We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - will use it again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #28 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel while in Manchester meeting friends and what a great hotel it was. I normally stay at a Marriott hotel so it was the first time I've branched out and tried a Renaissance hotel although they are part of the same global brand. I needed have worried about the standards - they were just as high as a normal Marriott hotel.

My room was excellent - really big and loved having separate areas for the desk and a sitting area too (2 seat sofa and a chair) where you could sit and read the papers/watch TV. In comparison the bathroom wasn't overly big though but big enough for what is required.

There is no free internet at the hotel - its £15 a day!!!

The free shuttle (orange & green) is about a 3 min walk away either down Deansgate or along St Mary's Gate. Tip though - the buses don't start until 10am on a Sunday in case you need to get to the station earlier than that.

If like me you happen to be on a room only basis, you can save yourself a few quid by not having breakfast in the hotel but instead walking the 3 mins down Deansgate to the Witherspoon pub (it opens early) where you can get a breakfast for £3.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ne_quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2009

I regularly need to stay in Manchester for one or two nights for business and the Renaissance tends to be my hotel of choice. The very big plus in the property’s favour is its location in the City-end of Deansgate and close to the Arndale centre. It quite a walk from Piccadilly station but the free number 1 bus service stops close to the hotel.
I always find the staff polite, friendly and helpful and check-in/out is always quick and efficient.
I agree with comments elsewhere on this site that the rooms are dated. However they are really big by city centre standards and if you are on high floor you have a good view of Manchester and the surrounding area. The beds are huge and comfortable and the bathrooms quite adequate.
The hotel lacks gym, swimming pool and Executive Lounge which could be reasonably expected from a city-centre hotel of this category. However there is a gym nearby to which there is complimentary access and the bar area on the ground floor is a good place to chat to business colleagues.
Breakfast is excellent with a good range of hot and cold food and service is good.
The restaurant probably suffers from the city centre location as there are lots of great places to eat within a few minutes walk and whenever I have eaten in the hotel it has never been that busy and consequently lacks atmosphere. However the food I have had has been excellent.
Room service is good and the food well cooked and good quantities; but obviously expect to pay Marriott prices. A service charge – but not tray charge – is added to the bill; this is how I think it should be – I am very happy to tip but the current trend of charging £3-£4 tray charge I find irritating particularly when you want a small meal and this charge is disproportionate – well done Renaissance Manchester for not applying such a charge!
Definitely recommend this hotel…

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Enjoyed a pleasant evening at the Renaissance, the Pankhurst suite was lovely, spacious and a huge comfy bed. We were surprised at the quality of the food in the restaurant, much improved since our stay last year. There was a 5 mins wait for breakfast but we did go down at 10.30am the quality of the buffet etc was excellent. Would stay here without a doubt on our next trip to Manchester. Might be a 20 min ride to the airport but much to do and see in the area makes it worthwhile. It is within easy walking distance of the shopping areas and the street musicians who give the city some vibrance.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The Renaissance in Manchester has the advantage of being in a great location, near to Market Street and the Arndale Centre for shopping and bars and restuarants in Deansgate. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Standard twin room came with 2 double beds plus a small sitting area with a sofa bed. Fridge in the room. Only negative was breakfast on Sunday morning, had to queue for 10 mins to be seated. Quality of the usual breakfast buffet was better than average.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I work in Manchester and sometimes need to stay over in town and this is my usual choice of hotel. It's in perhaps the best location in Manchester right in the centre on Deansgate with all of the shops and bars just around the corner / down the street.

Good rates at this hotel are generally available and they've upgraded me to the exec floor 100% of the time as a Marriott Gold. The restaurant does a good breakfast and the beds are the typical Marriott - very comfortable. Staff are generally very friendly.

On the downside the hotel feels quite dated - it's in need of a good refurbishment in each of the rooms and communal areas (except perhaps the lobby).

The parking situation is that the hotel has an underground carpark which is adjoined to the NCP public carpark. You use a different entrance round the corner but exit using the same exit as the NCP. To park you need to park on double yellow's on a busy street outside the hotel, go inside, queue up to checkin and wait for the valet driver to park your car. Alternatively you can ask for a car park pass and park yourself after you've checked in. I always use the latter option but do feel slightly uncomfortable about leaving my car whilst checking in.

Certainly the best thing about this hotel is the location. If you're after nicer hotels but slightly worse locations try either the Hilton or the Lowry - both excellent choices.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Very good hotel with a good location, rooms are spacious with perhaps the best hotelbed I ever slept in, bathroom is great and spotless.
Frontdesk staff were very helpfull
Breakfast is very expensive £17, Internetconnection as well £15 for 24 hrs

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnootS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Stayed there last weekend and have to say, everything about the place is great. From Location, to Staff, to Service in General.

Wouldn't bother looking elsewhere when I return to Manchester as I will be coming back here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernestgoodheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £80 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing