We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

1st trip to Manchester & 1st ever stay at Malmaison. First of all the hotel & all the staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived. The location is 1st class with the town centre only 5 mins walk. Both me & my wife will be telling all our freinds what a great hotel the Malmaison is. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scant1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    806
    368
    172
    105
See reviews for
141
1,101
86
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We love Malmaison!

Even when there is a problem the staff are always happy to help out. Nothing is a problem.

The only thing I would say is that the beds maybe a little firm for most peoples tastes, but just ask for a comforter or 2 to be put on your bed.

If you are a breakfast type, we would recommend the Malmaison breakfast 100%. Fresh juices, porridge, granola, fresh honeycomb, and cooked bfast if you really are hungry. My partner is a huge coffee lover and is always pleased with the coffee at breakfast.

Location is perfect! 2 seconds from picadilley rail station and 10/15 mins stroll to the MEN arena.

We will always stay at Malmaison hotels if there is one in town where we visit!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I stayed for one night at the Malmaison Manchester with my girlfriend. While the hotel itself is quite nice, the bedroom was a little small with lttle space to even walk around the bed. Service at the reception desk was efficient and friendly, and early check-in was accomodated. However my main feedback issue is around the service in the bar area. We stopped for drinks in the bar before heading out for dinner, and upon our return. On both occasions the service was friendly, but very slow even though the bar area was not busy. The bar staff seemed more interested in chatting amongst themselves than serving customers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Never normally do this but felt I had to on this occasion. Checked into hotel only to be told the full amount of stay plus an extra £25 'just incase' will also be taken, I have never encountered this before in a hotel. Went up to room to find, dirty scuffed walls, a chipped dressing table, 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel for a room booked for 2 people! Went out for a wander on our return found the mini-bar fully than when we left not happy someone was in our room when we had just checked in so it should of been ready.
When returning after our concert we found the room very noisey being on the 5th floor we wouldnt of normally expected this and the bed very uncomfortable!

Restaurant was faultless we both had the Mal burger which was too much for us both the finish!

Overall very disappointed, on check out we told the receptionist our commenst who made excuses for things, we were also told the extra £25 that was taken from out card may take 5 days to appear in our account agin, next time will sick with the premier inn much cleaner!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This hotel is fantastic for anyone who likes nice surroundings and a great city centre location!
The staff are friendly and helpful as well as chatty!
The rooms are clean and modern with excellant facilities.
As for location it is opposite Picadilly train station, infront of Canal Street and just a very short walk from the main stops in the centre.
The breakfast is lovely and very filling!!
Overall this hotel is fantastic and is in an excellant location!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettM91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This hotel was chosen for its location,close to Manchester Piccadilly Train station(literally across the road!)Its certainly different from my usual choice being very original with black and red "clubby"decor!!however the hotel was lovely and clean,the staff were all very helpful and pleasant and the room was very nice and spacious with a lovely bathroom !!Couldnt fault it and I would certainly stay there again on my next trip to Manchester. A lovely hotel especially for the young and trendy although I am neither and still had a great time

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaynewardfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Visited in march for the shopping and trip to the football, the hotel is in a good location and rooms are of normal high standard, we did have a pleasant surprise of a free room upgrade to the cinema room for one of our party which was very nice. However when it came to sleeping there are alot of cushions and pillows on the bed and the pillows are not of a very good quality and resulted in both myself and my partner waking up with very sore necks in the morning. This is the only downfall of this hotel, we have visited other malmaisons and not had this problem and would definatly use this chain again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmDeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#24 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing