We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very handy hotel - Would stay again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #41 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very handy hotel - Would stay again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed here on 01/06/13 prior to a 9am flight to Mexico. We arrived mid afternoon the day before via the train and was shown how to request the hotel transfer bus. We were picked up and taken straight to the hotel to check in. The check in was easy and our room was brill. A very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. We ordered some paninis and chips (although expensive they were nice.) The hotel is situated within walking distance of the airport terminals and a viewing area, so we managed to have a walk round that evening. The following morning we were transported to Terminal 2 with quickly with no problems. Very handy hotel and well worth the £65 we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    1,217
    495
    187
    114
See reviews for
450
1,537
200
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel’s preening title gives little clue to the generally depressing experience that awaits here. First impressions are okay-ish: a wide lobby with bar and restaurant off and a front desk staff both welcoming and efficient. Thereafter though, it goes downhill fast -- not because of age or construct or even facilities but for the way it seeks so clumsily to persuade its customers into thinking they’re getting a good deal when they’re so obviously not.

First thing we did on entering our room was to turn on the TV to check on Guest Services. First thing the TV screen showed was a full screen message that “just £28 buys you 24 hours Internet and movies!” What kind of lunacy inspired that as an early-encounter customer experience, we’ve no idea, because staying in any airport hotel for a full 24 hours is anything but typical of the occupancy pattern for this type of establishment.

Yet it’s not so much the nature of the ‘offer’ (£28?? Is this hotel completely delusional??) as the willful bundling together of that which most folks don’t need (movies) with that which they do (Internet) that speaks to a corporate agenda of the most cynical kind.

Of course: Internet provision there certainly is, independent of whatever movies are offered, but if you want it in your room, then tough. You have to pay for it. That it’s now the year 2013 and the Internet as a medium of communication and information is as integral to human life as that other medium of information and communication -- television -- eludes the Crowne Plaza, which realizes it daren't charge for the latter but will certainly carry on as long as it can to bill for the former.

Worse than that though is the hotel's oleaginous propaganda on any and every printed surface, a demonstration of failed amateur psychology as inept as it’s possible to get. It’s as if someone in the company’s marketing and/or management thinks that if they use the word “YOU” enough, then customers will actually be gullible enough to believe they’re receiving a personalized experience from a hotel that truly loves ’em.

Thus: a couple of 50p bottles of mineral water sit there by the TV with a note headed: FROM US TO YOU and the message “We hope you enjoy these complimentary refreshments” (what, this hotel seriously thinks lukewarm water is some kind of refreshment??)

Thus: a simple cheap notepad comes decorated with GREAT IDEAS. YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN THEY’LL COME TO YOU. (Clever stuff: two “you’s” for the price of one.)

Thus, the room key card comes complete with the fatuous: YOUR KEY. YOUR SPACE.

So oppressively blatant is this nauseating unctuousness that one turns with relief to the menu in search of water that isn’t tepid and food that will hopefully arrive without a note reading: YOUR DINNER. YOUR TUMMY.

But as with the ludicrous £28 for a 24-hour movies/Internet bundle the majority of guests will neither need nor want, so too with this: a vegetarian burger -- just to be absolutely clear: there’s no meat involved here -- is £13.95p plus £3.50 tray charge. It’s as if this hotel is still clinging to the golden age of business travel when extortionate prices for the most mundane of fare could be charged by any hotel, knowing that the customer was going to stick the bill on his or her expenses and claim it back afterwards. £17-45p for some compressed veg in a bread bun with a few chips delivered to the bedroom door might’ve worked then. It sure as heck doesn’t work now.

What actually works is not amateur psychology that’s beyond the amateurish and lukewarm freebies that might possibly refresh a camel in a desert but not a guest at an ostensibly upscale airport hotel but in-room Internet that’s free of charge and menus / restaurants matched to the target audience’s actual needs -- the Crowne Plaza’s ‘fusion’ restaurant struck us as being as forlorn as it was pretentious, seeing as how it was empty each time we looked in, whereas a few weeks back, and in marked contast, we could hardly get a seat in the superb family-friendly price-friendly Italian restaurant that the Doubletree hotel at Newcastle Airport has been astute enough to incorporate.

VERDICT: with rooms looking a little tired and now plastered with inept ‘feel good’ messages that only make you feel bad about the way your intelligence is being serially insulted, this hotel is fast falling from the kind of favour in which we and friends and colleagues once held it. There are much more satisfying park-and-fly packages on (or almost on) Manchester Airport so don’t be persuaded into thinking that because the words ‘Crowne’ and ‘Plaza’ appear over the door, the experience you’re in for will be 5-star throughout. It’s all very average, it’s all very manipulative, it’s all unjustifiably over-priced, and as a result manages merely to irritate, rather than to please.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Odysses,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here prior to an early morning flight to Paris. The hotel was lovely and staff were friendly. The location was great. Transfers were really easy with very little waiting. We didn't eat, so I can't comment on the food. No issues with the car being parked here whist away and it wasn't moved. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. It is very pleasing to receive such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here on night before our early morning flight. No hassle at all just parked your car and not worry about it until our return to UK. Lovely staff and beautiful and clean hotel. Will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. It is our aim to create Great Hotels Guests Love and I can see from your comments that we achieved this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza the night before our flight, room are on the small side, nevertheless they have all the conveniences you need and are very clean. Free shuttle bus which only takes 5mins to terminal one. you can walk it which we did when we got back and it only took us 10mins if that its is just over the road. wewill defernatly stay again. Car was left a hotel no problems.

Room Tip: Conveient for Terminal 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momamia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Location: Conveniently located close to Manchester Airport, there is a free shuttle bus operating frequently. There are several different hotel night plus parking available. WARNING!!! We used the seven day parking and the car was left with the blinker on (there is a loud warning signal in the car for this but whomever parked the car blatantly ignored it/didn't care) when it was returned by the company running the car parking service. This resulted in a flat battery but the staff at the hotel had jumper cables and we were on our way after about a 30 minute delay. We did speak to one of the managers who took our details and promised we would be contacted within 24 hours for compensation for the parking. We are still waiting to be contacted over a month later. We did not pursue it further as customer service is quite obviously lacking by the car parking providers. This is something to consider if booking one of the hotel night plus car parking packages.

Check-in: fast and efficient. My partner is a Gold member and we received the dedicated check-in.

Room: the room was perfectly fine and clean. The bathroom was clean.

Breakfast: we did not eat breakfast at the hotel.

Overall: the hotel was nice but the car parking service provided was sub-standard hence the lower overall mark.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us but very disappointed to learn of your poor experience with the handling of your vehicle. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The entrance and lobby gives an airy modern impression on arrival. The staff at check in were friendly and competent. The ground floor room we were given was small and rather depressing. The standard double bed seemed short and cramped for 2 tall people. We did not sleep well at all. We had a very enjoyable Thai meal in one of the hotel restaurant and the price of the food was fair. However beware of the bar prices. We found them very expensive. We were on an early flight and there were serious queues for the shuttle buses which can't take many people at a time. The guys on the bus were friendly. Allow more time than they tell you at the desk just to be sure. I have stayed in other Manchester Airport hotels which were a lot nicer for a similar price. I won't be rushing back to this Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your stay. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't. I do hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to show you how great our hotel really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing