We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #32 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Thought I'd change from my normal Manchester Hotel and give Malmaison a go, staff were friendly but everything else fell falls short of the Mark, decor is badly aged, bedroom look like it needed a really deep clean, bed was not that comfortable. Was really not what I had expected from a Malmaison. Sorry but won't be coming back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asapearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Assistant Operations Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Asapearce

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city,
we appreciate you giving us your feedback as it is only through this that we can continually strive to improve the Mal experience.
I am sorry to read that you found us sadly lacking, and I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter further with yourself so I can personally look into your concerns, please be assured that this is not the usual standard of service that we aim to deliver here at Mal. Please contact me directly on 0161 278 1000 or croutledge@malmaison.com where I can hopefully restore your faith back into Mal Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,527)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,064 - 2,070 of 2,527 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is such a fantastic hotel. The rooms were amazing, the service, restaurant and bar are all great. I really cannot think of a fault with this hotel. Parking is limited but usual city centre hotel I guess. You do however get a discount with the local NCP car parks.

It's ideally located across from Piccidilly train station and is a brisk walk from the fantastic shops, bars and restaurants of Manchester.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfox1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We decided to stay there for my birthday as we hadpreviously been there and it was good value for money.

Malmaison for me has always been a hotel which I've found romantic. Dinner is normally nice and relaxed in a peaceful dining room. It was a place where you can enjoy a nice coctail and relax.

This experience was not that. When we entered the lobby we noticed it had changed. There was the usual Malmaison decor that we love but it was mixed with hessian blinds and tables looked like barrel. There was aslo horns on the walls. A sort of wild west themed bar and restaurant. Two different styles of decor which didn't match. We had dinner there and to be honest it was trying to be good food but failed. It wasn't terrible or anything just uninspiring. The white wine that came free with the dinner package was not drinkable and we had to order a different one. One more thing to add was the music was really loud. There were lots of couples there for romantic meals listening to loud music you would find in a wild west bar.

We found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant.

We wont be returning. What was good value and romantic isn't now. We left thinking we wished we had stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xCVarneyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Assistant Operations Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear C Varney

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city,
we appreciate you giving us your feedback as it is only through this that we can continually strive to improve the Mal experience.
I am sorry to read that you found us sadly lacking, and I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter further with yourself so I can personally look into your concerns, please be assured that this is not the usual standard of service that we aim to deliver here at Mal. Please contact me directly on 0161 278 1000 or croutledge@malmaison.com where I can hopefully restore your faith back into Mal Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Malmaison in Manchester. Overall the stay was fine but the double room we were given was compact and needed some aligity to get pass one side of the double bed! This is the shame because the first time we stayed the room was fine.

Apart from the size of the room the hotel is fine. Great location opposite Piccadilly Railway Station - the city is within easy walking distance and the metro trams run nearby.

The hotel is clean and tidy, the service from staff was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AggyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed for Valetnines day as a couple in the 'Best Suite', with being a receptionist myself at another hotel I had high expectations for the evening.
We arrived and waited in a que, whilst waiting to be served we were given no acknowledgment whilst waiting, check in was quite 'standard'.
The room itself was the best room ive ever stayed in, and certainly turned my night around when I seen that the housekeeping had made lovely gesture by placing rose petals on the bed and in the bath tub, the champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries were amazing!!
We had made a reservation for the hotel restaurant, I did ask the receptionist on duty for a menu to be brought up to the room, an hour passed and I had to ring back down for the menu again, it seemed like there was a set menu and there was nothing to our fancy so we decided to eat out.
When returning from our night out we had realised that we left our key in the room, and was waiting again at reception for 15 minutes for someone to acknowledge us in the end I asked a waiter from the bar to get someone to serve me.
In the morning we had ordered a champagne breakfast to be brought up to the room, when it arrived I was very disapointed there was no mushroom, or tomatoes or beans which is quite unusual for a full english, aswel as it being only a small proportion, no sauces were brought up and no salt or pepper neither, but did not want to ring down mithering as it would of been cold by the time they brought it up anyways.
Overall It was the room that really made our night, as it was honestly an amazing room! check out the following morning the girl on reception was lovely and let us have a late checkout aswel as look after our luggage whilst we did a bit of shopping.
For what I payed which was over £300 I wasnt compleley satisfied, I would return to the hotel only if i got a good deal on the rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed just for one day in mid feb and found the hotel really nice and the room was good to,ye breakfast very expensive and u don't get much asked for the "large breakfast" it came with 1 sausages 2 bacon one medium size mushroom,tomato and two poached eggs which I asked to be runny and they were not they were very watery,also the beer at the bar needs sortin out I had to send my larger back as there was no life in it especially when u pay 4.75 for a pint
Had a good stay thou

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philcerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Visited the Malmaison in Manchester for a birthday weekend, the staff were super lovely in arranging for an early check in at short notice so I must give praise and thanks for that.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, facing an alleyway, which was fine...obviously not a 'room with a view'.

The room, on the surface was fine, double bed, tea and coffee making facilities, bathroom with shower over bath, all fine. What was however plainly obvious was the lack of "deep cleaning" in the room, the bath had mouldy grout on the tiles and the floor had been cleaned and mopped fleetingly but the corners and edges were filthy and hadnt seen a mop in some time, there was toothpaste sprickle up the mirror frame from previous guests and the mirror itself higher than head height hadnt been cleaned in a while...I guess, given the price of the room, i expected it to be sparkly clean...but other than that the room was fine and the stay was lovely, there was a bit of noise but that was to be expected in the city centre on a weekend, though the window seal was broken so everything seemed a bit louser, like the window was ipen, but it was fine.

Parking nearby was £15 per night unless you were happy to have a it of a walk and park in an unsecured place which was £6.50 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vix-Nix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Assistant Operations Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Vix-Nix

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mal Manchester on your recent visit to the city,
we appreciate you giving us your feedback as it is only through this that we can continually strive to improve the Mal experience.
I am sorry to read that you found us sadly lacking, and I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter further with yourself so I can personally look into your concerns, please be assured that this is not the usual standard of service that we aim to deliver here at Mal. Please contact me directly on 0161 278 1000 or croutledge@malmaison.com where I can hopefully restore your faith back into Mal Manchester.

Yours Sincerely

Craig Routledge
Assistant Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 120 in Manchester
1,721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £86 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing