We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gardens Hotel
Ranked #66 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

spent a great nite at this hotel .great location next to all shops bars ect very close to piccadily train station..deansgate and canal street where there are some great bars and clubs nice hotel freindly staff...room was lovely ....just a great hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    427
    292
    125
    90
See reviews for
89
291
228
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a tired hotel that could do with a facelift. The comunal areas are ok and the internal courtyard adds nice light and greenery to the lobby however my room was pretty tatty.
Given the central location of the hotel it wasn't a surprise that there is a lot of road noise, but it was quite hard to sleep.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful, and they and the location of the hotel are it's best asset.
If you can book it for the right place, and don't mind a bit of worn carpet you could do worse than stay here.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigdog42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I had a perfectly pleasant experience at this hotel. Five star it isn't, but it doesn't charge five star prices. It has a great location about 5 mins from the station and right next to Piccadilly Gardens. All the shops, cafes and restaurants are within two minutes' walk. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was perfectly clean and comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in a nice bathroom. I didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.
I'd be happy to go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel together with three friends in April 2012. We came to Manchester to watch football. Gardens Hotel is a small budget hotel with average standard. The location is central and the staff is friendly. We never ate in the hotel, we had breakfast at nearby pubs. I would recommend the hotel to everyone that doesn't want to spend too much money on their hotel stay and that isn't too focused on comfort and luxury. I would consider staying at this hotel again. If possible, request a room not towards the back street, I woke up every morning due garbage cleaning etc.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the atrium are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Movi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is a reasonable options for those traveling on a budget. As my husband was attending a conference at the University, we wanted a hotel centrally located and within easy walking distance to the Uni for him (20 minutes) and the city centre (10 minutes) for me and the Piccadily Train station. It is also close the China Town (10 minutes).

We were initally given a room two away from the elevator and then after a bad nights sleep listening to the noise from the lift were quickly moved to another room when we complained to reception the next morning.

The rooms was smallist but adequate. Not a problem as we where not hanging around the place all day.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. There is Pret-a-manger and varouis other places to eat with-in a 5 to 10 minute walking distance.

The restuarants on the main road upto the station also get better the closer to the station entrance you get.

Room Tip: When booking, don't accept rooms 6, 7, 8, 9 on any of the floors as these rooms are right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoccaJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

booked 2 night break to go to the grand national and were not disappointed,very efficient and friendly staff,rooms were spacious and clean the only drawback was the view from the room was of a prospective building site,the breakfast was very good if a bit pricey at £8 if you are on a budget witherspoons next door do a decent breakfast for £2.99,all in all i would recommended this hotel for a stay in manchester,just avoid booking room 116

Room Tip: avoid room 116 because of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anderson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed on business and had the worst experience of any hotel in my life.
Room and bed stank of B.O. I never slept and checked out at 5 am. I could not stay another second. this place was filthy.I checked in at around 10pm and I had to step over somone sleeping in the doorway to get to reception and I suspect the room had been ocupied minutes before I checked in. With the smell and the noise this dump has to rate as bad as it gets.

Room Tip: stay some where else...anywere else even in the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#49 of 116 in Manchester
1,626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Property: Gardens Hotel
Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing