We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giorgio's Italian Restaurant

Giorgio's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #192 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$0 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Visited Giorgio's on a busy Saturday evening after making a reservation. We all chose the set menu, which is good value but a la carte seemed expensive, though that may be just city centre prices. Service was prompt if a little muddled. Staff did not seem sure who was responsible for our table and we were asked by several different people if we wanted drinks and wine arrived before aperitifs. One dessert was incorrect and we had to order all three courses at the start of the meal.

Good to see some old favourites such as Steak Diane on the menu. Food was well cooked and well presented with good-sized portions. Would visit again. This was a family outing but all adults.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    183
    73
    45
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“you could be in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great restaurant, eleven guys on a stag do, food was terrific, service was very good, the food was wonderful, the quantity was good, satisfied eleven hungry guys out on the lash. The spaghetti was the best I have had outside of Italy.
(http://giosmanchester.com/)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tarrb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family meal 12 adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We booked in advance and ate there early on a Friday evening - my son was playing at the students union later that evening. Very friendly and accommodating and good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food, poor service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We chose to eat at Giorgio's last weekend when some friends had came to stay for the weekend, there were 4 of us in total and we reserved the table the previous week as the restaurant is in a busy area of Manchester.
On arrival we were pointed over to the bar to wait as our table was not ready, we were not offered a drink and felt slightly in the way! after 5-10 mins we were shown to a table that was not set and were not handed any menu's! after a few mins we were given menu's. and cutlery etc was put in front of us!
Although we did enjoy our food, the service was really poor, our starter came quickly, then our mains followed quite fast but nothing was cleared from our table and my meal was actually handed to me as I was still finishing my starter! We were not asked if we wanted any more drinks and had to stop a waiter twice to ask for these and we had to ask for the empty glasses to be cleared.
We found the meal rather expensive for what we had, they had also added a service charge on which we declined to pay considering the awful service. would not hurry back here on a Saturday night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank candsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a really nice meal here - the food was great, and reasonably priced. Good ingredients and flavours to the food. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Nice atmosphere to the restaurant - smart decor and pictures. Good for couples, or small groups. They had a 'show' menu too for pre show dinners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giorgio's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Giorgio's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing