We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and quiet although we didn't stay on the front of the hotel. They are average hotel rooms.

Receptionist was alright, barman was excellent, breakfast was a bit of mix up which took a whilebtonaort out.

Location was in easy walking distance of centre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01606889455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    822
    380
    174
    106
See reviews for
143
1,136
90
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I am staying here right now!!!!
I love the hotel but the bar was very disappointing tonight!
Even when the bar staff knew I was a resident they still persisted in presenting me with a bill when I ordered each drink - very uncomfortable!

I will come back but if the service is so poor, I will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theWrightster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here with my friend last Saturday, it is a 5 minute stroll from Piccadilly station, excellent location.

The room was amazing, comfy beds, lots of room, tea and coffee, bottled water, funky bathroom with lots of shampoo etc, not your normal tiny bottles !

We had a spa treatment each which was great, the massage chairs were highly addictive, we didn't use the gym or other facilities though.

We had lunch at the hotel, which was quite pricey, the wine was good but very expensive.

Taxi rank right outside the hotel which was handy as it was raining when we went for our night out.

Breakfast was really good, we had the full English, plenty of tea and coffee,

Check in and check out very easy and smooth.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 333, not the best view but quiet and easy to remember after a night out lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just come back from a short stay at Malmaison and it wasn't bad but it wasn't brilliant either.

Arriving at Piccadilly Station, turn right and the hotel's only about 5 minutes walk away. The staff on reception were naturally very welcoming so it was a good start. As we'd arrived early, our rooms weren't ready so we settled down for a few cocktails at the bar by the entrance to the hotel. The reception started to get quite busy and we noticed a hen party take up the majority of the space. How did we know it was a hen party? Well, because the bride-to-be was holding a large pink inflatable, five feet, urm, part of the male anatomy. Now we found this quite amusing but quite honestly, it wasn't really quite the thing to appear in the reception of a supposedly smart hotel - it was also lucky there were no kids around. We were surprised that no-one asked them to be a bit more discrete but hey ho, just a minor gripe!

Our rooms were pretty good though.

Bathroom - large, clean, black and white, big mirror,(yes, it was kitted out for a disabled guest (one small handrail by the toilet) but quite honestly, I'm surprised by a earlier reviewer complaining about this. We thought the bathroom was nicely designed and certainly wasn't pokey or 'unromantic'. It also had a good strong shower, conditioner, plenty of good quality towels, shower gel, soap, cotton buds, cotton wool pads, body lotion, shower cap - all good quality. However, there was no make-up mirror, the room was badly lit and, for some reason, the bath controls were outside of the bath (behind the shower screen) which meant you had to get out of the bath to add more hot water. Not ideal.

Bedroom - large, comfortable, firm bed. Tea/coffee-making facilities. Large TV, ipod speaker, dressing table, hairdresser. All well-equipped and good quality. Again, though, the room was very dark and if you wanted to use the side lights for reading, it was impossible to see a thing. We also got a complimentary newspaper (The Independent)

Insulation - despite the presence of a couple of hen parties (and what looked like a stag party!) we didn't hear a thing all night and were really impressed by the sound insulation.

Breakfast - absolutely brilliant and that's no exaggeration. The staff were wonderful - very friendly and very efficient, natural smiles and no sycophancy - just naturally friendly. Breakfast is cooked to order and for an hotel to do that nowadays is pretty rare. A full English consisted of eggs of your choice, sausage, good quality bacon, black pudding, tomatoes, mushrooms. Prior to this you can help yourself to fruit juice (orange or pink grapefruit), granola, fruit, creamy muesli, cereals, pastries, bread. We were very impressed with the quality.

Communal areas - bars and reception. I guess some people would call them trendy but quite frankly, we didn't feel that this was the case. Although the furnishings were in good condition, the general decor looked very 1990's and dark, dark, dark. I reckon it's time that Malmaison reinvented itself a bit - time to open the windows and let some light in!

Staff - absolutely brilliant, without exception. All very charming, very informative, very friendly and very welcoming. Couldn't fault any of them - waiting staff, reception, housekeeping.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have just returned from one nights stay here. Following recent reviews on Trip Adviser we had some reservations about it, but the reason for our stay was that we had been offered a favourable rate from the DGM at Oxford, following an unsatisfactory visit to Oxford  late last year.
I am very pleased to report that we had an excellent stay in Manchester.
Check in was very quick, with a friendly member of staff. Check out on Sunday was also very quick.
Our room 420 was quite compact, as was the bathroom, but it was perfectly comfortable.  The usual generous supplies of lotions etc in the bathroom.
The bed was also incredibly comfortable and we both slept really welll.
As others have commented on here, our room was in need of some refurbishment (stains on the carpet and dirty marks on paintwork).
There was also a fair bit of noise audible when people were in the corridor outside, and some noise from the street too. (The latter was less of an issue once the curtains were drawn.) 
I also found the dark colour scheme in the rooms and communal areas a little oppressive.
I requested some fresh milk immediately we got to our room and this arrived within 5 minutes.
Breakfast was excellent, the usual fantastic quality you get at all Malmaison or Hotels du Vin. The management have clearly taken note of recent criticisms on this site, as there were an awful lot of staff serving and breakfast arrived incredibly quickly! 
Other than breakfast we didn't avail ourself of any of the hotel's facilities as our stay was so short. The bar certainly looked like the place to be on Saturday night! 
I must agree with someone that commented on here about the fresh meat that is stored in the dining area immediately behind breakfast items. I am not a vegetarian, but it wasn't really a sight I wanted while having breakfast! (Perhaps a screen /blind could be placed in front of it then?)
We parked in the Chatham Street car park as recommended and received a 15% discount. As the hotel is just moments away from Manchester Picadilly station, it's certainly worth considering taking the train.
Our visit has reinforced our faith in the brand and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Today I had a business meeting in this hotel. As it was the start of a big and important project we decided to have lunch in the Malmaison Restaurant. We each ordered a salad. The portions were so tiny than when they were brought to us we called the waitress back to ask her if this was the starter size or full size, they weren't !!. We each had a bottle of water the total bill was just over 100 pounds, (There were 5 of us) a hell of a lot for a starters size portion of salad and a bottle of water. We definately won't bother again. Most expensive lettuce ever!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days. The breakfast was included in the rate and was very good! The hot portion of the meal was made to order which is not seen to often in my travels.

Lobby and bar are very inviting and comfortable. I ended up eating at the bar one night and the hamburger was really good, reminded me of a "gourmet" burger in the US.

The room was dressed in dark furnishings and tile, carpet etc.. Bed was really comfortable and the internet was good.

Location was good with plenty around.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbie_JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing