We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens Hotel
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Located in Piccadilly Gardens, really nice and friendly staff. We had chosen an internal room, we'll never make that choice again, you could hardly breath and rooms are absolutely old and small. Cleaning service to be reviewed. Would recommend it if you're young and are staying for the weekend.

Room Tip: don't get the internal rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica_Lauteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Good Morning and thanks for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at the Gardens. We have to agree that our location is fabulous. I am sorry that you were not happy with the room, our internal rooms do not have a window but we do provide an electric fan to regulate the temperature. We do have other standards of room available at varying price levels should you decide to stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

A Great location directly in picadilly gardens. A Very comfortable bed. I slept very well. Nice full English breakfast. Friendly staff and a great value. I booked a single exterior room and was upgraded to a lovely four poster double room. If you are a light sleeper, there is street noise, so perhaps choose an interior room. A 5 minute walk to the picadilly train station. I would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank pcakesjuly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Good Morning and thanks for the positive comments, it is always nice to get feedback from guests and it is nice that you appreciated the upgrade into a four poster room. The staff do work hard and often are praised for the friendliness they offer to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed on Monday evening having booked through hotel website. Initially given a room next to the back lift (not what I had ordered) and returned back to reception to request replacement room away from lifts. Room had quite a musty smell and again so visited reception again and got person up to spray the room. At price point - bearing in mind location it is by no means a bad hotel but there are some issues - lots of dust around on surfaces - lino in bathroom was not properly fitted and was slightly raised in a place - and I'm not altogether sure the floor of the room was level hence why the chair dragged when you tried to move it. Nice touch to have iron/ironing board in room. Full English Breakfast served quickly upon arrival downstairs. Beans were a little cold and bacon a tad greasy but that said, it was adequate enough stuff to start your day. On the positive, points gained for a reasonable sleep and for attentive staff who were able to serve/deal with queries in a timely fashion. The owners could really do with spending some money on the hotel as they clearly have the raw materials to have a decent city hotel but the small niggles undoubtedly would make me think twice about another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhinos2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am sorry that you encountered a few problems on arrival with the room allocation. All heads of departments will be notified of the points raised in the hope that we can make improvements for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed with my son for two nights, excellent price at £118, including breakfast , which was triple star. Right in the centre of Manchester, I would stay here anytime i return, they also have Hotels in other cities, I would make a point of checking them out. Room as a bit hot at night, but I stayed in a Stornoway guest house in freezing - winter, believe me, I would rather be too warm than freezing cold.

Room Tip: The third floor room was very good, I enjoyed looking out over the rooftops of the city, a great vie...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 623Scotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Good Morning and thanks for posting your review and for giving us five stars, I will pass on your favourable comments to the staff and also to chef concerning the breakfast, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

room was to hot and the key did not work half off the times and the Lights did not work but the location was good so do not no will i stay at the garden again the breakfast was not too bad but you do not get a lot in the breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Good Morning I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay at the hotel. You mentioned that the room was too hot, our heating is on a timer and in each room there is a thermostatic value so that the guests can regulate the temperature themselves, we also provide fans if someone is too hot. We use electronic keys for the bedrooms, our system is working fine but sometimes electronic items and mobile phones can wipe the memory from the cards. It is unusual for us to get negative feedback regarding breakfast and whilst the English breakfast is cooked to order, we also have a self serve buffet for guests with no restrictions on the amounts of food. I hope that these things do not deter you from staying again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The entrance was scruffy and tired looking on arrival. We were greeted by friendly but scruffy and pale (partying or working too hard) looking reception staff. We arrived at 7pmish our room was on the 1st floor it was clean but it was cold on arrival and then went boiling hot in the night. It was noisy all night with people, bin collections, allsorts, but you sort of expect that in a city centre. The breakfast staff were polite but on autopilot. On the whole not a great stay and for £100 for a Saturday night I did expect more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay, and the comments on the staff have been taken on board and looked into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I payed a good rate price/quality for weekdays.
On saturday I moved to another hotel (far from the centre) because in Gardens the price was over three times more compared to the price of the previous overnight!!! In fact this is a situation which happens in most of the Manchester hotels located in the centre.
Summing up I will advice Gardens to friends and relatives but only for weekdays.

Room Tip: It's preferible to pay a little more for not booking an interior room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at the hotel. You have mentioned pricing and If I may try to explain the way in which we process our rates. Our full advertised rates are only charged on days in which a special event such as a concert or football match, other than that we lower our rates. It can be very confusing and the rates can vary for a single from £85.00 down to £30.00. We do look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#76 of 120 in Manchester
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#96 of 120 in Manchester
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#63 of 120 in Manchester
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £40 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing