We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont be late for breakfast!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gardens Hotel
Ranked #67 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont be late for breakfast!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Firstly the good points
The location is great, in the centre of the city just by Picadilly Gardens.
The staff were helpful and polite and the waitress that served our breakfast was very friendly.
The bad however, the room was small with insufficient lighting, it would have been impossible to work in such a dimly lit room.
There were stains of some sort on the walls, the sink was badly cracked and had hair in it and it was impossible to close the window the elevtrcal fittings were 50s ot early 60s..
The breakfast was a children's size portion of one egg, one sausage, one rasher of bacon, a small spoonful of beans and half a tepid tomato.
While we were finishing breakfast a teenager came down and was told at 2 minutes past 10 that they were.no longer cooking breakfast and that he could have a bowl of cereal, to rub it in 5 minutes later the staff sat down for a cooked breakfast.
If I wasnt so polite Id have asked for a refund!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the hotel, we have a continual programme within the hotel upgrading the facilities within the guest bedrooms and bathrooms, which does take time, whilst this happens we do try to ensure the rooms are clean and comfortable for our guests. The lighting within the rooms is also under review and whilst you have commented on the wiring looking old, all our appliances are subject to annual PAT testing and are checked regular basis to ensure the safety for our customers.
With regards to breakfast, we are usually praised on the standards and quality of the full English served, I will however look into the points raised with the chef and also the food and beverage manager. All reviews are taken seriously and we try to ensure any problems are investigated and rectified for the benefit of future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    403
    280
    120
    86
See reviews for
83
267
215
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Went to the Garden's as there were few choices in Manchester that weekend. Found the hotel at a reasonable price in spite of the overall unavailability and smack in the city centre. The room (particularly the bathroom) was spacious. Not the most modern decoration, but the furniture was in a great shape, the room was clean and all the electrical outlets and amenities working well. Breakfast was good and included. Really good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the feedback following your recent stay at the Gardens, I am pleased that you found the location ideal and that our facilities were to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I just needed basically hotel close to Piccadilly station Manchester for effectively a 8 hour stopover. This appeared to fit the bill and reasonably priced and close to the main station in Manchester

On first reflection, not great from the outside, but easy enough to find, just a few minutes from the station on one of the city's main squares, with a very pleasant night duty assistant offering a quick and friendly check in

I chose to walk to the first floor, which was actually floor 2 due to the mezzanine, but has it happened the next morning the lift didn't appear to go from the floors to the ground anyway

Room was small, suitable for short budget stay, but probably too small for any longer. However t is an old property but refurbished to reasonable standards with all modern facilities

Breakfast was choice of buffet and if required cooked English, however there was a mix up with many guests being told they had to pay extra for this, except they were staying on inclusive terms. This is not a time for confrontation, but once the error was noted this was corrected efficiently and quickly. There were 2 waiters serving the very few in the restaurant so was quick service, with one waiter giving good banter with the guests

Would I stay here again. Maybe, but again for the same reason as this visit and no longer

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.
Please accept our apologies for the mix up at breakfast, as soon as we realised the problem we quickly rectified this.
I will pass on your positive comments concerning the Night staff and waiter.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gardens in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Not the nicest hotel in the world, but fantastic location for a great price. We paid £108 for a double room for 2 nights (we found it cheapest directly through their website rather than any 3rd party sites), which included breakfast (average). The location is perfect and it was not as noisy as I expected for a city centre hotel on a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the hotel, We are pleased you found the location ideal and managed to secure the best price possible by booking via our own website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Got a great deal on this very central hotel. Very nice staff, totally friendly and helpful, nice room with all the stuff you usually pay a lot more for and a lovely breakfast in the morning. Not the most modern place in the world, but perfectly clean and functional and absolutely amazing value

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbert_sull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay, we are pleased you had an enjoyable time and hope you have a nice wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently stayed here for my hen party. It was very reasonably priced and with walking distance of all the shops and bars and rail station. The lovely friendly staff also moved my room for me to put me closer to my friends. They couldn't have done enough for us and offered to look after our bags after we had checked out so we could go shopping. The rooms were clean if a little dated but I felt we got more than we paid for.
All in all I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter particularly on a weekend. Room 104 is a lovely large twin with a sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is my first Visit at the Gardens . It is right in the City Centre and close to many good Restaurants , Buses , Taxi , Shopping Centres , and Chinatown . It is very clean , very nice Lobby , very friendly Staff . I am very satiesfied , i come again .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#88 of 115 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Property: Gardens Hotel
Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing