We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great place for shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manchester Arena

Manchester Arena
Ranked #20 of 174 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manchester Arena, managed and operated by SMG Europe, is one of the busiest venues in the world and the largest indoor arena in Europe. Since opening in 1995, the Arena has hosted the biggest names in live entertainment including U2, The Rolling Stones, Madonna, Lady Gaga, Pavarotti and the record-breaking 2010/2011 residency by local comedian Peter Kay. In addition to live music, we've also staged some of the biggest events in the UK sporting calendar including several 2002 Commonwealth Games' events, the 2012 Olympic basketball warm-up match between team USA and GB, the 2008 FINA World Swimming Championships and international boxing bouts by Mike Tyson, David Haye, Joe Calzaghe and local champions Ricky Hatton and Amir Khan. We've also played a key part in Manchester's rich musical heritage with historic shows by local bands Take That, Oasis, Elbow, New Order, James, Happy Mondays, The Charlatans, Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, M People, Doves, The Inspiral Carpets, The Verve, Simply Red and The Courteeners. Attracting over one million visitors each year, the 21,000 capacity Arena is a former winner of the industry's prestigious International Venue of the Year award.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really great place for shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I was there for the 4 shows of Robbie Williams a month ago, and really was amazing,totally i recommend this place for shows, the sound and view is fantastic, You have a Mc Donalds inside ( just if you want to eat something)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank evelynwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    642
    374
    141
    130
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location well organised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Went here for a Michael Buble concert. The Arena is quite central to Manchester with plenty of places to stay nearby. Organisation on the whole was good but late comers were annoying as they blocked our view, feel if they have not arrived within a certain time they should be seated in a different area so as not to disturb others.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaz1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heywood
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“nice night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

went here to watch Ant and Dec, easy to get in and even though it was busy had no trouble getting around, found drinks and snack s very expensive, but probably no more so than any similar venue.
we had seats in the top area in zone 212 , which although high up and a long way from the stage we found it to still be ok.
we had a good time and the arena an easy place to visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank thefitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful visit to see Ant and Dec Saturday night takeaway. Easy to find, well run and all the staff very helpful. Toilets clean, some cubicles had missing locks but well stocked even after the intermission which is a rarity in big venues. Overall wonderful venue

Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“ripped off, fobbed off and now very peed off!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and i booked front row seats to see the Eagles on 24th June and paid £300 each for the privilege. Our seats were Row A , Block 115, seats 15 and 16. When we arrived and were shown our seats we were totally shocked as we could not see the stage let alone the band! There was a wall of speakers in front of us. We ran upstairs and frantically tried to find someone to help us but the concert had started and we were missing it! We finally after about half an hour were shown to some other seats about 20 rows back from the front. This was not what we had paid for and we were by this time very annoyed. It was also clear that this row of seats was added in at the last minute as a few other people had also complained and been moved. we have been writing to the arena and have been fobbed off with an address in London at Live Nation to complain to, but we are getting no where. No one gives a hoot about client service in this shambles of a venue, and we are £600 down as a result. Avoid at all costs!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manchester Arena also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing