We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and plush rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location and plush rooms”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of Manchester close to the main train station and all of the key attractions. We booked an executive room, although I was left wondering what the difference was to the standard bedrooms. The rooms are all well appointed and very comfortable with little touches including toiletries.

It was the restaurant that let the hotel down, the evening meal was served cold and two dishes had to be sent back to be re-heated / made again. At breakfast, part way through we all stood up to get some more food and came back and they had cleared the table. We had to ask for all of the food again. The food at both dinner and breakfast (when the right temperature) was lovely and in all honesty I would eat there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    833
    383
    174
    107
See reviews for
146
1,151
90
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

from the moment we arrived the receptionists were fantastic! Really nice people! Room was very good, little small for an executive but it felt really nice. Thought the bed was a little too firm however slept right through to 11am which I never do so it could not have been that bad!
Did not eat evening meal or breakfast there so I cannot comment.
Bit confused by the bar and how you get served when it's busy but eventually got the hang of it. One of the bar staff lady with dark hair was a little rude to one of the guests and forgot to list our first round of drinks but this was the only negative. The guys behind the bar and the blonde lady were fantastic!
I did not want to leave and could easily have stayed!
The late check out is a great idea....

Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Really impressed the minute I walked in with the decor and the ambience. Was dealt with at reception promptly and the room was great, not too big, spotlessly clean, luxuriously furnished too. The shower was amazing and I was impressed with the wifi, iPod docking station and the tv. As was my partner!!! Breakfast was a great selection and we both left with full tummies. Good value as well. Since staying here we have stayed at another Malmaison and again the standard was just as good.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 107leannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I like Malmaison. I've stayed a few times now and always find my stay enjoyable. My only thought is the dark neo-gothic style can be a bit overbearing and on occasion I have opted to go somewhere lighter, more airy when I go to Manchester. Good location too 3-5 mins walk from the station and the rest on Manchester at your feet.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ibeenthereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have stayed here frequently in the past. I choose it because its close to Piccadilly station. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food in the restaurant is tasty and the other guests are often a treat for people watchers. When I arrived I wanted to order room service but my phone wasn't working. I went down to reception to report this and then decided to eat in the restaurant instead, which turned out to be a good idea. I did have a problem with my room (which had huge windows) being directly opposite a huge flashing neon billboard which was on all night. There were black-out curtains but they couldn't block it completely. Rooms at the back don't have this problem. My only real complaint about this hotel is that the lighting at reception is so low that you can't read any of the documents you get when checking in or checking out. Bring a torch to get you over that awkward moment.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

my wife and I attended a business function overnight and were guested by our hosts at this venue
The service was terrific with very helpful attentive and cheerful staff .
We very much enjoyed the room and the furnishings and décor.
Breakfast was good and well served

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First of all, the reason I gave this place a 1 is the fact that they left a dirty towel hanging on the bathroom door. That's not a nice "welcome to your executive room". I have proper OCD about cleanliness and just think that's disgusting. I could have thought it was clean and accidently used it. You can catch all sorts from dirty towels :P!!

To be honest the whole room was below average on the cleanliness front. The bed sheets were discoloured and the room was dusty with various stains. It was just really tacky and not luxurious as expected from the brand. The room was also tiny. I had upgraded the room for extra space so I dread to think how small the standard rooms are.

The only real plus point is the location, it's right next to the train station and everything seemed to be in walking distance. The restaurant was pretty good too.

Overall, I won't be staying here again. I think that the most important thing in a hotel is cleanliness and if that's not up to scratch then it's just not good enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u34sm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 118 in Manchester
1,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing