We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i had looked into other Malmaison hotels while I was traveling.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just stayed one night, but had great set up by Natasha. When we arrived late after a concert (November 17), Luke and Johnny took great care of us at the bar and gave us tips for late night food.
Highly recommend.
Nice rooms, good shower, good room service. Great breakfast!
Best hotel of a full week in the UK!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 2,653 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Returned to the Malmaison after over 5yrs and have to say the service and quality of hotel remains as I remember.

Rooms are spacious but could do with a bit of a touch up and dusting..

All in all a pleasant stay and a great breakfast!

Didn't try the steakhouse this time round but will on my next visit, the 30 day hung meat looked amazing!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Unicornbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great location for shops and Main railway station. We arrived for a night last Saturday. Staff were friendly and we were able to store our luggage until our room was ready. I was really disappointed with the room. We were given the disabled facilities and although a large room I would rather have had a bath and a proper shower. The bed was large and comfortable. We had problems with the room temperature and this resulted in the room being far too hot. We did ask for someone to look at this and were told it would be controlled by maintenance. The bathroom was very dark as some lights were out and we are still waiting for those to be fixed! I have stayed in Malmaison Hotels before and Manchester is in need of a major refurb. The furniture was chipped and the carpets downstairs to to the toilets were threadbare. I think for £129 without breakfast its not cheap. I wouldnt stay there again as there are newer cheaper hotels with better tripadvisor reviews nearby. Rather disappointed!

Room Tip: If you dont want a disabled room state that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaznles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I booked this trip as part of a Thomas Cook football package because it was close to the Manchester Picadilly train station. It was a very short walk, I'd say two minutes from when we first exit, easily identfiable by the big restaurant sign of The Smoak. Once we got in there, it was dark and loud, a lounge atmosphere, something I haven't been very accustomed to for a long time. It didn't bother me too much, except for the fact that I looked like a college backpacker and everyone else in the restaurant was dressed up for a Saturday evening out. I checked in and got my room on the 2nd floor.

Our room was well equipped, spacious and clean. Lovely rainshower and full size bathtub. A decent sized flat screen tv, refreshments of tea bags, coffee bags, hot chocolate and a tea kettle. A minibar stashed with alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks was also available.

Breakfast was included as part of our package. It was quite decent with an breakfast entree of hot food, drinks including both juice, tea, coffee and unlimited access to the continental breakfast bar of croissants, pastries, and cereals.

For shopping, it is a 10 minute stroll to Arndale shopping centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a base for a company jolly. Everything was clean and tidy and the ambience as good as I remember from 10 years ago when my wife and I spent our honeymoon in Malmaison Edinburgh. Staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay. Don't hesitate in booking this hotel for business, pleasure, or leisure.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Theboywatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Having stayed in the Mal chain in previous locations, I felt the Manchester hotel would be a perfect way to celebrate an anniversary with my partner. Unfortunately this venue didn't live up to my expectations.

To start with the positives, the room was spacious, extremely quiet (even with it facing the front of the hotel) and the shower was heavenly. The reception area and bar seating area was really nice, welcoming and the same dark and moody atmosphere that gives Mal it's signature look. The location is great. It's literally a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly Station and not even a 10 minute walk into the town centre.

To point out the negatives, for me, I could only describe the room as shabby. The walls were severely marked, the furniture was severely scuffed, the bedding - although it was clean - had a very strange smell to it and the bed was clearly broken with a huge dip in the middle of it. The room itself was dusty and felt like it hadn't been used for some time, even though I know this is a popular hotel and I was told upon check in it was fully booked. Normally, small things like this wouldn't bother me as much however the Mal chain isn't cheap. They portray their image as luxury boutique but I wouldn't have described our allocated room as that.

We did eat in the restaurant which was again, very average. I have no qualms about paying for top class food and drink but unfortunately, the food was not great and the bill was very heavy. The tempura fish then pasta that i chose was very tasteless and boring. Perhaps I wouldn't have made the same conclusion if I had chose something different on the menu but I was really disappointed. Same with the wine, for £11 a glass, I would expect something really impressive but I've honestly tasted better from Tesco.

All in all, I wouldn't exclude a different Mal hotel in the future but I would look for an alternative place to stay when revisiting Manchester if I was looking at this kind of price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regina214Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

5 of us paid a visit on a Thursday evening and have to say was very busy. We had to book and advise anyone to do the same.
We had a 3 course meal each,bottle of wine and a few other drinks and it came to £250. I thought it was OK to what we had. Overall everything was OK, only downside was we had to send back the potatoes as they were not cooked properly.
Device was good.
The gents toilets were not of the same standard, they smelt of urine as they do not use fresheners in the buckets.
Don't pee and have a good time :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet Hotel
Velvet Hotel
#10 of 121 in Manchester
1,830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#27 of 121 in Manchester
1,865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: 1-3 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £72 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing