We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, swanky and nice little touches....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chic, swanky and nice little touches....”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed here for my husbands birthday in a standard room. Our welcome was warm and friendly. The room was very classy. No street noise which was good for a city center hotel on the 2nd floor. Loved the little extras like the toiletries, tea ad coffee etc. Free wi-fi, DVD player so make sure you take some DVD's, snacks, mini bar... there was everything you needed and the chic decor made it feel like somewhere really special. Air con a tad noisy and I suppose a bit of mould was round the shower area but you could hardly notice the mould as the shower knocked your socks off.
Breakfast in the Smoak restuarant was excellent, spoilt for choice and really recommend it even if you are not staying there. It was really good.
Check out was pain free and they couldn't do enough for us. Offering to validate parking and hold luggage. First class customer service. Really looking forward to going back.
** One complaint - £8.50 for a glass of wine in the bar is a little rich for my blood, take a bottle with you **

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    822
    380
    174
    106
See reviews for
143
1,136
90
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times, both for business and on a weekend away.

The first thing to say is that the service is excellent, very friendly and helpful staff - the iron in my room was broken and was replaced in 10 minutes, room service within 15 minutes and an iphone charger in 10 mins as well.

Try to get a room not facing the street, as the Manchester party crowd can be a little noisy.

The bar is good, if a little busy and noisy. The breakfast was also really good - good value at £14.95.

The rooms are a little dark for me, (like all Malmaison rooms), but they are a decent size.

All in all, a good hotel with excellent service - just a little pricey for Manchester.

Room Tip: Not facing the station/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameronTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel location was spot on, reception staff very helpful and accommodating rooms were ok, now the bar staff, rude rude and rude, waiting for a waiter is like watching paint dry, when aventually we got a drink I,d lost the will to live, paying the bill was even worse.... Please take my money! The young looking guy behind the bar repeatedly kept on ignoring me! Eventually when I told him very firmly I was leaving,with a face like he was going to cry took my money.....plenty other good hotel in Manchester that want my custom .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grinding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here on 31/08 in an executive room through secret escapes. The room was great and staff really friendly. We ate out at night but we had breakfast included which was divine. My wife had the waffles which I wish I had when I saw them and I had the big mal breakfast both were excellent Would defiantly stay again

Helpful?
Thank bennyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

i stayed here overnight while seeing Iron Maiden at the MEN arena, the staff were very helpful, and barely grumbled while we propped the bar up till 4am, they even played out choice in music and brought us snacks of olives etc every now and then. The Hotel is fairly central, and the MEN was about 10 mins walking distance. The only grumble i had was parking - as they don't have their own car park i used the nearest multi story which was literally 100 yrds away... and was told the hotel would stamp my ticket, i thought this meant free parking, but it didnt and cost around £15. I can't comment on as i didnt use any hotel facilities and barely used the bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatroutedisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We had one night here when coming up to Manchester to see The Killers. Loved the room and all facilities. Staff were very friendly.
Breakfast was disappointing however - quality of food was good but the cooked food obviously sat on the hot press for too long and service was slow. We had to ask for toast four times and in the end go and ask for it at the desk! A one off I hope.
All in all however it is a fantastic hotel and I would stay again no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJT_9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed at the Manchester Malmaison with my girlfriend whilst seeing Elbow in concert at Jodrell Bank. The location was great, a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly station, and Piccadilly Gardens is 5 minutes in the other direction.

The room was very comfortable - the bed was massive! The en suite was great as well, with an amazing shower. Room very clean.

The biggest plus was the service. We arrived back at the hotel at 2am completely soaked by a Manchester downpour. The receptionist welcomed us back and we got chatting. After telling him about our disastrous journey back from the concert he offered us a free night cap at the bar! Not only that but he offered us a late check out and breakfast delivered to the room... brilliant!

The only slliiiight downside was my cooked breakfast was disappointing and quite small for the price, I've had heartier breakfasts! Having said that I have allergies to eggs and nuts so perhaps they were being over-cautious with some of their ingredients. Other places have given me replacements (extra sausage or something) when I can't have certain things, though.

Overall, a classy place which was very comfortable. It's the little things that quite often make a place, and the service received by the receptionist at night will live long in the memory.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing