We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to justify the higher price...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #39 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hard to justify the higher price...”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

How do I put this? This is an ok hotel, but I don't think it's worth the considerable amount extra that we paid for room and food compared to the Premier Inn at Runger Lane North. Yes we got a courtesy bus as opposed to a taxi fare, but the carpet in the corridor leading to our room could have done with a clean. The room itself was small and overlooked a car park; the supplies of tea and coffee were miserly (though reception did happily provide more milk in those awful plastic pots). There was absolutely nowhere to hang anything and only four very small drawers; it was a good job we were only stopping one night. The staff were pleasant and the bed was comfortable, but the next time we fly from Manchester at stupid o'clock in the morning we'll go back to the Premier Inn, sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibearnogifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you did rate your overall stay with us and note that the service you received was the highlight of your stay. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. I do hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    1,255
    512
    193
    119
See reviews for
475
1,601
209
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here night before catching flight to Tenerife on the 3rd July 2013. On arrival at Manchester Airport train station simply used the Freephone at the airport and called for the courtesy bus to pick us up and take us to the hotel. Booked a family room with two double beds including breakfast and dinner at a cost of £130 for a family of four. On arrival allocated a lovely modern spacious family room on the ground floor with two double beds, sofa, table chairs, tv etc-everything that you would want and require. Good choice of evening meals to choose from either the restaurant or the bar and similarly the choice at breakfast was also excellent. Staff at reception and restaurants were all very polite and helpful. On departing used the courtesy bus again that took us to Terminal 2. If you want a hotel close the main terminals that has that 'luxury' feel about it then the Crowne Plaza is definitely worth serious consideration. Would have no qualms about choosing this hotel again.

Room Tip: Family room, ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I was so pleased to read that you had such a great stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Visited friends in Manchester area and used the hotel as a base. Air con was broken on what was hottest day of the year but they moved us quickly enough. Reception was very helpful. Nice breakfast and comfortable beds - all good thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djenk_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for review of your recent stay. I am sorry to learn you encountered an issue with the air conditioning during your stay but pleased that the team were able to rectify this quickly for you.
I hope you will choose to stay with us in the future should an opportunity arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed for 1 night before our flight the next day. Check in process was smooth and efficient with reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very good with good facilities. You may get noise from the corridors throughout the night and early morning but noise from outside is non-existent, good soundproofing.

We used the shuttle service from the hotel to the terminal we only waited 5 mins for the bus to arrive, driver was very friendly and helpful, a very worthwhile service to make the most of!

Overall an excellent hotel which we will use again for future stays at Manchester Airport

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay, our aim is to provide great hotels guests love and I was especially pleased to read you found our team friendly. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for one night in early July after flying in from Dubai. We had a largish amount of luggage and the room we had on fourth floor was quite small and difficult to move in with our luggage due largely to too much furniture. The room was in need of a makeover. That was the downside. On the positive side reception staff were very friendly and orovided every assistance we asked for. We ate at the restaurant and the food options were wide and varied and provided something for everyone. The breakfast buffet had a broad range of food to tempt all and was clearly freshly cooked. This hotel was selected for us by our travel agent and we are booked to stay again prior to our departure for Australia in late August. If this booking had not been prepaid we most likely would have sought an alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takichum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room that you stayed in, but pleased to see the staff interaction was a highlight of your stay. When you stay with us in August our Front Desk team will be delighted to assist with ensuring your stay is as good as it can be. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Manchester Airport Crowne Plaza. The staff at check in were friendly and courteous. We had a club room and enjoyed using the club bar, where again we had a lovely waitress who looked after the guests brilliantly. We also had a meal in the Sampans Oriental Restaurant and the food was lovely. Overall we had a lovely stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay, our aim is to provide great hotels guests love and I was especially pleased to read you found our team friendly. I hope to welcome you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza hotel in Manchester airport. The hotel does offer a Shuttle service to and from the terminals but unless you have lots of luggage is only a 5minute walk to the hotel which is situated right at the airport. Checkin was very fast and efficient, the only negative comment I can say is that my room and bathroom was small for a Crowne Plaza. The room I had initially been given had the sun shining into it all day and was very hot. Unfortunately the air conditioning didn't work so I called reception and within minutes someone had come to my room to check on the air conditioning, it was declared broken and within minutes I was into another room, I was very happy with the quick response although I do believe this should have been checked and tested before a new guest checks into the room. During my stay I also had room service and had a meal in the main hotel bar, service was excellent and so was the food. Overall a great hotel, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bydand75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchak, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that the team were able to resolve the few issues you experienced. We are always grateful for the opportunity to address any issues as they arise to ensure our guests have a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#57 of 116 in Manchester
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 299 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with Peter Ashley Car Parks. Hotel Residents are required to pay for parking at the overnight rate of £15 per vehicle. Our Car Park has floodlit signage and Pay and display machines for visitors. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing