We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #32 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Great location two minute walking from the train station. Good and friendly staff. Big size room. The room was absolutely dirty, dusty and a bad smell of deep fried food! No possibility to open the window, was locked and no handle on it! Disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneNewkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Good Afternoon,

As General Manager, I am concerned on reading your review. I would like to discuss this further with you, should you wish to ring me at the hotel.

Jacqui Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,519)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay last minute on Sunday evening. The room was ideal for one night with great service from arrival. A couple of minor issues with the room the plug wouldn't stay in the bath but we called reception and this was fixed within ten minutes. We then went for dinner in the dinner in the restaurant which was amazing. Food and service was fantastic. Would recommend the t-bone. Restaurant is higher priced than average but worth it as service is great and food divine. We then had cocktails in the bar with Again fantastic service ... We would like to mention Marius who was a fantastic bar tender and gave us the extra special service which made our night ! We will come back Again and again just for him. Best service in a bar I have ever had. Great night sleep followed by fresh milk outside the room as ordered. Only problem with this is it had two flies caught in it ... & then the phone wouldn't work to call reception to order fresh milk ! So we had to get dressed and go down to reception. By this time we were ready to leave so we just got take away coffee from over the road. We settled with bill and left very happy customers. Despite the tiny hiccups we will be back Again soon. We are staying in the Liverpool malmaison on the 24th may let's hope the service is as good :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The well located Malmaison in Manchester, combines chic, comfort, with quiet rooms and tasty food - a winning combination. The only point to mar was it was VERY expensive, which may have been because it was a match-day for MUFC, but nevertheless......

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontraveller1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just recently stayed at the hotel.
After reading a few reviews was hoping that we didn't get a room above the bar and we did. Fortunately we couldn't hear a thing so well done on the brick work.
Very courteous at the front desk and had an interest in what we were doing rather than reading from a script.
Rooms were dark (which we knew) and could of done with some extra lighting to help the missus get ready.
Bonus of having Sky Sports channels free to watch.
Service was good at the bar as am a bit of a stickler when it comes to be on waiter service.
Drinks to mouth was within the 5 min time limit. Haha.
Breakfast was good. The sausages wernt proper and had the texture of a hot dog rather than a good old fashioned bangar! Saying that the croissants were delicious.
In all a good hotel. Great location if your getting the train only to Manchester.
Great price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swisst8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Did not stay here but will in the future when in Manchester. We were visiting our daughter in Manchester before we went on holiday and as we got off the train we walked past the hotel. We instantly saw bubbles and wanted to know what was going on. My partner and I walked in and the first thing you notice was the atmosphere. Music was loud, bar was full and the two receptionists were singing and dancing. Yes i did say singing and dancing.

My partner went over to the desk and asked what was going on, the young blonde girl replied saying it was Friday Bubble Time. Cheesey music gets played discount on drinks. He asked if we were allowed to grab a drink and the gentleman replied (still dancing) with 'as long as you dance too?' At that point my partner did. I was so embarrassed but the man did say it made his night and gave us two free cocktail vouchers. Which I might say was lovely of him.

We made our way to the bar and instantly greeted with a lovely welcome from a girl we think was called Helena? (sorry we have been on holiday since) she had this big smile and nothing seemed to much of a hassle. The bartender made me and my partner a mojito and it was fantastic. Loved it and the.... ahem several that followed.

During our stay we were watching the staff and all of them seemed to enjoy working there. The bar staff worked well with each other, very friendly and chatty. Music channel on in the background but no sound, however this was not needed is the music in the hotel was loud and creating an atmosphere. We were sat at an angle where we could see the reception too and have to say the blonde girl and the gentleman seemed to have a lot of fun working together. Having a laugh together and getting the guests checking in involved. Not a typical hotel desk.

We asked our server Helena? (sorry again if not your name) who was behind the desk as my partner and I agreed we wanted to leave a comment. She replied had only been working here a week or so and would find out. Eventually, we got told it was Amy and John.

As much fun as they seemed to have John left around 7ish and we didnt have time to say thanks again for the cocktail vouchers but Amy however was like an energiser bunny kept smiling and went on and on and on.

If all staff are like Amy John and Helena at the Malmaison everyone will leave with a fun memory and a fantastic stay.

Looking forward to our stay at the Malmaison, hoping my partner will arrange this soon.

jennifer

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Overnight stay when attending a concert in the city. We had an enjoyable late lunch in Smoak with good service good food and good wine
Staff are all professional and friendly and the room was excellent
The only downside I have with this hotel is that the mood lighting is very dark probably saves on the cleaning costs but for me it is too oppressive and spoils what is otherwise a very good hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

used the eggs and the city deal on the website, absolutely brilliant. reception staff lovely, attentive, friendly and our waitress was so nice while we ate the best burger ever. we rolled in late and the staff were still on good form. location couldnt be better for town or train station. room was amazing. fallen in love with this place and plan to go back for my anniversary. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywife84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 119 in Manchester
1,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 119 in Manchester
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £84 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing