We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location vey central” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gardens Hotel
Ranked #67 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location vey central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for NYRS, knowing it was NYRS we were happy to pay the£110 required for an internal room.
The room lighting was woefully inadequate, there are no ceiling lights and the lamps in the room were far from bright enough.
As it's an internal room with no windows for ventilation the heat become very excessive and forced us to have the fan on constantly.
Location is great, the staff seemed friendly enough, would book again for a one night stay if the price was much lower but if you are looking for luxury then search else where.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chay9352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay on New Years Eve and Happy New Year to you. We are aware of the lighting issues within the internal rooms and have taken steps to improve this as we redecorate. We have to agree the location is superb and I will pass on your favourable comments to the staff. If you do decide to stay in the future please make sure you visit our website to get the best rates and a free breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    403
    280
    120
    87
See reviews for
84
267
215
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed here for the first time on 20/12/13 and I would definitely stay here again. The staff are polite and friendly, the room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was fab!
The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly Station. If you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced to stay I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We went shopping the following morning after we had checked out and the staff had a room available to leave our luggage to save carrying it with us. I shall look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay, Its is always nice to receive favourable feedback and to learn that our customers will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time on 22/12/13 in room 123 - PLEASE fix the window! It isn't attached to the top hinge, so I was unable to open it, however to attempt to close it I then had to lift it with both hands to realign it - even then it wouldn't close properly! So I had to sleep underneath a cold draught, with the sound of outdoors all night. There was a regular loud noise, every half hour or hour maybe? Like a generator. Needless to say I only had a few hours sleep!

Reception very helpful with request for extra pillow, and when checking in/out. Didn't stay for breakfast.

For the £35 I paid, literally just for somewhere to sleep for the night it was fine. Would I stay there again? Yes! (But PLEASE get that window fixed!!)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
I am so sorry you encountered problems with your window during your recent stay at the hotel. As you mentioned the room number in your review, I will be able to ensure that the maintenance department sort this out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were attending the Black Sabbath gig at the MEN Arena and at the last minute decided to stay over - checked out a few hotels and decided to book a room at the Gardens Hotel - a great find, and very handy for the Arena. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly and the room was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom, and the bed was comfortable! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for providing us with five stars, your comments are welcomed and appreciated by all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The location of this place alone is worth the money, a minute's walk from Manchester Picadilly. If you're popping up for a business trip or visit on your own I would say absolutely 100% book this place.

The room was clean and larger than I expected, which was a pleasant surprise. I slept well, the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price and was good. Reception were welcoming and helpful when I needed them to call a taxi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Many Thanks for taking the time to post a nice review following your recent stay at the hotel, your favourable comments will be circulated amongst the staff, It is always nice to know that our customers are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A group of us stayed at the Gardens hotel for a concert in Manchester, we stay here every year this is due to the location,staff and the breakfast are all brillliant especially for the price we pay. We will be back next year

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Many Thanks for such a nice review following your recent stay at the hotel, We are pleased to see you will be back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Gardens hotel in Manchester was a pleasure as always. Pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Great location, making it easy to get to the Christmas markets, shopping centres and local restaurants. Room was fine, clean and a good nights sleep was had the three nights we were there.

A pleasure as always.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for posting a lovely review after your recent visit to the hotel, it is nice to know that our customers have enjoyed the stay at the Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#88 of 115 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#45 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Property: Gardens Hotel
Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing