We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #68 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I was in the city for three days to participate in Conferences on cervical cancer. My friend booked this accommodation and I am very thankful to her for wonderful choice. It is is really a lovely hotel, well designed according to the need of travelers. Room was big and well laid with all the facilities that I would have expected. I really enjoyed the breakfast selection, I never missed it. Staff was very friendly all the time and I will book this place only whenever I am back in the city again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments, I had wondered, were you traveling into the city center? I am not sure people realise how easy it is to get into the middle of Manchester City from the airport train station. It only take 20 minutes at most. I hope you feel you had the best locatrion.
I was delighted to read you had you had a great stay and I have to agree I think we do a great breakfast selection.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Etrop soon.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We found the hotel very close and convenient for the airport and pleasantly full of character unlike the big chains that monopolise the airport hotel trade.

We checked in smoothly and were given directions to our room, a tad confusing and given we had bags and the number of stairs I would have expected to be offered assistance with our luggage however this didn’t happen.

The room was good, plenty of room and tastefully decorated, great big bed, a sort of semi 4 poster, although a bit disappointed with a rip in the bedding and nice clean bathroom.

The service we had from the guy behind the bar was great, he tried to find us somewhere to sit as the bar area has very few seats, but unfortunately it was 2 seats by the door or in reception. Nicely decorated although not to my tastes, burnt orange wallpaper is a bit dated for me however when we did sit on the sofa’s we fund them quite comfy.
The restaurant was a pleasant contrast I found it quite modern, light decor and a spring like feel to it.
A somewhat limited menu, approx 5 starter and 8/9 mains plus grills, I went for the battered Haddock and my friend chose the burger. Whilst we were waiting a lovely lady came from the kitchen with warm bread wrapped in a napkin and smoked uttered in a little glass urn, and sure enough when I opened it, indeed it was smoking!!! What a great touch, the bread was scrummy and the butter amazing, it was a tough call not to fill up on it!
My haddock surpassed my expectations, it was massive and perfectly cooked for me, with a stack of chunky chips and a separate dish with tartar sauce, 10 out of 10 for presentation and when I tucked into it 10 out of 10 for taste, I thoroughly enjoyed. My companion commented that the burger was very good, homemade, and cooked to perfection and scrummy chilli chutney was a pleasant accompaniment.
We shared a bottle of red, Merlot and followed with the bitter chocolate dessert, which we shared and divine is the word I would use to describe it. The meal was a definite success.

The service is very good, the barman and the waiters in the restaurant were great, and we didn’t have breakfast so we are unable to comment.

I didn’t sleep particularly well the aircon although effective is quite noisy and there seemed to be pipes around my room and it felt like I could her water gushing through them every half an hour, earplugs for me next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise44_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have stayed many times, collectively, at this hotel which is very handy for Manchester Airport and offered, included in the room price, car parking for the duration of your trip. You left your car at the hotel and it was dropped at the airport on your arrival. No more. Yes you leave it at the hotel but now have to drag your bags to the courtesy bus stop and wait whilst their one mini bus races back and forth to the hotel. If it is raining, tough. A very poor reduction in service but with the room price remaining the same. Similarly, because we were a golf group of 8 couples, we were given a slight "discount" but found ourselves in very tired miniscule rooms with dented electrical heaters, peeling wallpaper and ancient bathrooms. Very disappointing and will not be visited again. The only redeeming feature is the Kitchen and restaurant staff; it was good food, promptly served.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay. But thank you for your kind comments in regard to our food and beverage service staff. We are very proud to say we have recently won two AA rosettes.
It is a difficult one for us as some clients prefer to return to the hotel to freshen up before embarking on their onward journey. What ever your preference just drop me an email and we can do our best to accommodate your wishes.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

we stayed here recentley and left our car whilst we went on holiday, the staff are very helpfull and the room was very comfortable,
the bathroom was clean and the linen very clean and soft.
we did not eat here but the restaraunt looked inviting

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derrick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We booked one night before our flight to the Far East. The staff were very welcoming..so much so that we both commented on this. The car was left with them whilst we were away and they handled this well.Bar menu was adequate to good and prices reasonable. Everything about the hotel had been downsized...kind of to fit in more rooms but we were only there one night and this did not matter in the slightest.
Room was clean and well prepared..albeit small. No lifts but a porter carried our cases.
Rather bizarrely there is no signage saying "Etrop Grange" so it was difficult to locate...thank goodness for the satnav.
We will come back...great value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cumberlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

my wife and I stayed here for one night before going on holiday with parking.
the check in was efficient and the everything was explained about the procedures for transfers to and from the airport
there was a wedding on when we arrived and it was busy but this was not noisy and we were able to get a drink at the bar close to the wedding function
the bed was very comfortable and the room was a decent size.
the restaurant food was very good with a novel way of presenting smoked butter in a small jar and a complementary home made soda bread
the waiter service was professional and polite and there was very little waiting between courses.

the morning transfer to the airport was quick as the hotel is close by and the driver helped with our suitcases

overall a pleasant stay and we will probably use this again if we are in the area

Room Tip: check if there is a wedding on and ask for a room away from this as there are lots of people moving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice stay in this airport hotel, at a much better price than those large chain hotels within the airport curtledge.
We had a lovely room service continental breakfast which arrived exactly when ordered and the transfer to the airport was smooth and pleasant taking only a few minutes to be dropped outside terminal 3.
All in all a nice way to start your holiday rather than queuing on the M62 and fretting over whether you will make the flight or not...we will certainly use this hotel again if flying from Manchester.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nige2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#69 of 120 in Manchester
852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £61 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Etrop Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing