We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #33 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,772 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just had extremely pleasant stay at Malmaison. Hotel is in a very central location. Nice bathrooms with generous toiletries. Reception staff were delightful. Bedroom had lack of sockets and only 1 bath towel. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    786
    359
    171
    98
See reviews for
133
1,061
84
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good hotel
swift service from check out girl.
Breakfast was 50/50, not sure i would pay extra for it next time
hotel needs updating but i like the brand in general
drinks in the bar are expensive, but nice ambiance



Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I visited the MalMaison in Manchester for an event and stayed overnight in one of their 'Room, dinner and cocktail for 2 for £99'. Rooms were very nice and clean, ordered some ice and robes to the room which were promptly brought up. We were allowed to check out at 12 so no rushing in the morning made for a nice weekend.

The only niggle was the iron in the room was broke which I actually forgot to report as I was in a rush ironing my shirt to go out and there was too big a queue to report it to reception.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you look online for a decent hotel in Manchester most of the chain hotels look pretty grim. I found Malmaison from a few travel blogs and it looked interesting so gave it a go. If travelling by train as we were the location is excellent - about 5 mins walk from the station. On entering the lobby you are struck by how "non-hotelish" it is - the bar and restaurant snake away to your left and look just like a neighborhood venue - colorful, busy and warm. The restaurant is excellent with its unique Josper Charcoal Grill turning out perfectly cooked steaks. My superior double room was on the 5th floor and was excellent with very large bathroom with walk in shower, nice big high bed and excellent furnishings. A really great nights sleep after a fantastic meal downstairs. My sort of hotel when there is no need to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My business trip to manchester was incredibly fun albeit short and definately not all play. I stayed at the Malmaison after a lengthy drive up from london and was greeted at reception and found it to be a very stylish lobby. It felt dark and moody and quite forboding. In such a way that I really liked that it had atmosphere. It would feel jazzy and trendy at night, with the bar being close to the lobby and during the day, quite a different space to find yourself in than open air, white walled hotels.

I found the Malmaison to be a great stay. I find the rooms are spacious, well designed.. lots of pillows and clean. Sleeping at a Malmaison is a goodnight's rest and would find it hard to say a bad thing about it!

Location is excellent too, being in central Manchester, so I do recommend people going there if they are working central!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a conference. Nice look to the hotel, quite dark at first when you get in but you can see the look they are going for. Friendly staff at check in, minimum fuss. Rooms are modern, beautiful bathrooms and an easy place to spend some time after a long day. I didn't use the hotel bar or restaurant, but my colleague did who said the food was good, and because of a mix up in the kitchen meaning it took a long time to come, it was taken off of his bill which was a nice touch.

Would stay again when in Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC88273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

It's been a while since in stayed at the Mal in Manchester. About 4 or 5 years ago it was my first choice of hotel in the city, and I was a regular at least every other week – as I work there quite frequently. Since then I've tried out many different options in Manchester, as it's always good to have alternatives and Plan B’s!
I decided to return as there were some good prices for the date I wanted to stay, it's hugely convenient for Piccadilly station and also a great choice for Manchester Apollo where I was working that night! it's also an excellent downtown location generally.
I booked an executive room on the fifth floor for £139.00 which was good value for Manchester on a weekend and comfortable. It felt just like slipping back into a familiar environment after a bit of an absence - I was immediately at home and relaxed.
The Mal has definitely perfected the task of designing rooms that are simultaneously contemporary, cosy, comfortable and a bit funky - this one had a slick monochrome colour scheme which I appreciated and some cool photos on the walls adding character to the space.
The room was a reasonable size and had everything I needed for a couple of days, nice furniture, thick velvet curtains, well maintained.
The window was a little small but offset by other assets in the room. The desk space was slightly limited as well - but then I do full up the average desk very quickly. There was an rather cumbersome iPod dock / alarm clock on it which I didn't use and intruded on the space a bit, counterbalance by the phone handset neatly stowed on a wall-mounting bracket.
High thread count cotton sheets, warm duvet and really good sleep quality! the entertainment system was quick and easy to operate.
The bathroom was spacious, well designed with the toilet at the back behind the basin, complete with a full sized bath and the usual range and fragrant Mal toiletries (which have not changed over the years), plus a fully stocked mini bar.
The internet I didn’t get a chance to give a really hammering, but Mal’s were among the first to offer free WIFI as standard, and that’s still the case. It worked fine for Email and web browsing, but my schedule meant I did not need to do any FTP uploads!
I like the public spaces in the Mal - they are discreetly lit without being dingy and a sense of privacy pervades - somewhere you can ensconce yourself and be left alone without being either disturbed or fussed over ... If that's what you want!
On the ground floor is the bar and the Smoak restaurant which I didn't use this occasion, but I have been there recently when not staying at the hotel, and it's really good.
On check out in the morning, I was most impressed that the receptionist remembered me from about 5 years ago - we figured out the timescale because she'd not worked there for 5 years ... and had just started again! As soon as the conversation kicked off, I remembered her. Staff at the Mal seem to have a friendliness that's welcoming and warm but not obtrusive.
So a big thumbs up again from me - I would not pay silly prices for a room there ... BUT it will be the first place I try next time I'm in town which is in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing