We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPOOKTACULAR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #32 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This Hotel states "WE DARE YOU" Well i dared to go to this Hotel to see what people liked or disliked about it, well i can tell you i enjoyed every bit of this dare experience, i travelled by Train to Manchester and when i got off the Train and ventured out on the Street what do i see but the Malmaison Hotel sign.
When i walked in the Reception which was not full and as we got to the Hotel early i asked if i could leave our bags somewhere safe until our rooms were ready, the lovely lady on the Reception she she would get a room for us straight away (lovely) so we could go around Manchester shopping (lovely for my other half).
As i was under the weather (Man Flu) we decided to eat in the Hotel Dinning room, the Steak was Fantastic that i ordered, the Marrow bone that came with it that i did try was a waste of time really, the Chips that came with it in a cone Design was lovely.
The Bedroom was dark but cosy, the bed was firm but i slept like a log, the bathroom was large and funky, so all in all the room was what i was looking for.
The bar was a bit strange at first, with the bar staff lower down below you when you sat at the bar after a time you got used to it and it made you talk to the Bar staff at eye level, a young kid behind the bar called James that had only worked at the Malmaison for 6 weeks but what a nice guy a real northern in fact everyone in that bar was so friendly it was a good craic, everyone was there for a good time and it showed.
The acid test of my experience is that i am going back in December to do some Chrimbo shopping and i am defo going to stay at the Malmaison.

Room Tip: just get there early and smile and be nice to the staff and you can't go wrong just ask the staf...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyman0051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Family Man

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city,
we appreciate you giving us your feedback as it is only through this that we can continually strive to improve the Mal experience.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed Smoak Bar and Grill, and hopefully you have fully recovered from your man flu we know it can be deadly!
When all the slinkiness subsides and the divine dining has been done, there’s nothing more to say as you leave us but a big thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mal Manchester in the near future.

Many Thanks

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,526)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,122 - 2,128 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here for business just for 1 night. Hotel was spot on for what I needed. Smart, clean, friendly staff and good central location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bp1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Upon entering the hotel, I spent considerable time playing my way across the checked board to the reception, it was frustrating as the other players were moving when it was not their turn and the knight moved in a diagonal line and not the standard 'L' shape that I am accustomed to. At the reception desk, a man, called Lion or Lenux or something found me a room, he was very polite, be it, a little small and undershaved for my liking. The room was a little too large for my tastes and did consider asking for a smaller room as I am used to caravan holidays, but in the spirit of embracing new experiences I decided to stay put. The bathroom bought me a tremendous amount of merriment; the taps had a good water pressure which meant I could use the sink to wash my hands in, instead of just running them under the tap. The bedroom, for me was also full of wonderment and surprise; I found a biscuit on a tray which was nice. I had hoped for a turning down service but as I was not asked, I decided against requesting one from Lion on reception. At night, the lamps produced sufficient light to read and find my way to the bathroom. The bed was higher then I am used to and a little too big. In the morning I had breakfast delivered to my room and I ate it in the bath; pastry floats but little pots of jam sink.

I decided to get the most out of my stay so when I was packed and ready to leave I waited till the last second of my room rent then rushed to the desk. Like the changing of the guard a new person was on reception. She enquired if I had enjoyed my stay but I didn't go into details. I WOULD recommend it to a friend. I recently suggested it to a camping neighbour who played music too loud. He didn't take me up on the suggestion.

5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

There is a quirkiness about this hotel which some might find irritating. A bit too clever by half some might say – like the bill being called “The Damage”. The décor is dark and there are rather silly things to buy in the room – all a bit “We are different and aren’t we clever?”. That said the rooms are comfortable and it is a perfectly adequate place to stay for a Business trip – if someone else is picking up the substantial bill - £129 a night when I was there – plus £14 for breakfast.

Serious gripe. After a hard day I got back to my room to find the electronic key didn’t work. So I hauled myself back to reception where a sullen woman who seemed to be having a bad hair day dealt with the problem. She said nothing except a platitudinous “There you go” when she handed the key back to me. I looked less than gruntled at this and suggested that an apology might have been in order. This came eventually not from her but from another member of staff. Pure Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy_Briggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Bogies on bathroom wall discovered after unpacking.
Moved and upgraded.
Courteous and friendly staff.
Steak was not hot enough (return the dame temperature)
Hunt a banana for breakfast.

Too much twiddly stuff not enough basic stuff done well.

Room Tip: From my experience, check cleanliness before unpacking. I would not bother with the standard double...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesErbCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Mal failed to get the easiest things right during our stay.
Our bathroom lacked toiletries - little pots which should have held cotton buds and pads were empty and had clearly not been checked. There wasn't a shower over the bath, the hair dyer was under the tea tray (why not in the dressing table drawer?) the air con/heating instructions were on a tiny card by the door - bizarre! I looked all over the room every time I woke in the night too hot and bothered to sleep and finally found them as I left the room in the morning. The information in the room was totally haphazard - strange cards of different sizes - may I suggest an easy to find small file?
The newspaper had not been delivered by 7am, the furniture was not properly dusted and the furniture was chipped,stained and watermarked - all in all the room had seen better days. The lighting was awful too! Making reading very difficult . Our table wasn't ready when we arrived at breakfast so we had to wait. The spa was grubby - leg wax dripped all over the floor and stuck to my shoes and used tissues and towels in my treatment room.


Good things? Comfortable bed, friendly staff in the spa and an excellent shower but you would expect that at this calibre of hotel.

Room Tip: I was told by a member of staff That there are brighter newly refurbished bedrooms - ask for one of...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerningvoyager5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Amazing hotel! nothing more to say other than its excellent in every way. I can not understand how anybody could down rate this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 120 in Manchester
1,721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £84 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing