We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky bachelor pad!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #33 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tacky bachelor pad!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to do a long day christmas shopping and stay at a nice hotel. We like a bit of luxury so thought this would be along the right lines. WRONG!

It is so tacky! The main bar is in reception so you can't hear a word if checking in and can't ask any questions either. 2 people outside stood on stilts was random!

We booked the true blue suite. What a con, it has an old mcfc book, and 4 pictures relating to city on the wall. The room is dark and resembled a bachelor pad. Furthermore the soap, shampoo, and all other toiletries have slogans on them relating to sex. It's so tacky.

Also, only a continental breakfast option available on room service. And tea&coffee you make yourself - no fresh coffee available. Hardly luxury!

This hotel isn't awful but it is far from great! I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    796
    360
    171
    101
See reviews for
136
1,080
86
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work, many things were fine - breakfast always good, staff generally lovely, room spec is reasonably high. So what went wrong to earn only average review? Firstly room smelled - very strongly of damp and their attempt to 'fix' it did little. I could have pressed for another room but I was out a fair bit and didn't want to make a fuss. However discovered my clothing had picked up the smell when I got back home! Ended up washing both clean and dirty clothes plus jacket! Second thing was strange anomaly on bill: someone else's room service charge, dated two days before I had even arrived! Anyways, I pointed this out but still took some considerable effort to get a refund - had to explain it to supervisor when receptionist was unable to sort it and initially refused to believe it. Overall it's still a nice place but could do with some refreshment. Brassiere good. Oh yes and third black mark - at least in my book, poor pillows. No neck support. Shame when beds are so comfortable. Bring your own? Probably deserves more than average but not quite 4 stars this time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SciRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here to do some Christmas shopping and wanted a handy location. I have never stayed in a Malmaison property before and was very impressed.

The location of this particular hotel was great ... two minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area.

We found the room to be spacious and very clean and liked the large bathroom. The only downside was applying my make-up as there were plenty of mirrors but the lighting was a little dark.

We did have a couple of drinks in the bar both during the day and then in the evening ... on both occasions there was a great atmosphere and the seating was very comfy and relaxing.

Breakfast was also great with plenty of choices for your hot option.

I have recently stayed at another hotel in the city centre in the last month but found this to be in the best location for commuting and for the shops so would pick this hotel again when returning to Manchester.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Previously I had stayed at the Birmingham Malmaison and found it to be an excellent hotel.Sadly the Manchester one is not in the same league.The reception area is dark and unwelcoming, the staff just appear to be going through the motions.Its December and the only festive clue was a very small mince pie on reception.Meeting rooms ok, bedrooms look tired and in need of a make over.
A positive ,the hotel is located close to Manchester Piccadily Station

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryStorer1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the girlfriends birthday and to visit the christmas markets. The hotels in a good location with an NCP car park located behind the hotel and taxi ranks directly outside. The reception staff will swipe your ticket so you get some discount on the parking. The room was comfy, clean and spacious and in typical Malmaison style. The restaurant was Fantastic. We both had a steak dinner and we were tempted to book and go the following night but too much picking at the markets left us full. Definitely would stay again if ever in Manchester.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossendale
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in April. Loved the decor of this hotel, really lovely friendly staff on reception. I had the Sunday brunch too - really tasty definitely recommend! My room was gorgeous - big comfy bed, really simple yet stylish furnishings. The "take me" products in the bathroom were a really nice touch. I will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We booked into Malmaison for part my partners 40th birthday present, following a trip to the Rugby World Cup. I was incredibly disappointed in the level of cleanliness of the room, the walls in the bathroom clearly had spit marks where previous occupants had brushed their teeth, the mirrors were filthy, exacerbated by the lights that were on them. As we were only staying for a night we didn't bother to complain at that point. We went out for dinner as we were advised the restaurant was fully booked, and had a great meal and excellent customer service that put the Mal's staff to shame.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and were seated in the restaurant, our coffee and toast order was taken and we were advised someone would be back to take our breakfast order. 20- 25 minutes passed and we received no coffee, toast or anyone to take our order, so after having seen the third couple who came in after us receive their coffee etc, I went to complain. The staff were vaguely apologetic and took the order again, so I returned to the table to wait another 5 minutes for coffee. When our breakfast order arrived the chap virtually threw it on the table and muttered whether we wanted any sauces. My partner and I were appalled to be treated this way.

We then went to check out and the chap on the reception advised there would be a supplement to pay for the hot breakfast, at which point I laughed and asked if he was joking following the standard of service we had received.

The hotel stay wrecked what should have been a fantastic celebratory weekend, and I will ensure that I advise people to avoid Malmaison stay's in future so that they are not disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing