We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel is in need of renovation but the staff are very helpful and friendly. The bathroom lighting is too dark to be able to see in the mirror clearly and the towel rail was out of order and missing a part. Great location near the train station and central shopping area but the standard is not as good as other Malmaison hotels. Breakfast was ok but nothing special and the beds are very hard which would suit some people!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlinahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    811
    374
    173
    106
See reviews for
142
1,119
88
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Only had a one night stopover here but a very comfortable one! Really comfortable bed and pillows, wonderful monsoon style shower and gorgeous toiletries. Opted for a continental breakfast in the room which was a great choice and very generous. Breakfast for one was three pastries, preserves, fresh fruit salad, cereal, yoghurt with fruit, nuts and compote and fresh orange juice! Excellent value for money, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaMuriloFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed in a fabulous suite; looked like a mix between modern day cool with a hint of Austin powers. Huge four poster bed, the deepest bath tub I've ever seen, dark sultry atmosphere but with decent tech. Thoroughly recommend it - really friendly staff too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Nikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Having inadvertently left my sunglasses in the bar, I telephoned the recption to see if they had been found. Marianne called me back within 5 mins to say they had been located and were duly dispatched the next day.
Many establishments who would have left a note for the morning shift of cleaners.
Well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doogall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at The Manchester Mal last week - just for a night.

The check in was fast, friendly and efficient and my room was already available, despite getting to the hotel slightly early.

My room was at the back of the hotel and looked over the canal and a building which is being renovated. The room was a good size for a standard room - but I agree with other reviewers that the lighting in the bathroom needs to be much brighter - it's very difficult to even see yourself in the mirror.

The bar is extremely buzzy and has a great atmosphere. It was open very late indeed - and served great cocktails. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was perfect.

Breakfast was good ... a buffet and a menu are available.

The hotel does need a bit of a renovation - especially the area leading down to the toilets from the reception - the carpets definitely need replacing.

The location is fantastic if you arriving by train - as it's literally right opposite Piccadilly Station. Very convenient therefore for arriving / leaving Manchester. And, the shops of Market Street are just moments away - so would be perfect for a weekend stay.

But, overall, I had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay there again - it's much, much better than the one in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The room rate looked expensive when we booked but knowing the location is good and expecting something amazing for the money (and the name) we were looking forward to our stay.
I can see what they are trying to do with this hotel - they want it to be uber cool and stylish but it's all a bit contrived. Hotel bed was rock hard in an extremely average room. Location is great but other cheaper hotels are available.
Breakfast was ridiculous! Not particularly busy and service not very good from very heavy footed staff who appear to have been employed on the basis of their looks only. The food was ok, not great just ok. The menu suggested it might be a bit more delicious but never mind.
When we checked out we were told that we had to pay an extra £4 each as we'd had a HOT BREAKFAST and not continental. We had chosen a higher room rate to include breakfast - **continental only** apparently so watch out for this! £4 extra for having a dry muffin with a puny mushroom and a bit of bacon inside.
Safe to say we won't be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VonPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to do a long day christmas shopping and stay at a nice hotel. We like a bit of luxury so thought this would be along the right lines. WRONG!

It is so tacky! The main bar is in reception so you can't hear a word if checking in and can't ask any questions either. 2 people outside stood on stilts was random!

We booked the true blue suite. What a con, it has an old mcfc book, and 4 pictures relating to city on the wall. The room is dark and resembled a bachelor pad. Furthermore the soap, shampoo, and all other toiletries have slogans on them relating to sex. It's so tacky.

Also, only a continental breakfast option available on room service. And tea&coffee you make yourself - no fresh coffee available. Hardly luxury!

This hotel isn't awful but it is far from great! I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing