We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Hotel and grounds tranquil yet only minutes from Manchester airport. We ate in the restaurant which is quite on the expensive side but when the food arrived it was worth the higher than average price. People on reception were very helpful as there was confusion over our deal we'd booked; we thought parking was included but it wasn't. This was not the hotel's fault but misleading wording on the booking site, the hotel said they'd follow this up. Shuttle bus to airport was great and when you return from your trip a driver brings your car to the terminal so you can head home straight away. Unfortunately we had to wait 35 minutes for our car to be delivered, hence only 4/5 for service. I would still use this hotel again though instead of one of the big chain hotels on the airport itself.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slap_n_Tickle37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    417
    219
    181
    121
See reviews for
165
642
90
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Hotel is very handy for the airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent although a distance from reception not a major problem. Nice to stay close to the airport in an individual hotel, not a high rise corporate international block. Excellent value, room a good size and very little noise from the airport. Food good, but when I went the car parking was an issue, but the hotel staff helped and it was solved with no extra cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I used this hotel many times for business for 5 years up to 2004 - and always found it to be a delight. I was therefore very happy to be going back after 8 years

The previous warm and genuine welcome has been replaced with impersonal efficiency
The bar and restaurant remain, in appearance, very much as before. Cosy
The reception area has new furniture - and it would not be possible to squeeze in another chair!
We did not use the bar or dining room as we were heading into town for a concert

Bedroom 69 is in need of a pep up. Bed was the height of the room and the bounce stronger than an Olympic trampoline. Only becuase the bed was so far from the wall did I bother looking behind it - to discover that it doesn't appear to have experience a hoover for quite some time

The bathroom? Well, do have a look at my photographs and judge for yourself. The condition of any bathroom can tip the scales for me either way. Whilst the rest of the hotel was reasonably clean and comfortable, the bathroom gave the appearance that a guest;s health and hygiene are of little importance. For me, the scales were tipped negatively

I would have passed on my honest thoughts - had anyone bothered to ask at check out

Room Tip: Ask if any have an upgraded bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellytubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

While the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, our stay and the hotel itself were quite average. The room was large, but situated as far back from the entrance as possible. It was a VERY long walk to our room, up a couple flights of stairs, through a couple of doorways, and including about five turns. We laughed to ourselves as the doorman walked us through a maze to our room. I suppose this labyrinth is due to the age of the building. The biggest bother for us, however, was that the incredibly loud fire alarm went off both mornings we were there. The first morning it went off at 4:30 a.m., again around 5 a.m., and then just a few minutes later. Someone must have gone out the wrong exit. The same thing happened the next morning around 5 a.m. again. It became very frustrating. I wouldn't necessarily tell potential guests to stay away from Etrop Grange Hotel, but we probably won't be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Well we arrived at the hotel which looked beautiful from the outside.

we then checked in at reception to be told that they don't take cash after 10:30pm so they would take £50 off the debit card to use for drinks after that time.

Rooms were ok nothing to rave about really bed was very very high up.

took a while to find a member of staff to be served drinks. The night went on and we wanted a drink from the bar but the staff were basically too lazy to serve anybody.

Checked out the morning after and never used the £50 on the card therefore we should have been remembered the money onto the card my partner asked and they told him they don't actually take the £50 off the card...... hmm mm WRONG they took the £50 never gave us a receipt and left us to leave and discover when we got home that we were £50 down.......... we then rang the hotel to ask what was going on to be spoken to like absolute rubbish telling us they didn't have time to discuss the matter now and to ring back on Monday morning.

Food for the party was nice but nothing to rave about!

DEFIANTLY wouldn't go back to this hotel again and wouldn't advise it to anybody either....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Dave673,

We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to offer our sincere apologies.

Many hotels across the world adopt the practice of room charges only after the traditional licensing hours to ensure that it is hotel residents only using facilities late at night.

With regards to the £50 swipe, this again is a practice adopted by most hotels in case of extras and incidentals that occur during your stay. This money does not leave your account but is held by the bank until after you have checked out of the hotel when it will be released back into your account. Sunday morning is a very busy time for reception with weekend checkouts and admin and accounts of course work Monday to Friday hence the request for you to call back on Monday as the member of staff you spoke to probably thought this would be the best option for you.

Food is something we take very seriously at the hotel and are sorry to hear that you did not like the dishes you were offered. We make it a policy to replace the food immediately of any guest who does not like what they have been served therefore if you had raised your objections to one of our staff members they would have been only too happy to replace the meal for you.

We do hope that you will allow us the chance to change your opinion of the hotel as I do believe that your issues are due to misunderstandings and miscommunication. Please contact me at your earliest convenience on gm@etrophotel.co.uk for us to discuss further.

Kind regards,

John O'Reilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Second time stay at this hotel, its convenient for the airport as you can leave car without extra charge whilst away. The fact you are taken and picked up also without extra charge is very good service. One gripe when we first stayed was that I almost needed a stepladder to get on the bed as it was soooh high (Think it had an extra mattress on!) The second time the room was good and the bed was normal height. No complaints as all was fine including cooked breakfast. Would definitley stay again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joy14607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Booked for the Stay & Park, direct with the hotel, but when I checked in Reception didnt know anything about the parking or the rate agreed.

Restaurant so busy that I couldnt get a table for dinner so had a mediocre bar meal. Room was nice enough and quiet for an airport hotel.

After I had parked so many other cars came in that they were double and tripple parked making me wonder how I would get out when i came back.

6am check-out was so disorganised with the guy rushing around doing 10 things at once that I missed the waiting shuttle and had to wait anther 15 mins. Left my car keys in case they needed to move my car from the front of the hotel but was told it would be there when I came back...you've guessed it, came back and they had 'lost' my car. After a while they found it had been moved to an off-site parking firm. 3/4 hour later I was still waiting for my car to turn up. Same guy on reception, still trying to do 10 things and once.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYorksYorksTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 118 in Manchester
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Property: Etrop Grange
Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing