunch was very good and enjoyed by all our delegates.

I travel about quiet a bit for work and have stayed in quite a few hotels and I am impressed with the level of service at this Marriott (my company have avoided Marriott hotels recently due to bad customer service). It's also a great price for what you get, would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Weece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Weece,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your recent event and we are really pleased that you had a great stay.

We have shared your feedback with the entire team along with your great pictures.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look frward to welcoming you back when you next have an opportunity to visit Manchester.

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £81 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing