We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every one of the Staff Customer Focused”
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #69 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Rodersdorf, SO, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every one of the Staff Customer Focused”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It takes a lot for me to take time out to commend and recognise great service - this is one of those times. I booked a room for my elderly in-laws to stay over to break their travel and they couldn't have been better looked after. In-laws were delighted with both the reception staff and the night porter support. Room and facilities first class. I even received an email from the receptionist to let me know that they had shuttled them safely off to the train station for their onward journey. This level of service was not expected and demonstrated their complete attention to detail. Congratulations to all the staff and their Management. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 949DCOULSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    396
    206
    172
    117
See reviews for
159
605
82
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The bed is excellent, but the rest is poor.
My room was in the basement! Likely, it was very calm.
The toilet flush did not work, but they repaired.
The shouwer : no flow control, lot of water on the ground.
The sink : hot and cold taps! Please revise your plumbery to have uptodate quality!
Internet :ok good signal
Food : i had to argue to have my omelette in 10 minutes, otherwise it should have taken 30 minutes.
No snacks available at the bar counter.

I will not recommand this hotel, except if all others are fully booked!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

I wanted a room in the airport Hilton but was told it was totally sold out. So I checked on the web and was pointed to Etorp Grange. The website looked ok and it showed 4stars, so I booked.
Reception was dirty and sticky. My room is on the second floor without elevator and carrying luggage.
No heating in the room and 0 C outside.
Interior looks like from grannies dumpster. Bathroom super small and logically ice cold. Paint from walls has cracks and holes. See also my pictures. They speak fornthemselve. Holy cow, I will never come back here and certainly cannot recommend this. Stay away and check into a reknown hotel chain. What a nightmare. :-(
Don't even want to think about the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissRalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
174 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, given toom on lower ground floor, wow what a smell of damp, the corridoe smelled and within the room it was over powering. I requested a change of room and was given room 71 on the first floor. Not such a nice decor room but adequate.
But even this room had its issues, the bathroom, which was on the large side was unheated, the window frame was mouldy, the paint was peeling off of the ceiling, the tiolet did not flush very well leaving most off it in the pan until the third or fourth flush !
The attention to detail is lacking here, the service is good although the bar is far to small specially when busy, there is a lack of seating in the lounge areas.
This hotel is geared for weddings and transit traffic for the airport.
It is just an ok hotel which could be a lot better, but you feel the hotel is happy with the turnaround it gets and is happy not to spend to much on improvements.

Room Tip: dont get rooms on the lower ground floor, these smell of damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

stayed one night prior to holiday next day.on site parking and mini bus to airport and return good.room very nice warm no aircraft noise large tv decent clean bathroom but rather a high bed.had meal in restaurant bit pricey but very nice food and service.would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Good points are the location and the on site parking. Bad points are the level of service and the run down nature of the place. I booked on line for £59 and paid a £30 deposit. My deal included a free bottle of wine. On arrival I gave my print out of my booking to the receptionist which clearly showed my deal. I was then asked for £69. I pointed out that I booked for £59 and had paid £30 already, at which point I was asked for £59, then £31 and finally on my insistence £29. I asked for my free bottle of wine and was told I could have it on my departure. I found this very misleading, not far short of something trading standards would want to know about. Who wants to take a bottle to an airport at 4.30am? The manager seemed to imply that having the wine on arrival was against the law, how can this be the case in a licensed hotel?
How did the completely detached sink tap and fuse missing from the towel rail escape the maintenance team? Otherwise the room was small, the bed uncomfortable and the decor dated. The bathroom was very small and actually being able to get in the bath quite difficult due to the location of the shower screen and a towel rail. If you have limited mobility you might not manage it.
All in all I will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Great hotel, convenient to airport. Nothing much around it, so a car is needed. However the very kind concierge drove us to a lovely pub restaurant and then came back for us, enabling us to has a glass of wine with lunch. Also pick up and drop off from airport was so handy. Food in hotel god standard, lovely helpful staff. Room a little small but it was only an over nite stay so was fine. I believe the other rooms are of varying sizes. Definitely would use again on a short trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrybee_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
1.1 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Property: Etrop Grange
Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing