We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a difference to other hotels in Manchester as The Renaissance has extremely friendly and welcoming staff. The lady that registered us into the hotel on Tuesday was a breathe of fresh air, so helpful and willing to assist. Great customer service.
The Hotel itself was very central with a car park under the hotel. cost £20 a day which is most reasonable and the car park is secure. The hotel itself, was clean, had roomy lifts that didn't take ages to get arrive. Had an amazing room, so spacious, great decor, plenty of mirrors and hanging space, plus an office area, a lounge area and extremely large king bed. Layout was lovely, decor was great. Bathroom was room, had a shower that had some power, wonderful and more so, I had no issues with getting hot water, lots of that! MORE so, you could control the temperature of your room, so slept really well

Only thing I would state is that, would have loved a some herbal tea as an option, not just the usual ones. Loved the idea of the make your coffee and use the 'takeout' coffee cups n lids provided, not seen that before in other hotels - great idea.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falla-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Falla-White,

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay, we will be sharing this with the entire team and we have asked chef to look into the possibility of herbal tea selection in the rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    629
    243
    84
    29
See reviews for
229
492
61
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent three days in Manchester and was booked into the Renaissance . Can only describe the experience as a mixed bag. Front of hotel , bar area modern, receptionist and "Navigators" , (not my phrase ) very pleasant and welcoming. Bar staff informed and willing to engage in polite conversation.
Room, large , clean and well appointed, however bathroom was from a seventies time warp , tiled floor to ceiling, not upgraded since the 70's. So the whole appreciation of the upgrades that must have taken place were totally negated by this experience. It was as though bathrooms were next on the spend agenda. Don't get me wrong, perfectly good City centre hotel, but let down around the edges.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Nicholas H,

Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel. We're glad to receive your feedback.

Our "Navigators" are Hotel associates here to help you discover the best of Manchester, and help you feel that you've really experienced our great city.

We hope to welcome you back soon for future discoveries.

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Felt like good value for money especially given the other options. We paid £155 for a triple room....but would have ended up paying around £120 for the Travelodge.....for an extra tender each we had a much better hotel I reckon. It is an excellent location near Selfridges. The rooms are clean and swish and the service and staff are spot on too. Although you can't check in until 3pm it wasn't an issue to leave your luggage at reception or use the bathrooms. A solid performance from The Renaissance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckandbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Duckandbunny,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchestr City Centre Hotel and we hope you had a great time exploring our city.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for one night in a twin room, whilst staying in Manchester to do the Corrie tour (which incidentally, is fab!).
We received a wonderfully warm welcome from the young lad on reception - even offering to loan us brollies due to the typically Mancunian weather, offering advice on places to eat and drink etc, and even gave us a map which he drew the best route to Granada Studios on. A genuinely nice guy.
The room was top notch - a twin which was comprised of two very comfortable double beds. Everything was very clean, with nice quality toiletries (which makes a change). The room was a really good size, with a sofa, table and desk.
The exterior of the hotel looks dated and grubby, but the interior is clean, modern and luxurious. Very central for shopping, but not too noisy.
I would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear lydlyd,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your recent trip. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the Coronation Street Tour.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

You probably won't find a better located hotel in Manchester if you're going for a night out and shopping, the car park is very secure underneath hotel, room was very modern and comfy bed only thing I would say is the rooms at back of hotel might be better as very noisy if you stop in front ones were traffic is, nice bar area, staff very pleasant and helpful, overall very good hotel and would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Damian S,

Thank you for your review folowing your recent stay and we completely agree with you - we have the best location for shopping and night life!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our first time in Manchester and we stayed here with another couple for a week end break. We arrived on a Dublin flight which landed at 7.20 which meant that we arrived to our hotel around 9am. I had emailed a good few weeks beforehand to say that our flight was very early and if we could access our rooms early. I was told that our request had been noted but wasnt told it couldnt be done. On arrival, we were told that it probably would be around 3pm before we could access our room because this was the normal check in time. Although our luggage was securely stored we couldnt freshen up or change. We ended up hanging around and, as we had tours booked for the afternoon, it wasnt a great start to our trip. Having said that, the staff are quite friendly, the refurbished rooms are really nice and big and very clean. Be prepared for a 3pm check in if you have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Angela M,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel for your recent trip to Manchester.

We are sorry if you were not made aware that the early check in is a request only and that we were not able to assist you on this occasion. We will always try whenever possible to meet all requests however this is not always possible.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and we do hope you enjoyed exploring our great city.

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Three of us have just stayed here as we had a concert to go to at the arena. The hotel is located very near to the arena. I can't think of anything that I didn't like. The decor of the reception area, bar, our room and even the corridors was all to a high standard. We had a room on the 8th floor, it was huge, clean and very comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, in particular George, he really did go that extra mile. The breakfast was great, everything you could ask for. We will definitely return to this hotel for our next visit. Thanks ever so much for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiManagement, Hotel Representative at Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Pyr8,

Thank you for discovering the Renaissance Manchester City centre Hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope the concert was equally fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours Sincerely

The Renaissance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing