We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stopover for next day flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stopover for next day flight”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed here for one night with my daughter. It was great, they picked us up from the airport with just one quick free phone call. The room was comfortable, clean and modern. The hotel staff was beyond helpful. Anything I asked for was answered or taken care of right away. They asked us to make reservations for dinner when we checked in, which we did, but then decided to stay in our room for room service and a movie. We ordered from there Asian restaurant and the Shrip Pad Thai was fantastic. We left early the next morning and the shuttle was waiting for us in the front lobby. Overall way more than I was expecting from a hotel by the airport.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmeeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    1,247
    505
    192
    118
See reviews for
468
1,584
205
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I have stopped at the Crowne Plaza on several occasions and have always found the rooms and service at this hotel to be great. We arrived on 8th Septemer, having booked the stay and park for 15 nights, getting a great deal for £79.00

Checking in was as fast and efficient as always, the staff pleasant and helpful. The room was small but clean and comfortable. We ate at Sampans restaurant on site, the meal was really nice but a little on the pricey side, which is to be expected in hotel restaurants.

On going to bed, we found that we could hear the planes taking off, something that we had not heard on our previous stays. I'm a heavy sleeper so this didnt bother me but I cant say the same for a light sleeper. The next day we caught the shuttle bus across to the airport with no problems and again no problems on our return. Unfortunately on arrival at the hotel to pick up our car, they had misplaced our car keys which after a nine hour flight is not what you want to hear. After a half an hour search they were eventually found, filed under a completely different surname. What surprised me is that we were offered no apology by the person on the reception. Would I stop at this hotel again.. yes but only if I got a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Just 'Ok' it you close your eyes and ignore the obvious flaws of this hotel and all you need is a place to lay your head.

Bedrooms have gone downhill since my last stay. The room was smaller than a Travelodge or Holiday Inn Express and had a smelly shower curtain, fixed shower head, dirty literature and room had a funny smell of body odour left from the previous guest.

General lack of care and attention from housekeeping (very dusty and missing bedthrow) and a quick lick of paint does not hide the fact that this hotel is a tired Posthouse trying to live off the Crowne Plaza name (the City Centre one is so much better).

We went for breakfast at 10.30am (restaurant empty) on the first morning. We had to help ourselves to coffee mugs as the table had not been sent properly. Choice of breakfast was fine and serivce was ok if you like the breakfast supervisor shouting across the restaurant to see if you were enjoying your food.

Breakfast on the second morning was terrible - again the place was quiet and the 'loud supervisor' was not on duty. Staff were talking the whole time to a family with a young child that was having breakfast (quite clearly an employee of the hotel) and everyone else was ignored. Staff just helping themselves to sausage baps and just forget about the guests. No management around, no bacon, no hash browns, no fried eggs, no crossaints, no yoghurt, no bread, no plates....no breakfast really! Waited for ages to sign breakfast to my bedroom but no one around to help so enjoyed a 'free' breakfast 'free' of food!

Long queues at Reception with porters / shuttle bus drivers and management in new suits just ignoring the guests as they pass from the Reception into the back of house areas. Hotel full of queue jumpers - no system at Reception. Joshy on Reception stayed calm while guests jumped the queue and tried to 'jump' other guests that were already being served. Car Park payment machine out of order so you have to join the huge queue every time you want to leave the car park. Receptionist at check out 'on auto pilot' thought I was an airline crew member and messed up the final bill.

After my last stay and the refurbishment this hotel had improved but sadly the place has gone downhill. If all you want is a room with no breakfast then it is ok but if you are looking for more then give it a miss.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA1aSilverstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

In short, One woman on reception a bit slack, other two excellent. Room ok on the second floor. Bar and bar food ok .Didn't go in the Irish pub.

No milk for coffee in room. Rang house keeping for milk, none appeared so went searching for room cleaner to get milk.

Not much sound proofing, could hear planes landing at 2am. The stuff you put on the pillows made me cough all night..

English breakfast perfect and very fresh. A bargin at £9.

Hotel airport bus perfect bothways.

Cost less than £90 and 15 days parking.

I think good value for money, 15 days parking included.

Would use the hotel again but not the pillow stuff

Rated7/10

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degsy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The hotel is clean and convenient. There ends the good bits. A 15 min wait at breakfast to get a table!!!. Yes 15n mins in a queue to be shown a table. The lone person managing the queue is all action but no output. She even pulls groups of people from the back of the queue only because a table for 4 became free. I am at the front, eating alone, as are a majority of the people in the queue and we dont mind sitting with each other for our breakfast. It was incredibly annoying. The hotel knows it is full so should have more tables and staff for breakfast duty. As usual half of the food stuff wasnt there and the tea and coffee came after a long wait. I got my own cutlery from the staff area. The fried egg was slow cooking on a sea of oil on a hot plate set at the lowest heat setting. Incredible. For heavens sake just make the tea and coffee as self serving. Just set the table and we will find our own places as we do in all other hotels.

My room was twin single beds and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit odd. the towel rack was above the toilet. Pull one towel and the rest fall into the toilet after crashing through all the toiletries (soaps, shampoo etc) stacked below it. Maddeningly stupid.

TV is the large behemoth of yester years. All in all Ok for a single nights stay, anymore and you will tear your hair out at breakfast time. Beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My partner and I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now as a stop over before our flight.
I have always found the rooms to be clean and most of the staff friendly and helpful. The airport transfer and parking is the main reason we stay. It makes life so much easier.

I must say however that I do not find the restaurants and bar value for money at all. I appreciate that as a guest at the hotel you are a captive market and not likely to venture far from the hotel for meals etc. Due to this I would expect prices to be over-inflated but I think the prices are far too high to reflect any kind of value whatsoever as my partner and I didn't find anything enjoyable about the food we were served.

We have now dined in all the restaurants here and find none of them to be worth the amount of money charged. If they insist on charging high prices, the food they serve should be worth it. In my opinion it clearly is not.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kndsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We booked a one night stay package bed/breakfast. The room was so small, the air con did not work, it was extremely hot, if you opened the windows the noise was terrible not just from the planes. Reception very cool, breakfast one person only serving, food on tap from 4am just lying there. Had to ask for plates. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 299 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with Peter Ashley Car Parks. Hotel Residents are required to pay for parking at the overnight rate of £15 per vehicle. Our Car Park has floodlit signage and Pay and display machines for visitors. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing