We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's seen better times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

this hotel is in DIRE NEED of refurbishing! it extremely shabby, broken and dirty. have stayed here thru the years, and has progressively worsened. SAD.
it's too bad because it's in a great area and the staff are friendly and helpful. but seriously, whoever owns this, needs to put money into sprucing it up, it's obviously not been touched in the 15 or so years it's been open. you have a potential gem here and you aren't caring for it, mr. or ms. !! shame,
i won't be staying here again.


the staff and food are fine, but still, NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: ask for the cleanest one they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comments following your visit. I am keen to discuss our plans further with you, if you are able to contact me direct at the hotel.

I do hope we may welcome you back shortly. As a regular, I fully appreciate your feedback and hope we may chat soon.

Kind Regards
Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

When I first stayed in the Malmaison chain of hotels they were a fantastically new style of hotel, very boutique and a pleasure to stay in. Other hotel chains were light years behind in both style and quality. Now days whilst the Malmaison Manchester is still a nice hotel to stay in it is starting to look tired and is showing its age compared to newer boutique hotels which have in the last 10 years have really upped their game and in some case surpassed the Mal and it's dark rooms and corridors.

Room Tip: Don't choose one on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent visit.

I can appreciate your comments,and would be keen to discuss further. As a Mal fan, I am sure you know keen we are to act on your experience.

If you can contact me direct at the hotel, I would be delighted to chat through.

Kind Regards
Jacqui Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times over the last three years and every time i go there i hope that the management have invested some money to get rid of the tired and worn look about this hotel. If you are going to use cloth covered chairs in your restaurant then make sure you keep them clean. There is something unsettling about sitting in a restaurants on stain covered chairs. Shows a lack of care.
In the elevators there are stains on the floor. The carpet on the stairs leading down to the bathrooms from the lobby area are badly worn and that part of the hotel would benefit from a coat of paint.
Stayed in a junior suite and one of the things i have always liked about this chain is the size of the rooms and the choice of room. The bathroom has a great shower set up with hot water immediately on demand.
The hotel's location is very good. Across the street from Piccadilly station and with great access to the city center.
The biggest problem on this last visit was the internet. The connection went down and for 48 hours i was treated to a variety of explanations by different staff members to point where some of them were blatantly lying. I did point this out. No one at the hotel seemed bothered that guests could not access the internet and there appeared to be no urgency around getting is back up and running. Management were completely missing in action.
One good comment about the hotel is that the staff in the lobby bar area and restaurant were very attentive and provided great service.
If you want to put up with the worn down environment that extends to the employees working the reception then this hotel's location will work for you. I am now looking for an alternate hotel for future visits to Manchester.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your detailed account following your recent visit.

There are a number of areas you have highlighted that I would appreciate the time to discuss further with you. If you can contact me direct at the hotel, we can perhaps look to redeem the situation?

Kind Regards
Jacqui Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I got married on a Friday and decided to spend our wedding night in the Malmaison Manchester. I had booked an executive double room and on checking in the lovely receptionist upgraded us and gave us some cocktail vouchers. We got to our room and it was the 'Moulin Rouge' which is a large suite, We couldn't believe our luck it was like being on MTV Cribs. 10 minutes later there was a knock at the door it was a waiter with a complimentary bottle of Champagne. It really made our day even more special. Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff, Will definitely be staying again.
The Stocks

Room Tip: The 'Moulin Rouge' is by far the best room I have ever stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thestocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our second visit as the location is so good. We were given an upgrade at an extra cost but in reality the room was almost identical to the standard one, just had a larger bathroom. The bed was quite hard with solid pillows. The hotel is generally dark due it is black decor and the lighting in the bathrooms is poor, no option to turn the lights up so you can see in the mirror. When we arrived the gentleman concierge was unable to say hello or acknowledge us whilst dealing with another customer. So we waited patiently until someone else arrived and checked us in. Otherwise the rest of the staff were friendly and breakfast was good. A lively bar in the foyer makes it a popular meeting place.

Room Tip: Rooms were well kitted out with kettle, minibar, iron and hairdryer, just not enough plugs and slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Read some of the poor reviews and we can't fault Malmaison.
We, three girlies, were booked on one of the package deals (my 50th birthday gift off my two amazing, fantastic friends) - Exec room, breakfast, evening meal, cocktails and spa treatment. We arrived at 2.15pm and the room wasn't quite ready so the very helpful male receptionist said we could wait in the cocktail bar and could order a free cocktail each to enjoy until our room was ready. Within twenty minutes the room was ready. Our Exec room was in the newer part of the hotel and was well furnished and comfortable. Laura the housekeeper was absolutely lovely, friendly and so helpful - thank you.
We all had a back massage in the Spa which was soooo relaxing.
We had another few drinks, during bubbles time, in the cocktail bar and partook of the sliders (mini beefburgers) as a snack, which were delicious.
The evening meal was superb with plenty of choice from the menu (loved the haddock pate and flat iron steak) and the service was excellent.
Back to the bar after dinner which was busy with a great atmosphere.
We all slept very well - yes, the window didn't open but there was climate control in the room.
Breakfast was amazing - fresh fruit, juices, cereal, yogurts, granola, toast, full English, waffles, kippers, smoked salmon, porridge the list goes on. Delicious.
All in all we had a great time at Malmaison and will definitely book again and recommend it to friends.
Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer part of the building were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldhamMaisieMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The location was brilliant! 2 minutes from Piccadilly station. Hotel itself well, let's say it could have done with a serious Hoover and dust! Rooms were extremely tired and grubby. Bathroom was dark and gloomy. There was 1 plug socket which was a nightmare. Cocktails over priced, for 2 double gin and tonics it was £21.......need I say more?! Would I stay here again? If it was £30 and I had nowhere else to go, then maybe but I definitely won't be rushing back! Sorry malmaison but you've failed to impress me

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairebear1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Claire,

Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate your honesty.

If you are able to contact me direct at the hotel, we can discuss the detail and find a resolve.

My apologies that you did not enjoy your experience this time, but I do hope that we may welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet Hotel
Velvet Hotel
#10 of 121 in Manchester
1,829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#27 of 121 in Manchester
1,863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: 1-3 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £71 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing