We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the location”
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gardens Hotel
Ranked #66 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value for the location”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I have stayed at the Gardens in Manchester numerous times, its location being ideal, 5 mins walk to Piccadilly station with quick access to the airport, and in centre of the city with all its amenities.

The rooms I have been given have always been clean and well equipped, particularly the bathrooms.

I have never eaten in the hotel, but have found the service on reception to be speedy, efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: 4 lowest price ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parklife93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    427
    292
    126
    90
See reviews for
89
292
228
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed in one of the internal rooms and yes, it was stuffy and hot but was only staying for one night so didn't really mind and knew what i was to expect after reading other reviews.

The room had a fan which helped a little. Bathroom was fine had towels shower gel and shampoo. There's a hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities in the room and an ironing board in the wardrobe. Flat screen tv. Bed could have been more comfier.

The staff were really nice and friendly. The breakfast was OK. The location was ideal as you are right near the city centre and value for money - it wasn't noisy (as it was an internal room) but could hear someone's tv through the vent.

I would stay here again but maybe a room with a window next time!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwnci38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed for one night having been to a concert. Upgraded to 4 poster room spacious room. Looked out onto main street so it was a little noisy from the traffic outside with window open. Suited our needs perfectly. Agree that the decor needs updating but would recommend this as a great central place all that the city has to offer. 5 mins from Piccadilly Stn.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caldwell39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed one night on 19th June 2011 as had early meeting in Manchester following morning and literally needed a place to sleep. Checked in at 9:45pm with ease, however on going up to my room there was a party going on in an adjacent room, with a large number of people shouting, laughing and playing loud music. This continued until 11:30pm when they left, however over the next hour they continued to drift back in. No sound proofing and squeaky floorboards meant everyone who traipsed past banging doors woke me, and the final straw came when I could hear the "passion" of the couple next door. I spoke to reception, and to be fair the very helpful staff immediately moved me, although attempted to make excuses for the noise by saying there had been a concert in Manchester that night, however at 1:45am I was woken in my new room by a very drunk man banging on my door wanting to be let in, refusing to accept I was not "Susan" who he was looking for. Not what you want when you are a lone female traveller!! Eventually fell asleep at 2:30am but had to be up 6:30am for meeting. Wish I'd stayed at home and got up at 4:00am to drive to meeting. Would not recommend this hotel if you are wanting to sleep - is definitely a noisy, nightmare hotel. Additionally, neither room was particularly clean, both shabby and second room had tea and coffee stains on worktop and what looked like a bloodstain on the carpet!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icanseearainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. We were left surprised by a free upgrade to a better room which set the tone for the whole of our stay. The tea and coffee were well stocked and shower gel and soap was provided free. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and spacious with a large tidy bathroom. The decor perhaps needs an overhaul and the outside is a bit shabby looking but this did not bother us in the slightest and we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Do not use a 3rd party booking agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_and_claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Gardens Hotel for one night when we went to see Take That. Could not fault the service, the bed was really comfy (although the room could do with a little updating) and the breakfast was delish. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone but make sure you have a room with a window as it was very warm. Would stay at The Gardens again. We originally booked this room with an agent for £54 for the night but when I went on the Gardens' website, it was £55 with breakfast included so we changed our booking and booked direct with the hotel !!!!!

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and not with an agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0pp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Booked via travel agent with Take That tickets was a bit apprehensive after reviews and photos but visiited and i can say did what i asked of it. Rooms ok but nicer than travellodge need upgrading tidying etc but clean. A bit noisy but then you are in the heart of Manchester so what do you expect. Communial areas lovely breakfast was fab well looked after by staff infact staff were great a credit to Hotel they are all very very pleasant and seem happy to be there. Location of hotel smack bang opposite Picaddily Gardens hence the name would stay again if price right, even though we are usual Mal Maison Radison Blu users normally with choice. But the staff even Chamber Staff Great well done

Room Tip: ask for window as some i believe dont
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A17ACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#49 of 116 in Manchester
1,627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Property: Gardens Hotel
Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing