We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect restbite.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect restbite.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

A small little get away ready for our honeymoon. Theres nothing much to say about this place apart from
It being pretty good. And quite surprised actually with it being a airport hotel. Little converstation from the staff at fromt desk but we were happy with what we got.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Aniefan,

Thank you for this positive review and we would like to say congratulations and we hope you had a brilliant honeymoon. We are so pleased that we were able to provide you with a great getaway in preparation for your vacation.

I will ensure that your comments are shared with our team and we are very grateful that you chose to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    1,265
    517
    197
    130
See reviews for
485
1,621
211
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed the night before a flight from Manchester, and took up the 8 night parking deal which suited us perfectly.

The main parts of the hotel were great, but the rooms were a little dated in places - although still clean and adequate.

We had a few drinks in the Irish bar there, that was good - would have liked some real ales on cask, but you can't always find that.

The Thai restaurant, Sampans, was great! The food was lovely, the staff were great - we were served by Edward - who was polite, attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear IanPrice,

Thank you so much for your feedback and especially for recognising our team member for his outstanding service. It really means a lot to us when our guests take the time to share their positive feedback.

We are also grateful for your suggestions which we will review in our next operations meeting. You will be pleased to know that we have an ongoing schedule of updates to our hotel to further improve our facilities.

We hope you had a pleasant onward flight and we would like to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel always seems busy, this is unfortunate as the breakfast area is so small, but the staff made all the difference turning what could be just a sit, eat, get up and go - into a breakfast experience. Thank you to the tall guy with the tight cropped hair sorry I did ask your name but I have forgotten it. Also thanks to Amy if reception she wad a star and noted that I was a little peeved that the hotel for the second time did not recognise my platinum membership, the rooms are clean and tidy but small, ok for 1 or 2 nights more than that you may feel a bit stir crazy, all in all a very comfortable stay albeit only one night. Don't think I would want to stay a whole week though.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Keith B,

Thank you for your open and honest review of our hotel and we would like to congratulate you on your Platinum status for IHG Rewards! Your loyalty means a lot to us and thank you for choosing our hotel.

I will also pass on your compliments to the team members you mentioned and I will ensure that they are both recognised for their superb efforts.

We hope that you had a successful business visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We checked-in here via a Thomas Cook Sports package to watch a match at Old Trafford on 15/16th March. We were expecting better service at the check-in counter which were manned by 2 unfriendly and insincere staff, we brushed it off as we could have caught them at a bad time so early in the morning. The room that we were given was found wanting indeed.The beds and pillows were uncomfortable and the small room itself resembled a boutique inn/B&B instead of the Crowne Plaza brand that we expected. We had two single beds which had unstable & low-quality mattresses.
We had a good breakfast though and staff at the restaurant were more friendly and welcoming, a nice start to the otherwise lousy reception.
Thereafter, we requested to leave our luggage at the hotel to travel up north to Edinburgh/Glasgow & Isle of Skye. The lady who arranged for our left luggage was more approachable and accommodating thus we appreciated that kind gesture.
Unfortunately, upon our return from Scotland, we were faced with more disappointing service bordering on discrimination.
As we had a very early flight to catch that morning, thus upon arrival at the hotel, we collected our left luggage and did some light re-packing at a very discrete corner of the hotel lobby. We had a few hours of waiting time till our flight so we did not think it will be a major inconvenience to the hotel to graciously host us at their empty lobby from 1am-3am in the morning with almost no souls in sight. Regretfully, we were chased away by your security-cum-driver who accused us of not being guests of the hotel and we had to leave immediately as an early morning flight "is not the hotel's fault/problem, go speak to the hotel manager". He insisted on sending us to the airport and made us felt unwanted indeed. Being people of better decorum, we did not wish to create a ruckus that night/early morning nor demand an explanation for such discrimination against guests who did pay for a meagre 2nights' stay at your hotel. We were definitely not rowdy like some of your drunk customers nor reflecting any form of bad image to your "posh" & otherwise empty hotel lobby at a dead 2am in the morning. Maybe your staff was too afraid to tell us the truthful reason why we were chased away & we left it at that. We left for the airport asap as dictated by your driver & decided that the pen is mightier than the sword. We have been to much better hotels worldwide & I have personally written glowing reviews about them on TripAdvisor. This hotel earned the credit of being my first negative review. It was a most unfortunate & disappointing experience at this hotel & I attributed it to pure bad luck for us as we have met many friendly & gracious people in Manchester & Scotland. So, to those who wish to book this hotel, good luck & may you meet the better staff.
ps. Bewleys is just next door with free wi-fi too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MsAzzie_LilinJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear azzie77j,

It saddens me to learn about your experience that you describe in this way and I would like to reassure you that I have undertaken a full investigation into your claim. I would very much like to speak with you and ask that you please make contact with me as the behaviours you described upon your return are not consistent with our values here at Crowne Plaza. You can contact me on 0871 942 9055.

I sincerely wish you had spoken to our Manager on Duty as we could have reassured you that you were most welcome to wait in our lobby. It breaks my heart to hear that allegedly a member of our team spoke to you in such a disrespectful way. If you could please contact me, this would assist me greatly in ensuring this never happens again. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences and discomfort that may have been caused.

I hope you can see by the many reviews we have received that our team do consistently take good care of our guests. As I cannot identify you from this review, I kindly ask that you contact me as soon as possible so that I may assist you.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Feels a little more upmarket than I was anticipating. Two restaurants, a number of nice sitting areas, fairly well appointed business centre. The hotel had a real vibe happening and was extremely busy.

Pickup from the airport was prompt, but don't follow the signs and stand at Bus Stop 23, you need to call the hotel on the hotel courtesy phone (in the airport). The signage is a little misleading.

Room was real quiet, even with the heater going.

I was disappointed that the rooms do not have 'free internet', and the price of internet access was enough to make me think twice. Factor this into your stay if it's business. GBP 5 for 1 HOUR, GBP 16 for 24 hours. Perhaps i'm just getting too used to having this included in the room rate these days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_7777_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Chris_7777_au,

We are really pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations of Crowne Plaza and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

You will be pleased to know that we are working on a wifi solution as we understand the changing needs of our guests. The reason why our current service is priced is due to the superior bandwidth and high security levels associated with this product. You will be pleased to know that we are working on a solution which will open up to all our IHG Rewards Club members (which is free to join) from the 1st July 2014. This will be a service capable of doing the day to day activities you come to expect from any business offering free wifi. We will however continue providing our superior service as well in order to meet the needs of guests requiring high volume download capabilities.

We can see that you travelled quite some distance to be here and if you are returning to Melbourne, Australia soon we highly recommend the Intercontinental on Collins Street which is a beautiful building with lots of history and you can get a great meal or afternoon tea!

We hope you had a great time here in Manchester and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here after arriving early hours in the morning from holiday. The hotel is lovely, fabulous rooms lots of lovely touches, plenty of tea and coffee, biscuits etc. Very comfortable beds, and the staff were very professional and helpful. Would definitely stay again.
Thank you Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Linda R,

Thank you so much for describing us as a lovely hotel. This really means a lot to us and I look forward to sharing your comments with our team.

We are also very grateful for your kind recommendation and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Crowne Plaza experience. It is always our goal to provide a good nights sleep and we are glad you enjoyed these benefits.

Most importantly, we hope you had a fabulous holiday and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel can be a little difficult to find the first time, but I've stayed here so many times now it is engrained! The hotel is often very busy due to the fact it is on the airport campus. There can be queues at check-in, but they rapidly disappear.

The hotel has two restaurants, a gym and a club lounge.

The rooms are comfortable, albeit they are the older style and may be on the list of hotels to refurbish.

Service is very good here and they are really keen to accommodate. A great place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Youngklaus,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we are sincerely grateful for your loyalty to our hotel. Our team work very well to provide a seamless visit and thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

We are actually the original hotel for Manchester Airport and therefore are lucky to have such a great location. Our advice is to enter the airport from the main entrance (just off the M56) and follow the road down to the roundabout, take the first left, and then take the first left at the next roundabout.

I will ensure that your kind comments are shared with our team. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Wright
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 117 in Manchester
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 299 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with Peter Ashley Car Parks. Hotel Residents are required to pay for parking at the overnight rate of £15 per vehicle. Our Car Park has floodlit signage and Pay and display machines for visitors. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing