We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time I'll stay elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Manchester
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Kent,
Level Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Next time I'll stay elsewhere”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It's been a while since I stayed here and it'll be longer before I go back.

I got the discounted upgrade to a suite (using the on line option) and was quite pleased to get it. However, the sofa in the lounge was covered in dubious stains and even chocolat smears. I don't know how housekeeping missed it and by the look of tthe sofa, missed it for a long time. See photo. The bed spread also had hairs on it as well.

I asked reception to get housekeeping do something about it and when I returned later in the evening found the sofa hadn't been touched but for some strange reason a z bed had been made up in the bedroom. This resulted stubbed toes, grazes etc as the room wasn't big enough for the extra bed.

On checking out I wasn't charged for the upgrade and offered a free upgrade for my next booking, but I won't be back. I think there are better and cleaner hotels in Manchester.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback here.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not get it right. This is not the standard we aspire to. I would be keen to discuss further with you, should you care to contact me direct at the hotel.
I assure you of my full attention.

Kind Regards
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    811
    374
    173
    106
See reviews for
142
1,118
88
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've stayed at Mal Manchester quite a few times, and always loved it. I stayed in November 2013 and wasn't impressed at all, but went again in August 2014 - what a difference! The Reception staff were welcoming and extremely efficient and coped well under extreme pressure (it was exceptionally busy). I was lucky enough to have booked a treatment in the Spa, and the welcome there was excellent, and the treatment utterly fabulous (came very close to beating the massage I had at Palazzo Versace Gold Coast!) The bar staff were friendly, and the champagne cocktails were divine.
My room was beyond wonderful - though I do wish I could have swapped the complimentary toiletries for the shower!! I ate in the restaurant, which was very busy, but the staff were very efficient and attentive, and I didn't wait very long between courses.
What can I say.....if you are looking for a decadent weekend and want to leave all your troubles outside the hotel door with friends or partner then this is definitely the hotel for you. I really cannot recommend it highly enough - and I WILL be back - I am curious about the Romeo & Juliet suite.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the hotel are much nicer and roomier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Malmaison in Manchester was the perfect location for our University re-union weekend. Located close to Piccadilly station it is an ideal venue for people travelling from all over the UK.
Reception staff were warm and welcoming and helped make everything go smoothly. Bar staff are friendly and informative, Check out the range of cocktails on offer- Penicillin comes highly recommended! The rooms are luxurious as is the Breakfast- the eggs benedict and granola are particularly good. Overall this was excellent value for money and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked this boutique hotel for a couples trip to the British Open. This was the biggest city close to where the Open was being played. We were very fortunate because while we were there the USA Olympic basketball team played against the British Basketball team. (It was Olympic time in London). We stayed in a Media suite and really enjoyed it. I booked the package with breakfast included and it was quite a lot of food that was delivered to our room every morning. Everything was in walking distance. The only problem we had was the shower and sink were clogged but they came right away to fix it. We were given full sized bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotion and get this massage oil! Loved it! It was dimly lit which I guess set the mood. There was no valet and that would have been nice. Parking was in a garage next door. I'm not sure we would stay here again. I like plush, luxury. But for my first boutique hotel experience it was really nice. It was in the American Express finest hotels book. We stayed here in July 2012. I selected sept 2013 only because I didn't have any other choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justbeyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The biggest issue with this hotel is it is very dull. The reception, the bar, the restaurant, the lift, the corridor and the bedroom are all poorly lit. If it was a great hotel this may come across as mood lighting or trendy, however, it is not a great hotel and it comes across as dingy and leaves you with a feeling that it may not be very clean. The wifi works fine and is free but it does ask you to register each and very time you use it. The breakfast was pale - everything was just cooked and could have done with another 5 mins in the pan /oven/grill. Staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel has a good location close to Piccadilly Stattion.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HungryTravellerAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Our lighting is indeed "mood lighting", but I appreciate it's not for everyone. It's a shame that you did not enjoy your experience, but should you decide to visit again, please let me know and I assure you of our full attention.

I am delighted that you noticed our excellent team of staff though.

Hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Saturday night, hotel was busy which gave it a good atmosphere. Staff were very polite and friendly. Very handy for Piccadilly station. Room cost £150, and was absolutely tiny. It also looked like it could do with a revamp (bathroom inparticular). I've stayed in the malmaison in Edinburgh, Leeds and Belfast and the room sizes / standards were much better. Bit disappointing. Not sure is return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend had a planned night out in Manchester. So we thought we would make the most of it by treating ourselves to the mal! What a wonderful hotel. Clean, modern and really spacious bedrooms. I would like to say a big thank you to lee on the reception desk he made us feel extremely welcome. I will certainly be recommending this to everybody :)))

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatlor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Property: Malmaison Manchester
Address: 1 Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#31 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing