We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #29 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Accessing the multi-storey car park on arrival requires a guest to nip into Reception and obtain a magnetic card, then drive round to the side of the building where a heavy steel grill rises to admit the car to a corkscrew-like entrance ramp; once inside the concrete car park is reasonably well lit. Parking costs £15 per day. Using the lift to go back to Reception (there are no alternative stairs) check in is usually swift and trouble free.

The rooms are well furnished and spacious; although travelling alone, I was allocated room 911, which had two large double beds, a seating area, and a spacious bathroom. The television is the typical hotel TV, with a complex and hard-to-operate remote control, and no Ceefax on BBC. There is an empty, but working refridgerator, for the use of guests.

Breakfast was served in Robbie's Restaurant, and was a typical hotel buffet. Although breakfast was acceptable, the fried eggs were certainly somewhat past their best at 0745hrs, when the restaurant had opened at 0700hrs on Saturday. The buffet lunches we enjoyed in the restaurant were of a good standard, although with limited choice.

The superb location of the Renaissance means that the Arndale Centre, and other facilities of the city centre, are just a few minutes away. Although I was on the 9th floor, on Friday night the sirens of police cars and ambulances along Deansgate in the early hours could prevent some guests from enjoying a good night's sleep.

The hotel has many smoke/fire detectors, but no fire sprinkler system in the public areas, conference suites or bedrooms. Although there are the regulation fire escape stairs on each floor, their entrance doors are alarmed. This means that they can be used only in an emergency, and not as a "fitness option" for guests. When the hotel is busy, waiting for one of the three lifts can be a lengthy process, and only one of the lifts has access to the car park.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,457 - 1,463 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

I'm a regular visitor to Manchester on business and pleasure, I'm also a top level member of both the Hilton & Marriott reward schemes due to the number of nights I spend in their hotels each year. As such this review is based on a number of stays I've had at the Renaissance over the past year (2009).

I've stayed at all of the Marriotts/Hiltons in Manchester and its surroundings (both city centre and airport locations) - but my favourite hotel is the Renaissance, primarily as I believe that the service and 'personality' of this hotel is better than the rest - indeed it has to be as its the main selling point.

The hotel itself is conveniently located near the Arndale centre/Victoria station, and even a walk from Piccadilly is a 10minute stroll down a pedestrianised street for the most part. The building isn't all that attractive (I heard rumours it was scheduled to be demolished prior to the start of the credit crunch), however the lobby/bar/restaurant area is modern and has been refurbished in the last few years.

The rooms are very large, with huge windows that show Manchester's city centre (including the large Ferris wheel) in all its glory, at least from the higher floors. The TVs are large - but CRTs, the carpets a bit worn and the rooms themselves could definitely do with a refurbish. However, they are always clean and have an amount of character missing at its rivals, plus plenty of space - of course the bed is the Marriott standard (plus a bit more) - you can just sink into it and enjoy a great night's sleep. The bathrooms come with a nice selection of Renaissance toiletries, including mouthwash (most Marriott's removed it in the credit crunch to save money, but not this one).

So, after that description you wonder why I prefer to stay here? The answer is the service - because the staff know that their hotel isn't the newest or the most modern they are the key chain to bring people back. From a cheery welcome, to the conceirges and the restaurant, its very smooth and feels a lot more personal than a standard Marriott. The fact they mostly upgrade me to suites also wins my affection too ;). Breakfast is tasty too, and the room service is also pleasant - as a note, another reason I like the hotel, they will do you room service breakfast at any hour of the day - sometimes I have to leave the hotel near 5am, but they will still do a tasty continental breakfast (hot stuff is from 6am I believe) - one stands out as having some of the best Chorizo I'd tasted to that point in time (it got me hooked onto the stuff now). There are also normally some mini-toblerones or other sweet things put out at reception and the hotel delivers the free Manchester paper to your room in the evenings along with the turndown service/chocolates you get.

On the room choices - I've stayed in most of their suites - which are essentially 2 executive rooms joined together, with a nice seating area and separate sleeping area - plus some of them have 2 bathrooms. Each suite is slightly different but has the same general character and I don't have a favourite. The executive rooms are very large by normal room standards in Manchester - but the space is mostly just 'there' - i.e. there isn't anything more you get in an executive room apart from it being much larger and a bathrobe, some of them have sofas, some don't. Normal rooms are the same basic model as the improved ones but feel a little less differentiated and the few I've stayed in were the same. Sadly no club lounge in this hotel, Marriott platinums do get a free full breakfast during the week and at weekends as compensation.

As a tip: the hotel offers valet parking for the same price as normal parking, to get this just park your car outside the hotel (on the yellow lines where taxis wait) and drop off your keys at reception - I'd recommend this as the car park next to the hotel is more expensive without the hotel rate, and the hotel's car park is a secure area within it (nobody will be able to get at your car) - but driving out of this area is a tight squeeze - best to let the valet do that!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

stayed here for 2 nights found the rooms to be lovely and the staff very friendly indeed. i had arranged an early arrival which was no problem to them. we had breakfast which was great as well.Great hotel to get out and about the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

They charge 15 pounds per day for internet access, which isn't particularly fast. My laundry/dry-cleaning came back late and half missing. And the "customer service" number on the telephone in my room didn't work.

The good good thing that was memorable was the nice big bed and good pillows. Location is central but no views.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

booked a family room, 2x adults 2x children for new years eve this year. the hotel was excellent. the check in staff, were very friendly and valet parking is the same price as parking yourself so take advantage.
the hotal was central so we were able to keep nipping back after our meal/big wheel whilst waiting for midnight.
the room was large with2x double beds. even though the hotel was busy as it was new years eve it was very quiet

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason123PrestonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Fabulous hotel right in the central paved area of Manchester city centre. We had a superior large suite on the 8th floor, affording fab views acoss the city. Reception staff were extremely friendly and multi-lingual. As the hotels dining room is SO small, they ask you at check in if you would like/be happy to have breakfast delivered to your room instead- FOC. Whereas this normally costs £££ in other hotels and is a luxurious treat it is foc here and actually enhances your stay here. So rather than competing for a buffet breakfast in the bun-fight of a breakfast room, lay in and wait for breakfast to be delivered perfectly oin time to your room (hot!).
Bar staff were very courteous and the whole hotel has a feeling of a relaxed city break style to it. As it is right in the centre, no need to wait for taxies here- as ready supply at the city taxi rank outside the door allows you to go anywhere at the drop of a hat.
Overall a fantasic and reasonably priced hotel £109 per night for a double suite when we stayed. Would def. stay again and recommend this for shopping, MEN, tourist, luxury weekend away location.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ALTON16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Me and my Boyfriend stayed here for 1 night, as we were attending a concert in the MEN, after searching for hours for hotels, i decided upon this one, i wasnt dissapointed. The hotel is in great central location and an short walk for the arena.
We had a wait to park the car as you have to have a hotel card to enter the car park, but as we had only just arrived did not have one, but a few minutes after a member of staff arrived with one.
check in was quick, but the wait for lifts took ages!
rooms were nice and spacious a bit dated for a 4 star but not unclean, and the beds were comfy.
Room service for night and breakfast was great and very quick.
we were also able to leave our car in the car park for an extra 4/5 hours whilst shopping, which was great.


would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 119 in Manchester
2,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel

Address: Blackfriars Street, Manchester M3 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £80 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting cities in the UK, the 4 star Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel is at the heart of Manchester's stylish quarter. We're on Deansgate within walking distance of Harvey Nichols, Arndale, Piccadilly and a short walk to Victoria Station. It's the perfect location for weddings, group or private dinners and large conferences. Our hotel offers a magnificent lobby, high speed internet access, modern amenities and signature service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Superbreak UK, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Manchester
Manchester Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing