We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and very cheerful”
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens Hotel
Ranked #71 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I chose this hotel based on previous Trip Advisor reviews so thought it only fair to contribute, albeit briefly.

In a nutshell, this is cheap and cheerful and good value for money. The biggest issue for me was that I found the bed uncomfortable - not obviously lumpy but I kept waking up with different bits of my body numb! A colleague staying at the same hotel had a comfortable night's sleep so I may just be spoiled by my memory foam mattress at home.

The most memorable aspect of the visit was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and that alone puts it way above other hotels in this price bracket.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyeardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Good Morning and thanks for your review following your recent visit to the hotel, I am sorry you found the bed to be uncomfortable as we normally have good feedback on this. I will try and pinpoint the room you stayed in and ask maintenance to have a look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
There are newer reviews for Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here with a friend before the Man U football match and our room was ransacked and our laptops were stolen along with some other personal belongings. Hotel suggested we didn't shut our doors properly but it was actually due to a faulty door lock that you have to pull on firmly and jiggle to get to latch.

Hotel staff quickly pointed us toward the terms and conditions that basically translates to "You stay at your own risk" and that the hotel is not liable in anyway towards your possessions or security. They suggest that you can deposit things of value at the hotel reception desk, since there are no room safes. Hardly practical.

Overall, the hotel is quite run down, poorly lit, and dirty. They have security cameras only at the entrance and select hallways, but all of them are poor enough quality that they're purely ornamental.

Room Tip: Avoid here, if you can.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianmayc6r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We encourage our guests to leave feedback following a stay in the hotel even if the experience at the hotel was not to their satisfaction in the hope that we can improve on our standards for the future.
It is however disappointing to read your comments, I have already corresponded with you by email directly and after liaison with the police have confirmed that there was no evidence to support a crime or that the hotel was at fault in this alleged incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

booked a night at this hotel direct - got a 10% too, as well as the car park ticket validated for a great discount (£8.50 for almost 24 hrs). Staff friendly and helpful, hotel itself a bit tired in places but for one night absolutely hit the mark. Location couldn't be better - right facing Piccadilly gardens (and Primark!). Included in the room rate of £36 for two was full English breakfast which was buffet style for cereal, juices, yoghurts, fruit, toast, croissants and Danish's, and waiter service for tea/coffee and your choice of cooked breakfast. We could also leave our cases in a locked luggage room until we were ready to go back to the car park. The bedrooms were roomy, warm and beds comfy - but as said before tired. So if you are after a good base for a night this is the one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Good Morning and thank you for the very detailed review following your recent stay at the hotel, which will hopefully inspire others to come and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I booked this accommodation because it was cheap and central. I had booked a single interior room so wasn't expecting more than a bed to rest my head. When I arrived the manager offered to upgrade me to a twin room with window at no extra cost. This was excellent customer service and a welcome introduction after a long days travel,

The room was basic but for £30 a night it was clean and comfortable. Perfect as a base to sleep, get washed and dressed. The free wi-fi was also an excellent addition.

Compliments to the friendly and efficient duty manager.

Room Tip: Cheap, clean, good customer service
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay and for the 5 stars, it is much appreciated. I will pass on your comments to the duty manager who gave you an upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I regularly book rooms at the Gardens Hotel for work colleagues and the price cannot be matched elsewhere, great central location and good breakfasts. They are all happy to return week after week although I would say they always ask for a window room, the internal rooms are close to the lift I'm told.

Room Tip: Book a window with a room as they are further from the lifts.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello Thank you so much for your review and the five star rating, it is nice to know are guests are satisfied. we always try to ensure our rates are competitive. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Neat and clean...great service and had a wonderful stay...came for a match and had to stay for a day..I made the right decision by choosing gardens..and also very close to coach station and bus station

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Shalu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Good Morning and thank you for posting your review and awarding us five stars- your comments will be passed on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Friendly, helpful, reception staff.
Given the location, it was good value for money.
Only gripes were that the room I had could have done with a little bit of tender loving care, and at least one more power point.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel. We are working on a redecoration of bedrooms and as we do so are increasing the number of power points within rooms. I will pass on your comments to the reception team who try to ensure a good impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#74 of 120 in Manchester
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#95 of 120 in Manchester
916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#63 of 120 in Manchester
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £41 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing