We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week End stay.......Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etrop Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Etrop Grange
Ranked #68 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Week End stay.......Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visit Etrop regularly for coffee, food and drinks, but decided a week or so ago to have a weekend stop over and we couldn't have been more impressed with the service, the room., the food and the overall total experience. All the staff couldnt have been more helpful and are always ready to have a chat and talk to you making you as a guest feel wanted.Our room was excellent. Everything needed was there and it was exceptionally clean and warm. Finally our restaurant experience was also great with the duck and the consumed wine worthy of note
We will certainly keep returning to Etrop...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear James B

It is as much a pleasure for the team and I to read such great reviews as it is to provide the service and product required to receive them. Our soft-refurbishment has begun, with the first block of rooms nearing completion, tasters for what is to come over the next few months.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor family, and I know everybody here will be looking forward to welcoming you and yours back to the Etrop Grange Hotel.

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    369
    196
    151
    109
See reviews for
152
551
75
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as we were moving house from Gloucestershire to Manchester and needed a bed for the night before accessing our new home. My husband had previously stayed several times on business.
After an exhausting day and a 3 hour drive, we were greeted by a receptionist telling us how bad her day had been.
Our room was in the main part of the hotel, above the entrance. We had 2 cases and other luggage and no asistance was offered to help with our luggage.
The room was comfortable, although the (4 poster) bed was quite small and rather high. Only 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel were provided in the bathroom. We had room service which was OK, and the breakfast the following morning was a typical hotel buffet breakfast.
A convenient hotel for the airport.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Mrs Picky

Please accept my sincere apologies for the rather inappropriate greeting upon arriving at the Hotel. Although we encourage our team to welcome our guests in a friendly yet professional manner, on this occasion that little banter has gone too far. I was also disappointed to hear that no assistance was offered with your luggage. I have discussed this with my Front of House Manager to ensure the team all know what is expected of them going forward.

Second sets of towels, along with extra pillows, are stored in our wardrobes in all bedrooms for our guest’s convenience. Please do not hesitate to contact the Reception team should you ever have any issues, and a Duty Manager is always available to provide further assistance.

Despite this, with our soft-refurbishment, I am convinced should you return, the team can ensure both they and the product live up to your expectations, and I hope we can welcome you back to the Etrop Grange soon.

Kind regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed overnight 26/10/13 for early flight in the morning, we ate at the hotel, food was excellent. The staff in all areas were very attentive and helpful - we couldn't have asked for more. Yes, the bedroom was small (being comfortable) but the interior hasn't been changed and therefore retains its originality of being the Grange instead of a corporate hotel. Lift to airport included. Overall lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Amanda L

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review. I think you have succeeded in mentioning all our best selling points, and we do aim to create a friendly and welcoming home away from home for all our guests.

Given your comments about originality, I would be grateful to hear your thoughts once our soft-refurbishment is complete – with the many months of planning, we have tried to stay faithful to the fantastic building yet modernise appropriately.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Etrop Grange soon.

Kind regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have stayed hear maybe four times now. We use the fly and park package.
The hotel bedrooms can be a little shabby around the edges. The hotel is clean. The staff are friendly and the dinner in the restaurant was quite good apart from the black pudding starter. The black pudding was difficult to find. Eventually found a small piece under a lettuce leaf. The rest of the meal was fine
The fly and park package works really well, we waited less than 10 minutes for our car to delivered to the airport. We had a comfortable nights sleep. On the whole good value for money, we will stay hear again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear KWDEW

The team and I are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Etrop Grange, as the challenges laid down regarding the starter and some of our older bedrooms in the property are ones that we are ready to meet.

I am happy to confirm we are in final planning stages for a soft-refurbishment throughout the property which will keep the Hotel at the forefront of Manchester’s best accommodations. Once this has been completed, we will be able to offer a product to match the excellent service the team deliver on a daily basis.

We await your return soon.

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Booked through expedia, turned up at hotel at 9pm and told no booking in my name, showed reception my prepaid confirmation and was told the hotel wasn't full so a room wouldn't be a problem, they took a photocopy of my confirmation and was given a key. Room was fine for a one night stay, cant comment on bar and restaurant as we didnt use these.Would stay again but would confirm booking with the hotel before arrival to avoid the problem happening again, dont know where the fault lay, but was sorted to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancsjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear lancsjohn2

I am sorry that we did not have your booking details prior to check-in, but thank you for your patience on the night – I was pleased we were able to resolve this quickly for you. I will ask the Reservations team to investigate to prevent any re-occurence.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Etrop Grange in the future, and perhaps once our soft-refurbishment is completed we can earn that 5th star rating should you review us once more.

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

This is meant to be a 4 star hotel although if the stars relate to a rating aligned to quality it is misleading.

It is a tired hotel with small rooms and narrow corridors. Whilst the hotel is in an old building (which has the potential for being nice) that is no excuse for worn carpets, tired decor and poor signage. Banging water pipes conspired to keep me awake during the night and a general lack of good service over dinner with bar and restaurant staff just looking like they didn't want to be there, whilst at the same time yelling enquiries into the kitchen that everyone in the bar and restaurant could hear, just made it unpleasant.

Reception staff were nice enough and the food was actually quite good but they are let down by everything else.

A below average experience which was 3 star quality and even that grading is generous.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cak3bak3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Cak3bak3r

Please accept my sincere apologies that you left feeling let down, both by the quality of our product, and the service experienced during your stay. This is not what the team and Hotel are known for, and we know we are much better than this.

As of 1st November 2013, we recently retained our AA 4* Rating, which measures many different experiences including quality of the product and service. Please be assured that despite this, we are not resting on our laurels, and are in final planning stages for a soft-refurbishment throughout the Hotel which may resolve any of the tiredness you might have witnessed. The team are on hand 24 hours a day, and so if there is anything you are unhappy with throughout a stay, please contact them and we will always do our utmost for our guests.

I do hope that once our soft-refurbishment of the Hotel is complete, we will have the opportunity to prove to you we do deserve our 4* rating, and perhaps earn a 5th from yourself should you again take the time to share your experience with our Tripadvisor friends.

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontefract
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We recently stayed here due to us flying out early morning and living far away from the airport.
We checked In and we're asked where we were flying to Etc as it was our honeymoon we were given a free upgrade.
It was beautiful, a room wIth bath and then down the hall was a lounge with TV and fireplace. It was lovely. Had a great nights sleep even though it's so near to the airport there was little noise.
Took the hotel shuttle to the airport and told how to get our car back on the way home.
It's a beautiful hotel and worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlikkleb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEtrop, General Manager at Etrop Grange, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear rlikkleb123

Such kind words, thank you for taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor. It is always a great feeling to read such wonderful feedback, and to share this with the team. I am pleased we were able to offer an upgraded room for such a special occasion, and once again congratulations from each one of us.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Etrop Grange in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jodi Masterson
General Manager
jodi@etrophotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etrop Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etrop Grange

Property: Etrop Grange
Address: Etrop Grange Hotel Bailey Lane, Manchester M90 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Etrop Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etrop Grange is a gracious Grade II listed Georgian Country House originally built in 1780 by school teacher William Moss and although located just a short distance from Manchester Airport, is anything but an airport hotel.Originally known as Moss House, the hotel was renamed Etrop Grange in 1984 by the owners after a local area called Etrop Green. Etrop Grange first opened for business in November 1985 as a fine dining restaurant on just the lower level and was slowly converted into a hotel over the next 13 years with a £3 million refurbishment. The Etrop Grange still retains it's Georgian charm with its stately facade matched by a luxurious interior of decadent chandeliers, heavy drapes and marble fireplaces.Due to modern intervention the hotel is now ideally located just two minutes from Manchester Airport and the M56, and is one of the few hotels in the area with no overhead aircraft noise making it an ideal hotel for business and leisure alike. Offering complimentary transfers to and from the airport and airport railway station (between 06:00 and 22:00), along with complimentary parking and WiFi for all guests, Etrop Grange is the perfect place to spend a relaxing day or night whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Etrop Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etrop Grange Manchester
Etrop Grange Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing