We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
Reviewed 1 September 2008

I stayed her with a friend, we were on a girly weekend in Manchester and met some other friends at this hotel. We were treated like royalty from arrival to check out and really enjoyed our stay here. I was disappointed to read other negative reviews and can only say I found the complete opposite.

Check in was efficient and friendly, I instantly felt welcome. I loved the decor and particularly liked the quiet atmosphere in the bar...it was really relaxing and chilled in there despite it being a city centre hotel.

The rooms were spotless with fantastic flat screen tv's and dvd players. Internet access was provided in all the rooms, telephones and hairdryers were available and each room had an iron and iron board, safe, tea and coffee making facitilies and mini bar. T

Luxurious bathroom accessories unique to the Malmaison were provided.he shower was a widehead one and I could have stayed beneath its powerful flow for hours. The bathroom was spacious and well lit. Air conditioning was standard in the room and it was spacious and bright. Room service was available at all times and delivery was prompt and food was very reasonable for the early hour we ordered.

Drinks in the bar were pricy but average for a city centre hotel bar, we were served at our table which was great.

I would stay again, and would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nuttylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    822
    380
    174
    106
See reviews for
143
1,136
90
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

I was introduced to the Manchester Mal Maison by a colleague when it first opened and at the time it was a fantastic experience of style, amazing service and comfort. over the years however it has not dated so well; it is still comfortable and the service stil impeccable but it is looking like a child of the 90s. We go back more for nostalgia than anything and I certainly wouldn't say don't visit, but it's website might give a better impression than you experience.

  • Liked — the really central location
  • Disliked — the lack of parking
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmuk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

In as much as it is possible to attain glossy international glamour in Manchester, this hotel has a red hot go at it.

The shtick is kind of overdone, there is lots of boudoir red and black styling, but this is inoffensively comfortable. The rooms are of good quality, relatively spacious for this sort of thing and the bathroom is cool.

It's pricey, the dining room is pricey, I'm sure the bar is pricey, but the location is not bad, very close to the train station if that's your thing, and only a 5 minute walk to Picadilly, in the middle of town.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toby-Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I have stayed in many malmaison and was disappointed by this one the hotel felt a bit tired and the rooms small.
However the hotel is better than the average hotel and the food was very good.
I would recommend it for someone who needs to stay near Manchester Piccadily train station.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The size of the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 01Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

I stayed here for two nights on business. Staff were very friendly and courteous, room was very comfortable (there was some noice from the next door plumbing but it didn't really disturb us). Free very fast internet in the room was a real bonus.

Food in the restaurant was a bit over priced but well cooked. breakfast was very nice.

Not sure why the address is Bolton - it is right in the centre of Manchester!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank silvertraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2008

I never write reviews but I was really worried about staying at Malmaison Manchester after reading some of the previous reviews and I just had to write to say - how wrong were they!!!!! We had a great time and would definately go back.

We received a warm, genuine welcome from the reception staff who were very happy to help with any queries, directions etc. All the staff we met were normal, friendly, down to earth and approachable leaving us not only with a good impression of the hotel but also the people of Manchester. Our room wasn't ready when we returned from lunch but we were automatically upgraded for our inconvenience - if you can call it that - without having to utter a word. Room service was incredibly speedy. Great location for shops, nightlife, travel to the airport and Trafford Centre really easy even by public transport and for someone who doesn't do trains/ bus normally that's saying something.

If I was being picky then I'd have to agree that maybe its time to start thinking about a refurb but its definately not tatty and it would be a shame if it lost its dark, cosy edge. If you want warm, friendly and welcoming instead of harsh, sterile and flashy then you'll have a great time.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank SazzleSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

As a single business traveler, I found this hotel rather pretentious and the tarts boudior styling will not be to everyones liking...a litany of low level niggles means I wont be back in a hurry!
All black, red and glass, the room was very dusty on all the ledges and mirrors. Black furniture showed all the greasy marks from previous guests. There was numerous hairs on the chairs and carpets. The phone was dirty. The television had a poor picture. The bathroom is a poor design, particulary for shaving - the large sink means you are 2 feet from the mirror and the moody downlights keeps your neck in the shade. The plug didnt release the water and the toilet flush was very weak. Far more serious is the towel rail next to the toilet, on which I burnt my arm whilst using the loo. The bar/ restaurant would not serve me a simple club sandwich, unless I went to me my room to eat it. Not wanting to eat in my room I was led into the restaurant to "lepers row" - the area all the single business men were sat. Nearly 40 minutes wait for a chicken salad - rubish.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Poor design
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ms979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing