We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel would be ideal for a new couple, or those looking for a romantic gettaway. The decor is designed for that purpose, with its black, reds & pinks.

The room we were given, had no view, it faced a wall. I rang reception & they immediatley found us a different room. We were very pleased.

They had a cosy bar and resturaunt.

There were plenty facilities in the rooms. The staff were helpful & polite.

Its located close to other resturaunts, shops etc

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view so that you dont get put down the side where most rooms face a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahfox0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased that you had an overall positive experience and that the initial problem with the room was quickly resolved. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Isobel Rigby
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    798
    361
    171
    103
See reviews for
137
1,082
86
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here for one night only, on business. After arriving late in the evening after a long journey from London, I was delighted to be greeted with an upgrade to an executive room. Excellent tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a luxurious bathroom with great toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and, all in all, the room gets my top marks. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for breakfast. The food was of decent enough quality, but the service terribly slow. The main course had to be ordered (not good if you are working to time) and the tea and toast, too, had to be requested. The usual story these days of not enough staff to cover a large dining room.

I'd go back - but I'd make sure that I got up earlier for breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SpecialAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that the breakfast service let down what seemed to be an otherwise positive stay. I will addres the issue with the Restaurant Manager. If you do decide to stay again, please contact me directly on 0161 2781000 and I'll happily look after all aspects of your reservation personally.

Kind regards,

Isobel Rigby
Duty Maager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on our wedding night and the service was second to none. The suite was beautiful, we had champagne and flowers on our arrival. The staff really made us feel special and couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldock31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

How lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Many congratulations on your recent marriage! Maybe we'll get the opportunity to welcome you back for your first anniversary.

Kind regards,

Isobel Rigby
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We've stayed here before a few years ago and really enjoyed it so thought we would give it another go. We were a little apprehensive with some of the recent Poor reviews posted on here
but we went with open minds and a positive approach.

Fantastic location for reaching everything quickly in Manchester centre. Check-in was warm and welcoming; few issues with our first room but we were quickly moved so no real problem there. The main highlight for me was the shower. OMG! It was amazing. I could have stayed in there all day but got concerned for the planet after about 5 minutes!!

Few little niggles to report but nothing really major:-
* Lighting in the bathroom could have been a lot better as my husband struggled to see himself shaving and I struggled apply my make-up
* Bed was very very firm...in fact, I would say hard so I could not have lasted much longer than 2 nights
* Breakfast on day one was very poor...first it was very undercooked so we sent it back only to have it returned burnt to a crisp. Not great.

On the whole, Malmaison do really care about their customers and were very quickly to act on certain issues. We felt well looked after and would like to return again in the near future.

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I will certainly raise the issues you have mentioned with the appropriate head of department. I am very pleased however that any issues you did have were responded to and quickly resolved. And if you visit again, treat yourself yo an extra five minutes in the shower. . I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Kind regards,
Isobel Rigby
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is my first time staying at part of this chain. I was very much looking forward to my stay as we were there to see Bruce Springsteen.

We weren't disappointed. I suppose it's fair to say we didn't spend much time at the hotel, however the facilities were good, clean and modern. We did try to get some food at the hotel after the gig but were told the kitchens were closed and we were directed to a Subway up the road.....

The room was lovely with a massive bed and the shower facilities were superb. I would recommend this hotel for staying centrally in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable time and I hope you enjoyed the concert. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you are thinking of visiting again. I'm sure you'll enjoy exploring the other Malmaison hotel's too.

Kind regards,

Isobel Rigby
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in the Malmaison in Manchester in May 2012, and found it to be very good. the service was great , the staff friendly and helpful, and after reading a few negative comments about the restaurant make-over we were very impressed with the result . The only minor fault we found was that the area where the elevators are was very dark, and as an oldie this was a nuisance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59TRISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your review. I see that you had come quite a distance to be with us! I'm glad you had a great time even if the dark ambience wasn't to your liking. I hope you had a safe journey back to New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Isobel Rigby
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Fantastic hotel, excellent quality and rooms of a very high standard. Drinks a bit expensive but go out the hotel and theres plenty of bars.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoopyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad that the style of the hotel was to your liking. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you wish to book again.

Kind regards,

Isobel Rigby
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing