We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience to Airport only positive!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #68 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
South Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenience to Airport only positive!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

Chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the Airport and 'free' parking. Can't fault this aspect - it is literally a couple of minutes away and the transfer was faultless.
Having looked at the hotel details on their website we were concerned that the restaurant was a little formal for our tastes so I phoned the hotel to check that they did bar snacks - I was assured that they did but what a price - extortionately expensive food & drinks. Unfortunately there is nowhere else close serving food either so we were lumbered with it!
The room was shabby to say the least with stained carpets and general grubbiness. The bathroom was a disgrace.
Use it for convenience but prepare for high prices and shabby rooms.
I also left a feedback card with all my contact details but have heard nothing - why issue them if they're not followed up?

  • Liked — Proximity to Airport
  • Disliked — Shabby room, expensive food/drinks.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burblebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    369
    196
    151
    109
See reviews for
152
551
75
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
207 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

Needed a last minute room at Manchester Airport and stumbled across this hotel. Other airport hotels were either sold out or twice the price. The hotel is a couple minutes ride from the airport. The room was small and basic but pleasant. Attractively older building from the outside but the rooms must have very thin walls as it is extremely noticeable how much you can hear from other rooms. The hotel has a nice lounge with food available and also a higher priced restaurant. Plenty of parking was available. Free wireless internet was a nice surprise.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

We booked to ensure an easy transfer to the airport. Staff were very good and the transfers went very well. However there is no alla carte menu on Sunday night and the room we were allocated at the back of the hotel needed a cleaning, dust on the wallpaper, stains on the carpet, cobwebs, the bathroom was scruffy and without hot water in the morning and a broken tap, the aircon looked half installed but the bed was very good. The location in relation to the airport was as good as the staff but the facilities needed attention. Expensive for the standard of accommodation with limited access for this with mobilty needs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Condition of rooms & Sunday restaurante service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BradfordTravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2007

We took two double rooms - one smoking, one non-smoking - for the night of Sat 22 Sep 2007 as we were delivering my American cousin to Manchester Airport right next door early in the morning. A delightful little place, no airplane noise at all, and we found all the staff polite and helpful. We had dinner – 3 courses, wine & liqueurs for £40 each – which was good quality also. We have stayed here before and would do so again.

  • Liked — Good quality
  • Disliked — No faults
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BusterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2007

This was the second time I've used the hotel prior to flying from Manchester airport and I can honestly say things were just as good the second time round. Check in was efficient and the reception staff were very friendly. The rooms are very nice and roomy especially for the price I paid on both occasions. On my more recent visit we had lunch in the bar and the food was very good. I have stayed at a few airport hotels in Manchester and I have found this one to be most value for money, friendly and comfortable. Check out was a breeze. The airport is only a few minutes drive away and the free shuttle to the airport is both speedy and efficient. I wouldn't pay the prices of the Hilton when this hotel offers good service, clean nicely furnished rooms and a friendly atomsphere at a reasonable price.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank UKBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2006

The hotel was tastefully decorated and well maintained. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Food was excellant and the staff all had pride in their jobs and where they worked. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Liked — I was impressed from the moment I walked through the door
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzieQ's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2006

After having read some of the reviews of this hotel, I was a little worried but found this hotel to be fantastic. As I frequently stay in hotels, I have very high standards and am quite puzzled by some of the bad reviews. My experience was very different.

The building itself is a beautiful historic manor house and the decor is sympathteic to this, without looking faded and worn.

Staff were very welcoming and helpful. They seemed genuinely pleased to be of assisstance.

Our room was a lovely four poster suite which we booked last minute, with great views of the cobbled courtyard. It was very clean, a good size and the bathroom was complete with jacuzzi bath.

Overall, a great hotel, perfect for a romantic break.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Property: Etrop Grange
Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Etrop Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing