We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #67 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient, friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We booked one night before our flight to the Far East. The staff were very welcoming..so much so that we both commented on this. The car was left with them whilst we were away and they handled this well.Bar menu was adequate to good and prices reasonable. Everything about the hotel had been downsized...kind of to fit in more rooms but we were only there one night and this did not matter in the slightest.
Room was clean and well prepared..albeit small. No lifts but a porter carried our cases.
Rather bizarrely there is no signage saying "Etrop Grange" so it was difficult to locate...thank goodness for the satnav.
We will come back...great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cumberlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    375
    198
    156
    111
See reviews for
155
564
78
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

my wife and I stayed here for one night before going on holiday with parking.
the check in was efficient and the everything was explained about the procedures for transfers to and from the airport
there was a wedding on when we arrived and it was busy but this was not noisy and we were able to get a drink at the bar close to the wedding function
the bed was very comfortable and the room was a decent size.
the restaurant food was very good with a novel way of presenting smoked butter in a small jar and a complementary home made soda bread
the waiter service was professional and polite and there was very little waiting between courses.

the morning transfer to the airport was quick as the hotel is close by and the driver helped with our suitcases

overall a pleasant stay and we will probably use this again if we are in the area

Room Tip: check if there is a wedding on and ask for a room away from this as there are lots of people moving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice stay in this airport hotel, at a much better price than those large chain hotels within the airport curtledge.
We had a lovely room service continental breakfast which arrived exactly when ordered and the transfer to the airport was smooth and pleasant taking only a few minutes to be dropped outside terminal 3.
All in all a nice way to start your holiday rather than queuing on the M62 and fretting over whether you will make the flight or not...we will certainly use this hotel again if flying from Manchester.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nige2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel was of a very good standard, My room was excellent, comfortable and the food was great. My experience of reception was they were extremely helpful. If you don't have a car you are pretty much tied to the hotel as there's nothing much around it. They will pick you up from the airport but you have to ring them to ask so have their number handy.Likewise they will drop you off where ever in the airport complex you need to be. I'd definitely use them again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alancaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Checking was standard, missing a welcome smile.The receptionist didn't look happy at all. Our room was tired and dirty looking and also very cold, the heating didn't work properly, air con whistled throughout the night. The curtains didn't close properly, letting the light's from outside light up our room throughout the night and they were ripped. When we used the sink in the bathroom there was a banging noise coming from the pipes.

The whole place could do with a deep clean and a lick of paint. The staff could do with learning some customer service skills. The only plus for this hotel was the breakfast was ok and plenty of choice, Although overpriced.

There are far better hotels very close by for the same price, so choose one of them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alli10_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for one night (Sat 23 March) before our flight to Finland the following morning. We were picked up from the train station by the shuttle within minutes of phoning the hotel to tell them we had arrived. The driver was very friendly and chatty and dropped us at the hotel in no time. There was a wedding on and the place was buzzing. Our room was lovely - couldn't fault it - it was nice and warm, and the bathroom was a decent size. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was good. All members of staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The full English breakfast was excellent, a buffet affair with lots of choice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippoHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Sounds enticing but the reality is different, it is definitely an Airport hotel so be prepared to be woken in the small hours by travelers heading for the airport. Not worth the price they charge, Staff could do with some Customer Service training. Check out staff were engaged in sniping over some "internal" issue when I was checking out which appeared to be much more important than dealing with me. Had to queue for ages to check-out with only one person on duty to process departures the other was more intent on pursuing their grievance with management, surely an airport hotel could get this right at the peak time of day for people leaving.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominicmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Property: Etrop Grange
Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing