We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what you'd expect from Malmaison”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #33 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Exactly what you'd expect from Malmaison”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at The Malmaison for a weekend Christmas shopping trip in a superior double room. We were allocated room 305, which is at the front of the hotel overlooking Piccadilly station. The room was spacious and nicely decorated - everything is black and red in the Moulin Rouge theme that runs through the hotel. Check in was swift and the hotel bar was packed - the bar and accompanying 'Smoak' restaurant being very new additions to the hotel. The hotel is well placed for both travel and shopping - around a 10 minute walk sees you to the Arndale Centre and all that Manchester has to offer. We had a continental room service breakfast on Sunday, which was delivered in lovely wicker backets containing 3 x pastries, a yoghurt, fresh fruit, cereal and various jams. My only issue with the room was that it was a bit noisy - getting to sleep on Friday night in between all the late night shouting, buses and the odd siren was a bit of a challenge and were I to stay again I would ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Rachael

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and When all the slinkiness subsides and the divine dining has been done, there’s nothing more to say as you leave us but a big thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mal Manchester in the near future.

Many Thanks

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    796
    360
    171
    101
See reviews for
136
1,080
86
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at the Malmasion in Manchester a few months ago, and had a fantastic stay. We opted for one of the junior cinema suits, and got a cracking deal for a three night stay by calling them up and asking about packages! The internet rates were reasonable, however speaking with the team over the phone resulted in a great overall package... so i would highly recommend you call up and have a chat with the helpful team.

On arrival we had a warm and friendly welcome and quickly escorted to the room. The room was split into two sections, firstly the cinema / lounge area, followed by the bedroom and on suits bathrooms. The room was dark and dramatic and defiantly set up for a cosy weekend away with the other half.

The bathroom was O.k... though i would expect a bit more for a junior suit. More space and better shower.

We tried the room service on the first evening, along with a cosy film on the huge cinema screen and can't fault the food or the service.

All in all, a great stay at reasonable prices... well worth a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Andy

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city,
we appreciate you giving us your feedback as it is only through this that we can continually strive to improve the Mal experience.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed that enjoyed your stay and its great to hear that the team were so helpful in getting you a great team I will certainly pass this information on.
There’s nothing more to say but a big thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mal Manchester in the near future.

Many Thanks

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Would thoroughly recommend the Malmaison Manchester. You can fall out of Picadilly station and you're virtually there.

Service is exemplary.

Rooms are well furnished, well serviced and comfortable. With added useful extras like iPod dock to boot. The shower is a dream! The main regret with the room was that my wife wasnt there to share it.

The bar is comfortable and the selection of beers and spirits to accommodate all comers, it's not cheap but you're not staying in a B&B.

Restaurant was great at breakfast and dinner, the selection of steaks were mouthwatering......the hanging sides of beef may not be to vegetarians tastes, but they work for me.

If you're here as I was for a client workshop then I don't think you'll find cause for complaint with the service or facilities. Buffets are very good indeed.

I remain a huge fan and will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Mark P

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester its great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, next time bring your wife and why not stay in the Moulin Rouge Suite!
There’s nothing more to say other than a big thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mal Manchester in the near future.

Many Thanks

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Malmaison is perfectly located, just across the street from the train station (direct connection to the airport) and only a 5 minute walk from the city centre and the main shopping streets. Old Trafford is easy to reach as well.

The whole hotel is nicely decorated, with a very luxurious feel to it. We had a spacious, light coloured double bedroom with a big bathroom. Very quiet as well.

The bar is a nice place to have a late drink, the cocktails are good but a little expensive.

There's free wifi throughout the hotel, which is a big plus if you want to avoid roaming costs.

We especially loved the breakfast, which was included in the room price. Fresh orange juice, a decent continental buffet (nice fruit salad), warm toast brought to your table and a great choice in cooked breakfast, made to order. Tip: Try the big Mal breakfast!

Hopefully we'll get to stay at the Mal again. We fell in love with the hotel and Manchester!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank incrociate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Incrociate

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city.
Its great to read that you fell in love with both the Hotel and Manchester, this time of year is magical in Manchester. Next time you stay why not stay on a Saturday if you love our breakfast you will love our Sunday brunch.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Mal Manchester in the near future.

Many Thanks

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stay here often. Go for a suite and enjoy. Cinema suite good for a night in or the theatre of dreams is good if you have a few people in your group.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Jonny K

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city,
we appreciate you giving us your feedback as it is only through this that we can continually strive to improve the Mal experience.
I am glad to read that you enjoy staying in our themed suites why not try Romeo and Juliet next time its great for the romantic getaway, when all the slinkiness subsides let me just thank you for been a great repeat guest here at Mal and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Many Thanks

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Having stayed at the Malmaison in Manchester a couple of times in the past, I have always found it to be an excellent choice. However, our recent stay was absolutely awful. Our problems started at check-in, whereby our rooms had been pre-paid by our travel agent, but the receptionist was not aware of this - and had I not arranged for the travel agent to call and email confirmations again we would have been double-charged!

I was booked into an "executive" room at a rate of £159 room only. The room was very small (about half the size of my colleague's standard room) with a basic shower above the bath while he had a huge walk-in shower. When I checked that I had been allocated the correct room type I was told that it was correct, and it was an "executive" room as it was in the part of the hotel that had most recently been decorated. And this justifies an additional £30 per night?

The room was comfortable enough, but nothing special. The nice touches (like fresh milk in the fridge) have gone; my refreshments tray was not re-stocked after I had drunk the coffee - meaning I was unable to make a cup of coffee in a room by the 2nd day in a room that was costing me £159!!

Our main criticism of the hotel, however, was the recently refurbished and absolutely dreadful SMOAK restaurant. It is absolute chaos, especially the bar. Amongst other issues, we had to wait 30 minutes for our drinks while the same 3 Snow Patrol songs blasted out on a loop - and then after finally receiving our drinks another waiter turned up 2 minutes later with the same order (one of which was wrong)!

A lunch order at 2pm (when the place was almost empty) for a sandwich took over 20 minutes. An evening meal of 3 main courses involved one dish being totally wrong and one steak which was ordered medium-rare being served well done.

There are simply too many people who do not have a clue what they are doing, and no managers running the various aspects of the hotel. There are a number of great hotels in Manchester but the Malmaison is sadly no longer one of them. 5 star prices for a 3 star hotel with 1 star service. Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Ryan

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city,
we appreciate you giving us your feedback as it is only through this that we can continually strive to improve the Mal experience.
I am sorry to read that you feel we have gone massively downhill, and I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter further with yourself so I can personally look into your concerns, please contact me directly on 0161 278 1000 or croutledge@malmaison.com where I can hopefully restore your faith back into Mal Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

rooms very well provdied and comfortable. The hotel is very well located to access and to walk into Manchester shops and nighlife. Opposite Picadilly Station, with car parking nearby but it was quite pricey, ideal for visting shops, bars and restaurants in the city. I liked the rooms style - dark and red.
The breakfast were excellent, as well the Bar and the Brasserie, which was great.
great value for money.
The room was very chic, plush furnishings, clever accent lighting, stylish furniture and decor with a fabulous bathroom with thick white fluffy towels. Would definately recommend it, in Manchester city centre it's a nice and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Claeale

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city,
we appreciate you giving us your feedback as it is only through this that we can continually strive to improve the Mal experience.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the style here at Mal Manchester along with all the little Mal extras, hopefully we will see you again in the new year.

Many Thanks

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing