We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #33 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had to be in Manchester for a course and looked for a reasonable hotel in close proximity of the railway station. I booked a Wine and Dine package for an overnight stay. The room was on the third floor. I was surprised to have a lovely Executive room with large bathroon, along with very nice quality dinner. Will stay again. A lovely experience. The only minor downside was I could not get the Wifi work but this was sorted after a couple of phonecall.

Room Tip: Executive rooms very nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    796
    360
    171
    101
See reviews for
136
1,080
86
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We were diverted to Manchester on the train in all the snow last Friday (18th Jan). After a 6 hour train journey and still way from home we decided to abort the Virgin Rail hospitality and, being 10.00pm, check into Malmaison which is 200 meters from Piccadilly station.
The reception procedure was quick and simple and our options and rates were clearly stated. We chose an executive room (newly refurbished) at £120.00. We had no toothbrushes and they were provided FOC.
The restaurant served until 22.45, so we dropped off our gear in the room and headed down for what turned out to be a delicious meal (They major on steaks and the choice is wide).
The room was very comfortable as was the bed - Pillows were a little soft and low for my liking but to be fair, I am fussy and often travel with on of my own!
We checked out at 11.00 and were home for 12.30. No hassle.
I was £230.00 poorer and I doubt if Richard Branson will compensate me but Malmaison didn't disappoint - They're consistently good!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toastless
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I have just checked out of the Malmaison in Manchester. I've stayed there before and never had a problem with anything in the past. I have to admit I was happy with the service I received on check in and the room gave me no cause to complain but unfortunately my night's sleep was disturbed by the phone in the room ringing at 5.07am. I planned to mention this upon check out but I wasn't even asked how my stay was! I think I find the lack of that most important of questions even more annoying than the phone waking me up.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toastless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, Cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Another great stay at The Manchester Mal, we return again & again (quite a few times a year!) and can't fault the hotel. Great staff, we arrived early - got early check in, drinks in the bar area are relaxing and the bar service is always brilliant! Regardless of the time of day or the day of the week, it always seems busy. Meal was lovely, service during the meal great. Will be back for our next stay very shortly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyHols024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel itself has a boudoir feel to it, with luxurious soft furnishings and modern dark coloured interior design. The reception staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble and they offered services such as checking train times before we'd even asked. The room was not massive, but it had the most comfortable king size bed I've ever slept in. I liked the tongue-in-cheek approach to notices, such as "we dare you" to take the toiletries home! We were on the top floor and the room was extremely quiet.

As for food - we couldn't get a table for dinner on the Saturday night as they were fully booked, but we did book the £20 Sunday brunch which gave us a free late check-out. The food was truly awesome, with a "buffet" that looked and tasted like a top-notch delicatessen counter, live cooking of specific dishes (omelettes, waffles and crepes on this occasion), and cooked-to-order mains and desserts. I suggest you come hungry, take your time to enjoy the quality and quantity of food on offer, and don't plan on having dinner that day!

Room Tip: The top floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

LOCATION
Excellent - 2 minutes from station and Piccadilly Gardens

ROOMS
Smart if starting to show their age after a few years.
My double was a little small but OK for a city centre hotel and the price I paid (£79 room only for a Friday night - good value).
Very comfy bed, warm even in sub-zero temperature, tea and coffee making, security safe.
Nice bathroom with bath as well as shower, and huge bottles of shampoo and body wash which they encourage you to take home. A great touch as these are normally so small.

Free wifi.
Sky sports channels on flatscreen TV although few other channels.

Main criticism is there is way too much marketing in the room - leaflets, pop-up cards and menus everywhere + bottle of wine by the bed, snacks by the TV. I find this really intrusive and the Malmaison is the worst offender I've seen.

SERVICE
I had little to do with the staff but they were pleasant and quick enough.
I didn't take breakfast here as so many coffee shops and cafes nearby.
The bar and breakfast room looked pleasant and large enough.

Public areas have that dark/velvet look that is quite soothing but does have a slight strip club ambience.

FACILITIES
There is a gym I've used before - very small but looks out on the canal which is unusual!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

The Malmaison restaurant is a modern, sleek, interesting place with a good selection on the wine list, the bar is pleasant and the restaurant offers a wide range of food with a twist. Not the best the restaurant in Manchester but certainly worth a visit. The hotel is centrally located for city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing