We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer hotels in Manchester for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nicer hotels in Manchester for the price!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with some friends for a birthday and the rooms were not cheap so I was expecting good things. Was quite disappointed with how small the room was barely space to walk around the bed. I have stayed in Manchester a lot and think there are much nicer hotels for the money this cost.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    822
    381
    174
    107
See reviews for
143
1,137
90
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed recently 3 nights at the hotel with my brother .

we stayed there as a package for one of the United games.
The hotel is located very close to the train station , rooms were nice , breakfast good , room service was little slow , but would stay again at this hotel if I come to Manchester.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsraelPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I booked a 2 day stay at the Mal as a birthday treat. This was our second stay at this hotel and like the 1st stay we were very impressed and happy with everything.
Our top floor room was very spacious and looked out onto the approach to Piccadilly Station, which was great for having a wee nosey at all the hustle and bustle below. Even though we looked out onto a main street we didn't hear any noise, which was great. A great nights sleep was had on both days.
I ordered the continental breakfast to our room on the 1st morning. It arrived in a lovely wicker basket and contained everything we wanted. Special mention for the Yogurt/granola/fruit pot which was absolutely superb! The second morning we had breakfast in the restaurant and this too was superb, great cooked selection to choose from.
We had dinner on the 1st night which was great, tasty and cooked to perfection.
All in I'd recommend The Malmaison to anyone who likes things a wee bit different to the norm 'boring' hotels. The staff are helpful/friendly. The rooms are stylishly decorated with that boutique feel. And the location is perfect for anyone wanting to explore the great city or for that special night out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britvic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

It is brilliantly handy for trains coming into Manchester Piccadilly, and the excellent Metro and many buses are 5 mins walk round the back in Piccadilly Gardens. Reception was speedy and friendly and our (upgrade) room - B&B £143 - was very comfortable. The breakfast was good with excellent service, however (my mistake!), don't have the kipper - salty, fishy and yellow, but not much other connection with the real thing. The decor is "modern" and smart. The restaurant is in the style of a warehouse with metal tables, steel beams and exposed ventilation ducts. The dark, gothic feeling in the hall and lifts, with dark red and black, and pools of light made me feel I needed a torch to go from pool to pool. The wardrobe was so "modern" in style that it was difficult to work out where it was and how to get in. Notices and literature with continual puns on "Mal" and other witticisms may wear you down. This style may now be a bit passe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We booked to stay for 1 night and stayed for just under 2 hours! Having stayed in July 2012 I thought the hotel would be a good choice. I booked the malmaison as birthday treat for my partner. On arrival we were upgraded from a superior double to an executive double. The room was small and noisy as there was a pub on the street below we could have probably ignored this but the mattress which was lumpy and uncomfortable.No chance of a good nights sleep here. I requested another room and was shown a supposedly better room which needed hoovering and the decor looked tired. I then upgraded for an additional £50 to a corner suite which I was assured by the reception staff would suit my needs as this was a special stay for my partners birthday after all. I quickly looked round the room and agreed to take it and paid the extra. On further inspection of the room with the main lights on it was filthy, there were unpleasant stains on the sofa ( i tried not to think too much into their origin) there were marks all over the side tables and headboard. I once again contacted reception who offered to "spruce it up" for me but at this point we had had enough and requested a full refund and left the hotel. We went over the road to the Abode and had a fantastic stay.We will not be returning to the Malmaison.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jul1eB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at the Malmaison for my wife's birthday: a combination of spa visit, theatre and an overnight stop. The hotel is very pleasant and in a brilliant location for railway station and all the attractions of city centre Manchester. The rooms were good, albeit small, and the spa was, apparently, a fantastic experience. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for 1 night which at 140 per room you would expect a lot? We didn't!

Tuesday:

Took 20 minutes to take food order, then 40 for it to arrive, no apology, no check back. Had to find waiter myself to pay!

Rooms were very dirty indeed, thick dust on top of TV areas, wasn't fresh dust either, cracked mirror hidden by a lamp! Broken tv screen, dirty tiles and worst of all the pillows were horrendous! Worst night sleep. Small and poky. Get more room in the Travelodge!

Asked for milk from room service...never arrived!

Wednesday:

Loud house keeping then saw them sat in the floor talking!

Checked out with some miserable young girl who obviously didn't want to be there. No name badge to get her name. Didn't ask how stay was.

Overall: Good location, Malmaison has dropped it's standards significantly and NEEDS to sort it's pillows out!!! Not worth the room rate at all and cleanliness needs to be addressed!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andynextgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing